Thread: Nolan's Gesture

Angry Nolan's Gesture

I was absolutely apalled by Jamie Nolan's behaviour tonight as he was being substituted against Sligo. To make such an obscene gesture towards the Limerick fans in the Shed was completely uncalled for and inexcusable. He was a disgrace to the Limerick jersey in the immature and disrespectful way he left the field after another terrible display by him on the field of play. I trust that NOC has the balls to ensure that Nolan never again dons the blue of Limerick and that our chairman will to see fit that Nolan leaves the club immediately. We can well do without a person like this in the squad.

Ps: I thought we should have won tonight. We certainly deserved to.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Ok I wasn't at the game tonight, (btw thanks for doing us Ramblers a favour, hopefully we can take advantage) but cast your minds back to when we played you last month, I thought the cheering of the player in question when he was subbed was ott. I can understand a fans frustration if a player is deemed to not be pulling his weight. But remember there are very very few players that go out on to a pitch and deliberately perform badly, I can only imagine that Jamie Nolan is as frustrated as you the fans but perhaps his reaction is understandable because to an extent this is a very one sided argument as so many fans can hide behind one another and deliver verbal abuse to a player (yet many will never say it to a players face) and yet a lone players reaction to abuse from the crowd gets such a reaction??
    Remember players are the same as us, they have work/relations/family/health problems and are still expected to perform?
    I have the greatest of respect for any part time player in this league, I have no respect for many of the over paid, over rated prima donnas across the water.

What did he do?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

dont agree

Quote Originally Posted by michael
    Ok I wasn't at the game tonight, (btw thanks for doing us Ramblers a favour, hopefully we can take advantage) but cast your minds back to when we played you last month, I thought the cheering of the player in question when he was subbed was ott.
    Ok thats harping back a bit too far and this has been dealt with.

Quote Originally Posted by michael
    I can only imagine that Jamie Nolan is as frustrated as you the fans but perhaps his reaction is understandable
    ehhh no bloody way mate a player should never ever gesture to the fans especially as those fans pay his wages and when those fans were applading him off, and there were a few hundred kids in the shed too (which was great to see) now as you say you wernt there and you can only imagine but take it from us who were there and dont have to imagine!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    What did he do?
    He stuck his finger up to the fans in the shed (bout 250)as he was being subbed, even those who think he is good were apalled by him. Many fans showed their maturity in not responding to him. But the club saw it too and have dealt with it.
    Good game i thought and the first 15 mins of the second half we could have hit 5, but good game and good vibe there too i thought.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Good game i thought and the first 15 mins of the second half we could have hit 5, but good game and good vibe there too i thought.
    I heard we could have been 4-0 up in the first half, were we that good? and then sh!t in the second?

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    I heard we could have been 4-0 up in the first half, were we that good? and then sh!t in the second?
    no ye were good but a few of the sligo lads were there and they will post no doubt once they get back up to sligo. You see we only score into the shed so it was only a matter of time before we got better and ye worse.

Did anybody see the spitting incident that occured just after his V sign..
    this just shows a total lack of respect for managment / teammates and fans of Limerick FC.

His Petulant outburst proves that this young fool is well out of his dept in playing league of Ireland football.

Lets hope this is the last time we see this waster put on a Limerick shirt..let Chris Jones take over and let the goals flow.

Well if he did that (wasn't at the game last night) he deserves to be boo'd everytime he plays from here on in. CP O'Brien was a waster as well, and look how that idiot ended up. Nolan has no future at Limerick because only the delusional at the club have any respect from him now. That probably includes Noel O'Connor though....

super blues

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry Blue
    I was absolutely apalled by Jamie Nolan's behaviour tonight as he was being substituted against Sligo. To make such an obscene gesture towards the Limerick fans in the Shed was completely uncalled for and inexcusable. He was a disgrace to the Limerick jersey in the immature and disrespectful way he left the field after another terrible display by him on the field of play. I trust that NOC has the balls to ensure that Nolan never again dons the blue of Limerick and that our chairman will to see fit that Nolan leaves the club immediately. We can well do without a person like this in the squad.

Ps: I thought we should have won tonight. We certainly deserved to.
    Fair play to him!! pity he did'nt do a cantana??and jump the wall and give 1 or 2 of you a few slaps as well!!!

Quote Originally Posted by fc hammer
    Fair play to him!! pity he did'nt do a cantana??and jump the wall and give 1 or 2 of you a few slaps as well!!!
    I think you'll find it was "Cantona"..................Anyway couldn't make the game last night so has anyone got the official attendance for Fri. nights fixture, was it above / below or the usual crowd.
    Unity is Power, Power if shared is Strength, Limerick 37 serving the Community of Limerick.

As someone who has stuck up for Nolan at times I have to say I am disappointed but hardly surprised. I do not condone it but do understand why it happened.

On a general note - not just referring to Nolan incident - i think football supporters are funny they way they take umbrage at gestures by footballers. The same people that roar abuse (sometimes quite offensive stuff) often become like little old women so easily offended. A few hundred kids in the shed mentioned below - who presumably were deaf to the bad language and sheep sha gging comments earlier but were traumatised by one gesture. These are not full time footballers and, just like any of us, would get completely fed up at constant criticism.

That said he should not have done it - not so much because it was such a horrible thing to do but rather because he has provided more ammunition and he would have been better served by keeping his head.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Exactly!! The supporters have been giving him a hard time since he went to Limerick. And how come no mention of the 2 thugs who tried to jump the railings on the way to the dressing rooms so that they could get at him.

Quote Originally Posted by gaidin
    Exactly!! The supporters have been giving him a hard time since he went to Limerick. And how come no mention of the 2 thugs who tried to jump the railings on the way to the dressing rooms so that they could get at him.
    Yawn....... what planet are some of you people on. I'm not going to start crying because some no mark stuck up their finger at me, I've had far worse insults from far better people. But the fact reamains, when Jamie Nolan stuck up his finger at a largely appreciative shed he showed a LACK OF RESPECT for the club, when Jamie Nolan spat at the fans by the dug out, he showed a LACK OF RESPECT for the club and when Jamie Nolan ripped off his Limerick jersey on his way to the dressing room he showed a LACK OF RESPECT for the club. If a player of such startling mediocrity carried on the same way to the shed below in his beloved Turner's Cross (I'm assuming hes homesick folks) his feet wouldn't touch the ground on the way out

What Jamie Nolan needs to do now is try to understand that the Cobh incident was a culmination of a number of frustrations, it happened, it was regretable, we all tried to move on. What Jamie also needs to understand is that the minority which was the boo boys in the Shed Friday night are most likely the same clowns who give Noel Mooney constant and frankly baffling abuse. Why doesn't Noel (who would be far more justified) go off on one? He has a little thing called class Jamie

What Jamie Nolan has to do now is apologise publicly to all of the people he has offended who are involved with this fine club that he disgraced Friday night. It might also be an idea for him to get himself and his fan clubs selective hearing checked out as their doesn't seem to be any foaming at the mouth posts on here when the real fans (believe it or not we exist ) praise him for effort

Of Course on the other hand I suppose he could just kung-fu kick everyone

Quote Originally Posted by gaidin
    gaidin...youre either danny or dannys pal or a friend of nolan.

i was right next to the railings and no-one tried to jump it. its phsyically impossible anyway. nolan spat in their direction as he left the field following his finger to the shed gesture. damien was among those fans he spat towards - is he limericks biggest supporter? did he deserve that?. 2 of the lads moved in the dirction of nolan to fcuk him out of it. then danny runs over and tells them to shut up or get the fcuk out. nice one danny. you sure know how to behave like a chairman. did danny go to the dressing room and fcuk nolan out of it? worse that anything poor mcgauley ever did.

the supporters have been giving him a hard time since he has given up putting the required effort in. and thats our right. but nolan has been hearing encouragement as giving out as well.

even NOC is coping onto him.
    you gowl!

damien was among those fans he spat towards - is he limericks biggest supporter? did he deserve that?.
    Did say anything abusive to Nolan? If he didnt then NO. If he did then YES.

I absolutely agree with Lim til I die. My post was not defending Nolan - I said he was wrong to do it. There is a double standard however and I always laugh when I hear of appalled and outraged football fans when a player does something when they just have to observe what goes on around them on the terrace to hear and see far worse. That's what I was responding to.

Nolan should publicly apologise, and if he refuses should be shown the door. I think most fans would accept an apology and accept that frustration played a huge part and the incident at the Cobh game (while we say its over move on - its more difficult I am sure for the target of the abuse to say its over, move on). there are a lot of Limerick supporters unwilling to forget and move on in relation to other incidents.

As regards the spitting. Doesn't matter what was said to him - spitting is beyond the pale IMO. And if Damien had said something to him that still doesn't justify spitting towards him. As Lim til I die says - no class.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Was not at the match on Friday, but heres my twopence worth :

Any Player who spits or gives an abusive gesture at fans should never wear a Limerick Shirt again.That's an absolute disgrace. He was lucky to get out of the griound alive, I'd Say.

Anyway he is just plain useless so he would be no loss if he never plays again for us.

JohnD
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

Quote Originally Posted by JohnD
    Any Player who spits or gives an abusive gesture at fans should never wear a Limerick Shirt again.That's an absolute disgrace. He was lucky to get out of the griound alive, I'd Say.

JohnD
    Now, now John I'd say you saw far worse watching the egg-chasers

Still, point taken

Lim Till I Die (Absolutely shocked at finding himself join LFCIE as the voice of reason)

the boo-ing the other night wasnt anywhere near as bad as the boo-ing he got the last night out. if he cant take stick then he should give the game up completely. even 5 a sides amongst friends.

nolan showed no fight on the pitch yet when he was taken off he decided he wanted to take all the supporters on.

i was thinking to myself what would damien richardson think of this? then i realised richardson probably doesnt even know who nolan is. i mean if steve o flynn couldnt get on at cork - nolan hasnt a snowballs chance in hell.

we played some good stuff it he second half and could have won it. but still...how the club let cosgrave, mcarthy and o'mahoney go is baffling.
    you gowl!

[QUOTE=LFC in Exile]QUOTE]

do you still think nolan is doing the right thing on the pitch? surely not?
    you gowl!