Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Essien = Dirty Cheat

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hulsey
    Still think it's been blown out of proportion. The legend that is Shaun Derry made a tackle on Jody Morris on the opening day of the season for Leeds v Millwall that was at least twice as bad as Essiens and didn't even get a telling of from the ref, let alone a ban! Morris made absolutely nothing of it, got straight back up and didn't have a b!tch in the media like Hamman who as far as I remember has made a couple of tackles of the same magnitude in the past. It's a contact sport and Hamman should really just take it like a man and get on with it. What goes around comes around.
    Never a truer word spoken, Chelsea witch hunt from a load of manure sympathisers. Ban him for the three matches he deserves and move on to the next set of matches. End of.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeSemi
    The reason there is no outcry over Sissoko's tackle is because it was distinctly different to Essiens. Hamann was caught around the knee area and Essien's eyes were only fixed on that target, whereas Sissoko clearly got part of the ball.
    The two tackles are not comparable. Essien's was a wild, deliberate, disgraceful assault, and not his first either. It also shouldn't take him 3 days to apologise for it, and was only done to save face, it wasn't a genuine apology. Sissoko won the ball in his challenge, but his foot happened to land on the Chelsea players' ankle accidentally. He couldn't put it anywhere else.

Going back to Gerrard's tackle against Everton in 2002, and without being biased, I don't think that was deliberate either. He won the ball, and when jumping over the defender's challenge, his foot caught the Everton players trailing leg. I thought the ref made the correct decision at the the time, and Gerrard shouldn't have been later punished for what I saw as an accident.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

essien is a scumbag he deserves to be banned for 5 games that is twice this season that he could've hurt somebody badly

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Going back to Gerrard's tackle against Everton in 2002, and without being biased, I don't think that was deliberate either. He won the ball, and when jumping over the defender's challenge, his foot caught the Everton players trailing leg.
    Ammmm....I don't quite think that he 'caught the Everton players trailing leg' as you put it. He easily could have avoided contact when jumping to avoid a perfectly legit challenge, but chose not to and clearly intended to hurt the everton lad.

Uefa slapped a two match European ban on him today.should have been 5.
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

Chelsea were drawn with Barcelona in the Champions League but Essien will miss both legs. Quite unusual for him.....Boom Boom!

at it again yesterday- lucky that he wasn't sent off. Mourinho had just given Styles an earfull about 5 minutes before the tackle if any of 'ye noticed. i reckon the ref felt intimidated and bottled it.
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

The collision with Lauren was purely accidental. He was only shealding the ball. For fcuks sake will you's all lay off the lad. After all an arsenal player would never make the most of any form of "contact" now would they .
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

Quote Originally Posted by onenilgameover
    Chelsea were drawn with Barcelona in the Champions League but Essien will miss both legs. Quite unusual for him.....Boom Boom!
    Have to say that thats funny. He only made two bad tackles and everyones all over him. How many times was he called scum playing for Lyon. He is just being victimised now and players are now making the most of any contact he makes with them.
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

The collision with Lauren was purely accidental. He was only shealding the ball. For fcuks sake will you's all lay off the lad. After all an arsenal player would never make the most of any form of "contact" now would they .
    Yeah I reckon Lauren got his tooth pulled at half time to keep the 'making the most' part going - I've heard Wenger even has them willing to die for the cause too in the event that our* deceitful plan may get rumbled.

good to see the 'Arsenal are the only cheats' spirit is alive and well.

*I've highlighted our to avoid the need for some pedantic moron having to do it for me!
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Have to say that thats funny. He only made two bad tackles and everyones all over him. How many times was he called scum playing for Lyon. He is just being victimised now and players are now making the most of any contact he makes with them.
    In fairness thou, the 2 "bad" tackles he made (Hamman and Ben Haim) could have ended both players careers, they were far worse than bad. The thing that really annoyed me was the one against Bolton, he tried to feign injury himself to get away with it, fcuking coward !

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    In fairness thou, the 2 "bad" tackles he made (Hamman and Ben Haim) could have ended both players careers, they were far worse than bad. The thing that really annoyed me was the one against Bolton, he tried to feign injury himself to get away with it, fcuking coward !
    Could, if, but, maybe. Only word that matters is "Didn't".

