Thread: Questions for the manager

ya but what is the point in going the whole way into town and then it not working.

Formerly: wild rover
    pints?

well whats the point doin nothing

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    ya but what is the point in going the whole way into town and then it not working.
    Eh, pm lads?. This has gone way off-topic now

well your not on the topic when you post messages like that....

Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    well your not on the topic when you post messages like that....

ya sorry mother

pm than stars

Lads in future can ye keep posts like that to PM , thats what its there for.

online ended 18:50

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    online ended 18:50
    Cos training was earlier than expected, but Paraic said he'll be at a Fans Forum being held on the night before the Cobh match and will answer any questions then, so go to that

ill wear my best dress

sean> Hi folks - I have to be quick, got to get to training - keep the questions short.

<sligoman> What's your prediction for the Limerick game?

<sean> Re the limerick game, we're going to win the game, but I don't make prediction :-)

<sligoman> Whatever happened to Chris Cotterill, I know he left but I dont remember the club ever saying why?
    <sean> Re Chris Cotterill, he had complications with an injury.

<sean> RE the players for next season, this isn't the time to talk about that - let's concentrate on this season, but I know in my own mind.

<Alan Ryan> What is your reaction to theincidents against Dublin cIty and Galway Utd
    <sean> Re the crowd trouble, I'm too busy watching the game - I didn't see anything

<gustavo> What have been the highlights so far of your first full season in charge of Sligo Rovers?
    <sean> Re the highlight's of the season, it's not over lets, lets wait and see.

<sligoman> If we get promot ed, how many of the current squad do you think can "cut it" in the Premier Division?

<sean> I won't discuss the current squad, but will be looking for five new players.

<sligoman> Can we appeal McT's red card as we have video evidence that galway cheated him?
    <sean> Re McTs red card, we are appealing - a video has been sent off today

<Alan Ryan> Do you think the atmosphere is good in the showgrounds or do you think it has only been good when Pats and Galway have came?

<sean> The atmosphere has been good on occassions and I understand this with the bigger games , teams. All I'm concerned about now is the atmosphere for the next couple of home games.

<sligoman> Do you think the Cobh game will be the title decider?

<sean> I'd love the Cobh game to be the decider, but I think we'll have to win at least two more games after Cobh, but all we're doing is concentrating on one game at a time at the moment.

<Alan Ryan> Do you think that we should be beating the likes of Dundalk and Galway etc if were going to be winning the league.

<sean> Not really - we're still top of the table, they were both difficult games and we didn't get beat.

<sligoman> Are you concerned about our recent run of not winning games and failing to score a lot?
    <Sean Connor> Not really - we're still top of the table, they were both difficult games and we didn't get beat.

<Sean> Sorry lads, I have to go. Training was brought forward tonight at short notice, but I’ll be attending a Fans Forum on the night before the Cobh game and he hope to see you all there. Thanks for coming on long and apologies for leaving so early.

Complete waste of time, Lip service really, another box ticked to say Sean talked to the fans…………….he wasn't too worried about training during the week when he was over in England trying to get his coaching badge.

what was the point of that?he didn't give us any information about anything.he knows everything in his head.i thought the point of him coming on here was that he would share it with us

Well he did say there would be a fans forum before the Cobh match. If so then that would be an excellant opputunity for fans to pose the questions to his face.
    Most managers won't even come on-line to take questions from fans.

still though i found it very uninformative

Did he give one straight answer to a question. If he hasn't the time to do it right, then he should not have bothered his bolix, rushing on and rushing off.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

why would you bother going to the fan forum if sean is just going to come out with the same platitudes? i'll probably go to see what he has to say, but from the results of the online chat i wouldn't be expecting him to say anything interesting.

Seeing as there were only four or five people who actually bothered dialling in, I think it's a bit rich that a whole bunch of people are now jumping on the bandwagon and saying it was a waste of time.

In fairness to Sean, he was under serious time pressure and was rushing his responses and therefore, they were not as informative as in previous chats. It was too late to cancel by the time I knew that training was brought forward so I decided to press ahead to make the most of it.

I don't know of any other eircom league manager that goes on line and I think if you look back at previous chats, they have generally been worthwhile.

However, if people don't want to continue with these chats, then that's grand, we won't do them. In any case, we probably won't be going on-line again until prior to the 2006 season.
    former (!) webmaster for sligorovers.com

Here ya are Paraic, just picking up your rattle you dropped from the pram…………………..……I don’t think we were having ago at the concept of the having a Manager on Line and certainly weren’t calling for it to be abandoned. In fact I think it is a great initiative, whoever thought of the idea should be commended, whether it was the webteam or Don O’Riordan or whoever.

We were just a little disappointed with the content and the hastiness of it all. Maybe all will be rectified at the Fans Forum before the Cobh game.

By the way, the reason for some of us not logging in on the night has nothing to do with a lack of interest on the contrary, but in my case its lack of technology.

....and in my case its because i was working.and im sorry but as far as im concerned we have every right to say if we're not happy with the lack of info he was giving us and most of us weren't happy.and surely as manager its sean who arranges the time for training??it smacks of a bad excuse.