The song is anti-copper,yes

I don't really know what all the fuss is about, it's only a song. Fans always sing songs to wind-up the opposition, that goes hand-in-hand with being a football fan.

I think there are certain things that shouldn't be sung about. For example, I think it's sick that Liverpool fans sing about the Munich Air Crash. I also think it's sick that people sing about Milltown being sold, but that's just me. As regards John Carthy, maybe he shouldn't be sung about either, but I wouldn't get too upset about it. Maybe that's because I'm not from Longford. But if I was from Longford I'd have bigger issues to worry about.
    Champions.
    16 leagues & 24 cups.

Singing that song was way out of order.Close friends or relatives of John Carthy's may even have been at the match.It's just another reason for people to knock the EL when it's already living very close to the edge.I have never had a problem with Shels or their fans and those idiots who were singing the song let themselves down and their club who they reprsent and claim to love.That's a great way to show it.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Wiseguy
    Singing that song was way out of order.Close friends or relatives of John Carthy's may even have been at the match.It's just another reason for people to knock the EL when it's already living very close to the edge.I have never had a problem with Shels or their fans and those idiots who were singing the song let themselves down and their club who they reprsent and claim to love.That's a great way to show it.
    Do you really think the people offended by this would blame the league?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Do you really think the people offended by this would blame the league?

Not necessarily but tpeople who are offended by this kind of thing may come to the conclusion that if that is what goes on at these matches why bother going to them.There are to many media people out there waiting for chances to knock the league and this is just another opportunity for them to do so.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by Passive
    I think there are certain things that shouldn't be sung about. For example, I think it's sick that Liverpool fans sing about the Munich Air Crash. I also think it's sick that people sing about Milltown being sold, but that's just me. As regards John Carthy, maybe he shouldn't be sung about either, but I wouldn't get too upset about it. Maybe that's because I'm not from Longford. But if I was from Longford I'd have bigger issues to worry about.
    How is it that you think its sick for fans of another club to sing about milltown being sold but you wouldnt be too upset if fans sung about the death of someone from your local area.As far as i know,the song is an anti-guards song and is sung by shels at alot of their matches,however it is down right ignorant not to have the cop on to know that a relative or close friend of the deceased may have been at the match.Im sure some of those singing it at the top of their lungs at the time did not realise the damage they were doing as they were too ignorant to know that abbeylara is in longford
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

Its a song lads, get over it, 2 f'ing pages, now I wasn't there on Saturday but I do know the song, and I also know the lads who sang it directed it at the Gardai, just leave it now, eh???
    Last edited by Drumcondra Red; 17/10/2005 at 3:46 PM.
    Sitting pretty!!!

Sounds like a funny song to me...
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

To compare singing about a dead man in his home county to singing about Milltown is ludicrous. $hels fans are a disgrace! The actions of $hels officials, fans and players are usually played down or ignored (scummer Fenlon's latest ban) and it would appear Drumcondra Red would like this to hapen with this offensive song. You should be outing the morons who sung this not brushing it under the carpet.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Since the song is non-offensive,could someone post it up?
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

I've only heard it of being sung twice, found it in very bad taste and completely out of place at the Pats match.

Can only remember two lines of it, but I don't want to post them.

Speranza, if such offence was taken, why were the people in question not asked to stop singing by either stewards, gardai, longford fans or anyone else in attendence??? They had to wait to pound it on their keyboards?? BS!
    Sitting pretty!!!

47 Posts
    So because people didnt march up to the ones singing it and tell them to stop its BS?

And what would have happened if one had kindly marched up and asked?

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB
    And what would have happened if one had kindly marched up and asked?
    the ssc would have shat their school pants.

while i dont think the song is inordinatly offensive, singing it in longford is a bit silly and in highly dubious taste. some longford fans were offended some werent. so be it, that, whether you like it or not, its football.

there is a rather tediuos pattern emerging on this site that whenever something bad happens, real, imaginary, potentially bad, heard third hand, someone sang a bold song, looked at girls crooked, made some smart arsed comment, acted the hardman outside our pub etc that a 20 page thread develops. it, quite frankly is a pain in the boll.ix.

its gutter hysterics. if a longford fan was offended, did the title here help? if it was that bad you should have said something at the game. you had the cops, the stewards and oily to approach (i believe he is unamused with the little turds. who brings a toy gun to a game? seriously? we slag shels fans off for barely reaching puberty and you provide us with this ammo so many jokes). if you really had to vent your spleen, was the shels forum (where an identical thread was started by the same chap) not the correct place?

we have enough to worry about with refs not showing for matches without giving the herald rope to hang us. and believe me, they source 'hoolie' stories from the forums. you really should have more to be worrying about.

Presumably it'll be fine to go up to Ballybofey next week and start singing songs about car crashes too?

Yes Ronnie, you could have asked stewards or Gardai to ask them to stop!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Those who sang the song are complete fcuking idiots and let themselves and their club down.It's one thing having a bit of banter with opposing fans it's another singing a song like that.Someone should have had the cop on to realise that singing a song like that in Longford would be taken personally but it's done now,it's been debated and that's the end of it.Let's all agree that certain songs are just a bit to offensive to be sang and not sing them anymore.Each week we move further away from the friendly league that we are and more towards a hostile english type league.Is it not bad enough that people from the outside are trying to bring the league down without our own doing it aswell.

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    To compare singing about a dead man in his home county to singing about Milltown is ludicrous. $hels fans are a disgrace! The actions of $hels officials, fans and players are usually played down or ignored (scummer Fenlon's latest ban) and it would appear Drumcondra Red would like this to hapen with this offensive song. You should be outing the morons who sung this not brushing it under the carpet.
    would you ever f****** stop man its a bit of banther with the pigs nothing to serious wats the point on crying about a song and the last time you were in tolka yous were singing songs to try and get a reaction off us but yous got sweet f*** so go and cry over some thin worth cryin

Quote Originally Posted by raytown red
    would you ever f****** stop man its a bit of banther with the pigs nothing to serious wats the point on crying about a song and the last time you were in tolka yous were singing songs to try and get a reaction off us but yous got sweet f*** so go and cry over some thin worth cryin
    Anyone going to post the full words of this "bit of banter" if you're so mis understood (for the umpteenth time this season)?

How about we do a deal on this. I'll take you and your posts serious when you learn how to spell. Deal?

As reported on here at the time the only provocation at the match you refer to was by $hels fans and STEWARDS who dished out sectarian abuse at City fans. There was also a small amount of scumbags who attempted to charge the city fans.

$hels and their fans are always quick enough to berate Rover's fans for ignoring their troublemakers and now you expect people to do the same for you. Don't think so.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast