Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Ireland's next Manager

214 Posts
    MON is the only man for the job. Used to providing miracles, intelligent and knows his football. Pay him 5 million euro's if that is what it takes.

Bobby Robson is too old, he couldn't tell the difference between some of his black Newcastle Utd players!!!

Fergie can't be arsed, he wants to win the European cup with Utd again and then he'll set off to the sunset. Plus we cannot afford him.

Kenny? Lord give me strength............he has no clue about the modern game, we'd be better off with John Barnes.

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    sounds like TABLOID LIES once again
    Turns out it isMORE LIES

Fergie as manager, Keane as Assistant, perhaps?
    My other posts are intelligent and witty. This one is an exception.

www.kerins.org

Playstation Network: DanK_SFC

How about Bobby Charlton? Ha, only messin, O' Neill... and if not, we might as well give Kerr another 2 years...

1,928 Posts
    I would find it hard to believe that Delaney has not some names up his sleeve. I don´t think Kerr´s record on its own is enough to get the vote of no confid. Delaney would have to have some alternative in order to strengthen his hand. As I don´t support or have any interest in Man U. I have no idea if Fergusen is suitable but I note that he is a big John O´Shea fan which I would have thought would have ruled him out of most Irish fan´s agendas.
    He doesn´t look too healthy eithir but if he was prepared to go down to the crossroads and sell his soul in exchange for qualification then I might consider his cause with some favour.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke
    what about ranieri? he's lookin for work at the moment.
    I'm not sure if you were being sracastic, but I think Ranieiri would be a very good candidate. Duff played great under him, he'd allow our players to express themselves & he trusts youth. You'd fear for some of his substitutions mind you!

The Tribune hit the nail on the head when it identified that Kerr has done very little to make this team his own. Fresh ideas are needed & Ranieri certainly isn't short in that dept.

Alan Curbishlee
    Young manger, doing well with a team of limited resources.
    Mentioned many times as a future England manager, this could be a good stepping stone for him.
    I’m not sure if he would leave Charlton though.
    They have to get an ambitious young manager who has to go out a prove something.
    No use looking at the likes of Daglish, what did he ever do without money !!!!

386 Posts
    Thats a fine list of names ye have there but what has any of them done for Irish football or what interest has any of them shown in it for that matter. Are ye prepared to pay the wages they'll be looking for or will our under-age national teams pay for it? Can say what you like about Kerr but he is employed on the cheap and works his socks off for what he is paid. None of them will be prepared to take the job on what Kerr earns and will certainly treat the job as a part-time appointment. And none of them have demostrated a passion for Irish football to the same extent Kerr has. I say keep Kerr, out with Don Givens and boycott the Irish Independent.

Ireland§s Next manager

Folks

The bottom line is thanks to coming 4th in the group and missing out on the play-offs the FAI is fecked big time financially speaking. So they may be forced to offer Kerr a new deal cause they will not be able to afford a decent foreign based alternative.

The only affordable ones would be EL managers in the short term, and while I have the height of respect for most of these guys it is doubtful if the pampered overpaid Premiership ( mostly reserve) players who wear the green jersey would.

Deschamps is a good suggestion how about the ex Real coach Del Bosque?

He won the Champions League and had to work under a chairman who would not let him sign defenders. John Delaney would be a cake walk compared to that

3,500 Posts
    Wasn't Deschamps up for the French job before Domenech got it? It might have been Blanc, but I'm certain the players wanted him over Domenech

386 Posts
    Just to remind people that Martin O'Neill is paid a salary of £500,000 by Celtic for an apparent "consultancy" role. Kerr gets £330,000.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rodoman
    Bobby Robson seems to be the choice after Fergie/Keano duo, and that's never going to happen.
    He may be an ex-England manager, but he has a fair record, respect, and huge knowledge of the game.
    WHat ye think !!!!
    Ah Bobby Robson. The man with his head in his hands in Euro '88 as England lost all 3 games in their group. Plonker. He doesn't half waffle and reminds me of David Pleat .

Forget about any current Premiership manager - financially it just wouldn't be rewarding enough.

Dalglish hastened the decline of Liverpool. His success at Blackburn was bought.

John Aldridge might not be too bad an option if Martin O'Neill can't take the job. Had reasonable success at Tranmere and would be well respected by the players and fans alike.

Quote Originally Posted by ifk101
    Thats a fine list of names ye have there but what has any of them done for Irish football .
    What had Gus Hiddink done for Korean football before gettng the job?

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    I'm not sure if you were being sracastic, but I think Ranieiri would be a very good candidate. Duff played great under him, he'd allow our players to express themselves & he trusts youth. You'd fear for some of his substitutions mind you!