As for Sunday and the tooth incident, Jose must be good to train Essien to take a tooth out with no blood wasted and connection of the elbow to Laurens nipple causing the injury. Surprised no more has been made of it by the Arsenal, pics in the papers or whatever...or maybe the tooth didn't come out and it was only a bit of made up gip by the sly sports reporter? Hmmm, I wonder...
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    Could, if, but, maybe. Only word that matters is "Didn't".

As for Sunday and the tooth incident, Jose must be good to train Essien to take a tooth out with no blood wasted and connection of the elbow to Laurens nipple causing the injury. Surprised no more has been made of it by the Arsenal, pics in the papers or whatever...or maybe the tooth didn't come out and it was only a bit of made up gip by the sly sports reporter? Hmmm, I wonder...

Firstly the elbow caught him on the chin & caused his jaw to clash and yes his tooth was loosened by the blow of Essien (not knocked out by Essien which no one has claimed anyway ). Gary Lewin the Arsenal physio applied cleary visable anesthetic to the injury at the time on the coverage i had or did Sky choose to not show that on their coverage!!

Secondly Arsene Wenger confirmed in the post-game media press conference/interview (should be still available on Arsenal.com's subscription service) that Lauren required 'corrective dental work' as a result of the clash with Essien.

I'm sorry if the daily rags refused to once again listen to the exact details of the press conference and chose to run a story about the FA's plan to investigate Wenger's comments instead and Mourinho's handshake. I didn't watch the game on Sky as i don't have it here in Canada and yet I got all the details on the tooth injury at the time, after the event and with my own ears.

I think you'll find the conspiracy is somewhere else!
    Last edited by Karlos; 21/12/2005 at 1:11 PM.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KarlosIRL
    Firstly the elbow caught him on the chin & caused his jaw to clash and yes his tooth was loosened by the blow of Essien (not knocked out by Essien which no one has claimed anyway ).
    Yeah of course, the chin goes down below the nipple nowadays. Proved on your on sky sports on Mon night it was his chest took the mildest of blows. Codding yourself if you think Lauren is all cutie pie and innocent is my point. I don't like either of the filthy clubs.

I must correct myself after finally getting to see the incident numerous times. You are correct, the elbow didn't catch Lauren in the mouth, however it does look like the trailing arm does in full speed view. Looks a non event in slow mo but the extent of the contact is best view full speed.

Besides all that, Lauren is anything but cutie pie, I've watched him often to know that and never claimed that in my post. I do however find it ridiculous that Essien can be suddenly absconded of any blame due to the fact someone thinks an Arsenal player is cheating! For me the fact remains that Essien played the player and not the ball and the referee concurred otherwise he would not have booked him. As i said on the 'moaning managers' thread, i don't have a problem with the referree's interpretation of the incident, more with his failure to send Essien off for further incidents. There was plently of examples of cheating in the game that have gone unmentioned, Joe Cole's life threatening injury, the repeated kicking of the ball away by Chelsea players, the blindness toward the substitutes board by all of the Chelsea players, Huth blocking a player from retrieving a ball while warming up etc etc.......Not surprising it's the Arsenal player labelled a cheat again, to be honest.

For people to believe he shouldn't even have got booked becuase he was shielding the ball and Lauren was cheating is just absurd. Was not long ago when everyone would have sent a midfielder wearing the number 4 on his back in red and white to spike island for lesser incidents.
    Last edited by Karlos; 21/12/2005 at 1:12 PM.

So therefore, Lauren, Wenger and Gary Lewin are the real cheats by your logic, as Lewin applied aneasthetic to an injury that didn't exist; Wenger spoke about corrective dental repair for a chest injury, and Lauren feels pain in his gob when smacked in the chest. Interesting !!

43 Posts
    I must correct myself after finally getting to see the incident numerous times. You are correct, the elbow didn't catch Lauren in the mouth, however it does look like the trailing arm does in full speed view. Looks a non event in slow mo but the extent of the contact is best view full speed. Besides all that, Lauren is anything but cutie pie, I've watched him often to know that and never claimed that in my post. I do however find it ridiculous that Essien can be suddenly absconded of any blame due to the fact someone thinks an Arsenal player is cheating! For me the fact remains that Essien played the player and not the ball and the referee concurred otherwise he would not have booked him. As i said on the 'moaning managers' thread, i don't have a problem with the referree's interpretation of the incident, more with his failure to send Essien off for further incidents. There was plently of examples of cheating in the game that have gone unmentioned, Joe Cole's life threatening injury, the repeated kicking of the ball away by Chelsea players, the blindness toward the substitutes board by all of the Chelsea players, Huth blocking a player from retrieving a ball while warming up etc etc.......Not surprising it's the Arsenal player labelled a cheat again, to be honest.

For people to believe he shouldn't even have got booked becuase he was shielding the ball and Lauren was cheating is just absurd. Was not long ago when everyone would have sent a midfielder wearing the number 4 on his back in red and white to spike island for lesser incidents.

Fair play for watching it again and seeing the light. I agree entirely about all the other petty things the Chelski lads came up with, but I've seen the Arsenal do that at CoMS last season when Ashley Cole put them one up after about 30 mins and they played out time in the same manner from there til the game end. Lunjburg in particular putting on a master class in making a pure **** of himself. Good for the goose is good for the gander...
    Last edited by Clifford; 21/12/2005 at 8:45 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    So therefore, Lauren, Wenger and Gary Lewin are the real cheats by your logic, as Lewin applied aneasthetic to an injury that didn't exist; Wenger spoke about corrective dental repair for a chest injury, and Lauren feels pain in his gob when smacked in the chest. Interesting !!
    You really should actually read posts carefully. My 'logic' was that after watching the replay again the elbow does not make contact with the mouth but it looks like the trailing arm does which is a different matter altogether.

I'm man enough to admit I was wrong on the full point of contact with the elbow but there's no need to twist my so called logic to suit a non-existant argument on Arsenal cheating while avoiding the actual reason for the incident. Lauren did have a tooth loosened, did get aneasthetic and did get corrective dental adjustments - it just was caused by a trailing arm not an elbow which is my logic!
    Last edited by Karlos; 21/12/2005 at 1:01 PM.

Fair play for watching it again and seeing the light. I agree entirely about all the other petty things the Chelski lads came up with, but I've seen the Arsenal do that at CoMS last season when Ashley Cole put them one up after about 30 mins and they played out time in the same manner from there til the game end. Lunjburg in particular putting on a master class in making a pure **** of himself. Good for the goose is good for the gander...
    I agree with what's good for the goose is good for the gander as long as the goose is also labelled as dirty and consistant cheaters. There isn't a team in the game now that don't do one or all of these things that Chelsea did. I don't in theory have a problem with them getting away with it - I blame the referees personally for not stamping it out for everyone. My major gripe is people singling out one club (often Arsenal) when I've seen almost every club that visit's Highbury do it and i've seen quite a few. It's also quite shocking that the alleged biggest cheats in the game have won the fair play award 2 or 3 years running now.

Firstly the elbow caught him on the chin & caused his jaw to clash and yes his tooth was loosened by the blow of Essien!
    Gary Lewin the Arsenal physio applied cleary visable anesthetic to the injury at the time!
    Secondly Arsene Wenger confirmed in the post-game media press conference/interview (should be still available on Arsenal.com's subscription service) that Lauren required 'corrective dental work' as a result of the elbow from Essien.

You really should actually read posts carefully. My 'logic' was that after watching the replay again the elbow does not make contact with the mouth but the trailing arm does which is a different matter altogether. I stated that either way, Essien plays the man and not the ball which is the referee's view too.
    hmmmmm. I have read your posts clearly, and they clearly inferred that as far as you were concerned Essien had elbowed Lauren in the face, causing his tooth to be knocked out.Thats how I read it anyway, and you're now backtracking because you were wrong, plain and simple. Its no big deal, but your logic seems to shift around a bit on this one.

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast