Happy Christmas Karlos...![]()
Cheer up. The whole world s not against ye.![]()
Again read the posts. I claimed that the elbow hit the chin which was wrong. I am still claiming that the trailing arm hits the mouth causing the injury. The only thing I'm backtracking on is what caused the injury - an injury which you inferred in your initial post I proved never happened and as a result my logic implied universal cheating - WRONG!Originally Posted by joeSoap
My logic does not apply that Gary Lewin and Arsene Wenger are cheats as I've said Lewin treated an injury that appeared to me was caused by an elbow but was in fact caused by a trailing arm. Wenger answer a question at a press conference about the incident with Essien and Lauren's injury and Wenger's reply was that yes 'corrective dental work' was done on Lauren.
How do you consider my logic to be backtracking when I stand by everything I said with the exception of the elbow which I was wrong about having only seen it at the time and has been proved to be not the cause of the injury.![]()
Last edited by Karlos; 21/12/2005 at 1:34 PM.
Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!
Happy Christmas Karlos...![]()
Cheer up. The whole world s not against ye.![]()
Same to you with bells on!!Originally Posted by joeSoap
All I want for Christmas is 3 points!!![]()
I'd say three points is all any Gooner wants this christmas..![]()
C'mon all the Irish lads playing for Doncaster tonite![]()
I'd say a goal would do the gooners for starters, then they can start thinkin about the win.Originally Posted by joeSoap
I've never seen such paranoia, next thing we'll have Bolton fans coming on proclaiming they play a sexy brand of football.
The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.
Bolton aren't just a long ball side, its like the Essien being a dirty player thing, if you're told it enough times in the media you begin to believe it. It's a fcukin joke!Bolton can play a bit aswell and the likes of Nolan, Diouf, Stelios and Speed are all quality players. The young lad Vaz Te looks good too. Not saying their brand of football is as exciting as the Gooners team of 03/04, but they're not just hoofers.
I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway
True true just like the media pronouncing the best behaved team as a bunch of cheats on a regular basis!! I've said too much!Originally Posted by Hulsey
I actually agree with ya on this. I'm a big fan of how bolton play the game, how effective they are and how they mix up their play with direct football and controlled play. Chelsea play a similar game at the moment mixing good skill with direct long play. I don't understand the negativity that surrounds long ball play anyway - there's nothing in the rule book that says there should be 50 touches before a goal. If long play is technically well executed then I admire it, likewise with attacking play. The only bad football for me is technically poor football or excessive negativity towards actually playing e.g. timewasting etc. Usually the style of delievery is immaterial to me. You must play to your strengths as a team and Bolton are experts at the style of game they play.Originally Posted by Hulsey
Last edited by Karlos; 21/12/2005 at 3:04 PM.
Believe me I've seen em live about 6 times, they are woeful. That takes nothing away from their achievements and top top class manager. I've could not separate Davies/Diouf for time wasting and cheating from Pires or Beckham. They push the laws of the game to the limit in Sam's own words, hat's off to them.Originally Posted by Hulsey
But, it's all in the eye of the beholder eh.
The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.
Exactly! No point what so ever in trying to play a way you don't have the capacity too and getting religated. Look at Sunderland for example, trying to outplay teams with a squad lacking in quality. Imo shows a lack of tactical knowledge on Mc Carthys part. They should try thumping the ball up to stead and have him knock it down to Andy Gray, who's a bit of a handfull.Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway
Obviously I'm not naive enough to claim that Diouf doesn't cheat, but I don't see how you could claim that Davies is a cheat though. He's just an old fashioned centre forward and plays a physical, but fair game imo.Originally Posted by Clifford
I think any good centre-forward worth his salt has a little bit of a cheat in him. Henry, Van Nistelrooy, Rooney, Owen, Shearer; they all bend the rules to their advantage by diving, or play-acting. But theres a difference between cheating and being dangerous and vindictive. Diouf is a nasty coward- he rathers the snide tackle from behind or the simple spit in the face; Essien is a dangerous tackler who will end someones career someday if he doesn't change his technique.
Not condoning it, but I'd rather see a bad challange than an important game decided by a bit of cheating. That kind of stuff makes me feel sick!Originally Posted by joeSoap
Davies and Shearer in the same catagory, hard as nails when using their elbows, diving around like lambs when "winding down a clock professionally". That's cheating in my book same as Lunjburg and Pires etc do, but cos he's a "hard local lad" it's never levelled at him.Originally Posted by Hulsey
theres a big difference between cheating and a bad tackle..i dont like cheating in a game but i'd rather see a players cheating the whole time than beeing scumbags the whole time like essien
Originally Posted by Redtop
So I assume you and all the others so loud about Essien will be bleating and crying into the soup about how filthy a player Reo Coker is, he didn't even get booked for a disgusting tackle that may have broken Essien's ankle.
Or is it just Karma?
Let's see the tabloid red tops jump all over this one - I can't wait.
I was expecting someone to say that it's a very timely injury considering that the African Nations is coming up!
Yeah I thought of that one myselfOriginally Posted by twoenz
yes that was a dirty tackle by reo-coker but when he does it again DELIBERATLY then i will call him a dirty player
Thought so. He did one last season that was shockin as well in the 1st Division,hang him from the roof tops, eh....Originally Posted by Redtop
Irrespective of who 'did' him, Essien had it coming. He's been doling it out since he arrived in the premiership, and it was only a matter of time.
I wonder if he would be reluctant to go in above the knee on a Keane, Vieira, Gerrard type player who would have him for breakfast if he did? I'd say he would.
He's trying hard to make a name for himself other than that of a hugely priced, average player, which he is turning out to be. I expected a lot more of him, and thought he was a far better player. I was wrong...