The Tribune hit the nail on the head when it identified that Kerr has done very little to make this team his own. Fresh ideas are needed & Ranieri certainly isn't short in that dept.

TINKER MAN ?? no tinkering for me thanks ...

we need a manager who is proven at working with players who dont have a lot of ability and a team with little resources

i'm going to throw this name out there and see what people think but what about.......................Steve Staunton??? Has won a hatful of caps for Ireland, played in 3 world cups,and was our captain for a period of time. He would also be a big motivator, something which people think is missing in the current regime. I know his only coaching experience is currently with Walsall but you never know, stranger things have happened!! Any thoughts?
    one shot... Bang Bang!!!

Quote Originally Posted by silentbob
    i'm going to throw this name out there and see what people think but what about.......................Steve Staunton??? Has won a hatful of caps for Ireland, played in 3 world cups,and was our captain for a period of time. He would also be a big motivator, something which people think is missing in the current regime. I know his only coaching experience is currently with Walsall but you never know, stranger things have happened!! Any thoughts?
    Of all the ex-players being mentioned I'd take Staunton. He'd be a bit of a gamble having no management experience. How about as an assistant to another manager with him taking over later.

What would you think about George Graham?

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by silentbob
    I take it by your name that youre joking about Staunton's motivational powers. Unless our players are mind-readers they're not going to get much motivation out of Stan.

Don't know if you've seen the Beeb's quite lengthy thoughts on it.

Kerr comes out fighting
    By John Haughey
    Four days ago, Brian Kerr's position as Republic of Ireland manager looked akin to a dead man walking.
    The Irish World Cup qualifying campaign ended with a whimper after two lamentable performances in four days against Cyprus and Switzerland.
    The media were already talking about the Dubliner's reign in past tense, with the usual suspects being trotted out as possible successors.
    But heading into Tuesday's Football Association of Ireland management meeting - which many have mooted as P45 time for Kerr - matters now do not quite seem so clear cut.
    One thing is clear, Kerr is not going without putting up a hell of a fight.
    He appeared before the Irish nation on RTE's Late Late Show on Friday night when he rolled up his sleeves to put up a combative defence of his reign before a noticeably sympathetic audience.
    Two opinion polls over the weekend in the Dublin media also suggested more than 70% support for Kerr remaining in the Republic post.
    While some experts have rubbished opinion polls and chat show appearances, the reality is that events over the weekend have helped Kerr's cause and made it that bit more difficult for the FAI to sack him.
    It seems clear that the FAI's chief executive John Delaney is not Kerr's biggest admirer but the Waterford man will just have one vote like the other nine men on the association's board of management.
    Possibly Kerr's best hope of survival is the likelihood that the list of genuine candidates will prove as uninspiring for the FAI as for many of the rest of us.
    It stretches credulity to suggest that Martin O'Neill or Sir Alex Ferguson are going to be interested in taking on the Republic of Ireland job - probably at any stage in their careers but certainly at a time when the cupboard appears to be so bare in terms of quality Irish players.
    There is also the small matter that Brian Kerr is paid around £330,000 per year - considerably less than the wages O'Neill and Ferguson have commanded in recent years.
    That level of salary is also unlikely to impress Kenny Dalglish - who, in any case, is apparently not keen on the idea of having to subject himself to a job interview.
    As for David O'Leary, the Aston Villa boss may manage the Republic one day but he has made it clear he sees his immediate future in club football.
    So as was the case after Mick McCarthy's departure, the two Robsons, Sir Bobby and Bryan, have again been mentioned in dispatches.
    FAI chief Delaney is apparently a great admirer of West Brom manager Bryan, but after keeping the Baggies in the Premiership last season the former England captain is unlikely to be tempted by the Irish job at this stage.
    By all accounts, Sir Bobby remains mustard keen to get back into management but he has already ruled himself out of contention for the role.
    That leaves names like John Aldridge and Ronnie Whelan in the lower reaches of the betting.
    However, with all due respect, the managerial CVs of the two former Liverpool stars will probably inspire less confidence among the FAI decision-makers than the current incumbent's.
    In a sense, Kerr could therefore hang on to his job by default with the fact that the FAI would not have to stump up big money to retain his services, also a factor that should not be overlooked.
    But then again there is the deterioration in the Republic's performances over the past year and the fact Kerr's side have failed to beat a team in the top 80 in the world rankings in a competitive fixture since his appointment in January 2003.
    Roy Keane's retirement will only increase the widespread feeling among the Irish public that you cannot make a silk purse out of a sow's ear - which again could play in Kerr's favour as the FAI officials sit down to make their decision.
    The dead man walking could yet earn his reprieve.

I detect some hesitancy there, at least we have something to work on.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast