Thread: International rules

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Seriously, its like a playground sport. lets kick it as far as we can and then everyrun run like mad after it. We'll all jump on whoever gets the ball and then kick it somewhere near the goal
    That would also describe some of the El teams I saw on TV
    Both games (Aussie+ Gaa) have their own have their merits, the hybrid game does not come near either game. It takes months of training and playing together to get a championship team up to form.
    Not only are the hybrid players not sure of what is expected or what to do when it is not working but also the 2 referees are on different planes. Imo either this hybrid format is taken seriously or it is dropped.

its great entertainment though !

65 Posts
    Its just a **** up for the lads, last year all the Aussies were on the garlge the night before the 2nd test in town
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

International rules commentary

anyone got a site where i can get this?
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

http://afl.com.au

media player there is very good.

not looking good for us in the second quarter.

43 Posts
    Don't bother we're gettin hammered physically and on the score board. Filthy aussies as usual...
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    Don't bother we're gettin hammered physically and on the score board. Filthy aussies as usual...

Spot on. Time to disbaNd this unless they can control those animals, that Johnson ****er should be in jail for that tackle and proceeding 10 slaps he threw out. He gets sent off and they replace him - where do we benifit from that and how is that supposed to discourage that filth? Good game if played properly but now its just a farce.

Anyone watching it now???

Sweet Jesus but they are knocking ten colours of sh!te out of one another.

Never seen anything like it!!!

They have converted me that is for sure

Is that ginger kerry fella playing ,I say he'd be handy if it kicked off
    MOT

yep

even the aussie commentators are embarrassed by their own team's behaviour.

we're doing much better now though.

certainly not a 100 pointer for the aussies this one.

éire abu!

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    Is that ginger kerry fella playing ,I say he'd be handy if it kicked off
    Who Gooch? Ha ha, he came on for ten seconds, fell over and cried when a big bad aussie came near him and then fecked off.

Even though the Aussies had a couple of shocking hits, I must laugh at the RTE commentary team who are whinging like a bunch of pansies about the physical element. Have they ever watched Tyrone or Armagh play "football"?? Never seen a dust up in Clones or Croker? What a bunch of idiots, typically Irish, think we're the best in the world, find out we are so not and then take our ball home and cry.

The reality is they kicked about 45 "overs" or "points" over two game we kicked less than 20. In the 3rd quarter we had 6 frees in front of the posts and put over 2, shocking.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Some while tackles all the same mate. I agree that the commentary team were blabbing on but some of the tackles and 'hits' were extremely dangerous.

The Aussies were pure filth today, you could see the inent and malice in that fcuker Johnsons eyes when he clotheslined some porr Irish lad. That could have broken his neck or jaw no bother, no need at all for the rubbish they brought today and it could be the death knell for the series.

I'd like to have 1 more crack off them though and give them a proper hiding.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    Some while tackles all the same mate. I agree that the commentary team were blabbing on but some of the tackles and 'hits' were extremely dangerous.
    I stated that above - "shocking hits", don't cod yerself that Canty and Kavanagh weren't trying the same, just couldn't get near em. Don't forget we threw the first punch in anger early on. The Aussies did none of the violence in the first game and won by more.

Still have you never seen that in GAA? I have, frequently at that. It's the rules that are wrong, a red is a red, should not be replaced with a sub. If they were down to 10 it would have been different, we might only have lost by 3/4.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Soko
    The Aussies were pure filth today, you could see the inent and malice in that fcuker Johnsons eyes when he clotheslined some porr Irish lad. That could have broken his neck or jaw no bother, no need at all for the rubbish they brought today and it could be the death knell for the series.

I'd like to have 1 more crack off them though and give them a proper hiding.
    No argument there, it was a disgusting tackle and got punished in so far as the rules allow. Saw the same thing in Croker this year in the Armagh v Tyrone game go unpunished. Shame.

What a bunch of puss1es the Irish players were. When you start getting kicked around the park you have to hit back. When an Irish player hit the ground he got surrounded by Aussies and no Irishman jumped in as back up. No team spirit at all. The Aussies were filthy as hell but when they got away with it we should have fought fire with fire.

The commentators were as predictable as hell with their comments.

60 Posts
    So much for Ryan McMenamin of Tyrone being a hard man, he got sh**e of him and didn't seem to want to know. Irish manager brought over a small quick team, who were no match for the Aussies. Man against boys.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    Who Gooch? Ha ha, he came on for ten seconds, fell over and cried when a big bad aussie came near him and then fecked off.
    LOL,yeah thats the one.The Aussies must've been laughing when they saw him on the pitch,seriously though,if the Irish selectors wanna take this serious they shouldn't pick stick insects like that or a buncha puffs, they should pick big solid blokes,afteral it's impossible to miss the goal,so having the gooch fella wasn't a plus at all.It should be called assaultball from now on,sorry I missed it now
    MOT

It's pure unadulterated thuggery that was seen on the field today.
    We should send out a club GAA side from Wicklow to play them next year

When the dirt is left out its an exciting game to watch.
    However I would be lying if I said I dont enjoy the odd mild dust up but what Johnson and O'keefe did today for the aussies was going too far and has no place on the field.

The rules were not enforced and the aussies got away with a lot of bitch slapping and mauling. Was embarrased to see fellow irish men being slapped around like that without fighting back.

Fair play to the few that did. Anthony lynch, tom kelly, canty and lockhart spring to mind.

Aside from that we were hammered fairly convincingly.

Team selection was all wrong.

Get Brian Mullins in there for next year.