Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Kerr on Late Late tonight

fcuk, i was expecting him on first.. he came on last.. if i knew that I probably would have went to bed.

Well I didnt and Im glad, Kerr came out fighting (and pratically ran over to Pat from the start). He is a very passionate man, christ I thought he was going to say something on air that would be a diaster. He made some very good points and showed up the likes of Giles Dunphy and brady for what they are, 3 out of touch clowns.

I think he should be given another crack at the show because im satisfied that he is making the effort and doing things right. Its just that we dont have the players to qualify each campagin.

43 Posts
    Anyone who watched Brian last night and wouldn't put him back into the job is dead inside. He confirmed the views of those who realise we are a small nation with a limited pool of players who have been playing above our station for a long time and now may have a period of consolidation or worse. He confirmed that there was a strategy in every game and without hanging them made it clear the lack of ability in the squad was the main factor for this. It's one thing wanting slick passing football, but another thing getting it out of slow Kilbane and O Shea and Fat Andy Reid and Robbie K.

I feel for him like most in that it's like one of us doing the job, and I for one am happier with that scenario rather than some jumped up over rated "Prem" expert who will, as BK said, feck off the morn after a game til the next one.

He also blew Fat Pat away with his knowledge, Pat tried to say Fergie, Jose et al didn't give him any credit cos he never played/managed in the Prem. Kerr confirmed this to be crap and even said Fergie has had reason to ask him for favours often. And of course the media rubbish about a bust up with Roy was fabricate by the liars, Roy had been onto him twice yesterday in the lead up to his retirement statement, as had Cunningham the day before.

All in all if the FAI go elsewhere with the job I feel it will be a wrong and bad decision. We've already seen them let one World class manager go in Mick and now it might happen again, there ain't that many of them out there....
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    ....All in all if the FAI go elsewhere with the job I feel it will be a wrong and bad decision. We've already seen them let one World class manager go in Mick and now it might happen again, there ain't that many of them out there....
    Agree, a change now would be a total panic measure.

Apart from the question of who else better than Kerr is about and who might want the job, something that has been discussed on other threads. Brian Kerr has put a structure into place that probably only needs retuning rather than rebuilding. All the things that Roy Keane complained about are in place.

The next 12 months must concentrate on bringing in players ready for the Euro 2008 qualifiers and establishing a fairly settled team from the limited choice we have available. With Keane, Cunningham gone and several others likely to follow either by choice or because they will be told they are not seen as part of the future (e.g. Docherty) the likes of Stephen Elliott, Stephen Reid, Alan Quinn, Kevin Doyle?, Aidan McGeady need to be given the opportunity to establish themselves by assuring them of a run of two or three games.

For me, the biggest issue that needs to be resolved is what exactly are the roles, if any, that John O'Shea and Liam Miller will play. One is a passenger on the field, the other is a passenger on the bench. This is not an ABU rant - but these two must be sorted out as far as Ireland are concerned.

I believe Brian Kerr and Chris Hughton can sort this and will learn from their mistakes . Any change of manager/coach is only likely to set us back 6 months, time we do not have.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

182 Posts
    Lads, here's an example of the sad state of affairs in Irish football.

The new manager odds page at Paddy Power:
    http://www.paddypower.com/bet?action...id=115&id=3266

All the managers are listed with just their name, except for "S Kenny" who has (Derry City Manager) in brackets next to his name.

hows that an example ?
    anyway just a point i was thinking of this morning pity brian didnt pick up on it .
    Pat the Plank was saying to him that the likes of Mourinho and Ferguson wouldnt respect him cos he hasnt played at the highest level , correct me if i'm wrong but hasnt Mourinho no playing experience at any professional level at all ?

Lawrenson backs Kerr to stay on
    15/10/2005 - 13:04:50

Mark Lawrenson has backed Brian Kerr to stay as Republic of Ireland manager for the next qualifying campaign.

Kerr failed to lead his side to the World Cup following the goalless draw in midweek against Switzerland, with suggestions he could be replaced.

Lawrenson, the former Liverpool and Ireland defender, believes Kerr should be given the opportunity to get the country into the European Championships in 2008.

He said: “I would keep him on. The players aren’t coming through at the moment and we don’t know who else is interested (in Kerr’s job).

“They just haven’t got the players, we can’t buy them either – they are either there or not.”

The next qualifying campaign will also be without Roy Keane and Kenny Cunningham, who both retired after the draw with Switzerland.
    looks like lawerson is backing him. At the end of the day he does make a good point about not having the players. Lawerson was slating him though in the WCQ's

182 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    hows that an example ?
    Because they have to mention he's the Derry City manager, because otherwise the people of Ireland wouldn't know who it is. But with every other Joe Ordinary from the lower reaches of the English leagues they just assume you know who they are.

good point!
    id rather have kenny than some of the no marks that are in ahead of him

Aldridge ,P Reid Brian Kidd ,D Givens R Whelan Niall Quinn K Moran L Macari

ranieri is an intersting one though

Quote Originally Posted by kerr's tribe
    have I had a sex-change?
    Wouldn't surprise me, ye Northern ones were alway's a bit funny

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AidoM
    Thank god for post its!!. I tried to write down what he said and I only hope I can read the scribbles now.

Just to say lads that he spoke (what could be described as) passionately.

I'm not going to comment on what he said but just relate them. The points are not in any order but here goes

We didn't lose it only Wednesday. There were only 3 points between us and France. The French result was the only one out of sync between the games of the top 4 teams. .

It's easy for Kerr to say that now but if the game against France had finished 0-0 or 1-1 we still would not have qualified be cause France(+12) and Switzerland(+11) still finished with superior goal difference than us(+7) and Israel(+5).
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Is the Late Late repeated Sunday or Monday nights on Rte or is it just Channel 4?
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Is the Late Late repeated Sunday or Monday nights on Rte or is it just Channel 4?
    When is it on channel 4
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Late Late is repeated on Monday nights on RTE 1. According to RTE Guide the start time is 11.10 pm and finish time is 1.10 am. If these times are stuck the slot wit Kerr will be on about 12.40 am but maybe best to set the recorder.

Does anybody want it recorded?
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    When is it on channel 4
    It used to be on Channel 4 in the past, not so sure it is now. But as always on this Forum I'm sure there's somebody who know more
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Results are all that count at the end of the day and Kerr's team finished 3rd in the Euro qualifiers and now 4th in the World Cup qualifiers - It's a long time since an Irish team did so poorly.

Saying that the players aren't up to the job is fine, many aren't but Kerr clearly can't get as much out of them as other managers could. If you want Kerr to stay on you have to really be of the opinion that nobody else could realistically have done the job better, I can't agree with that.

BTW - like we needed another blow but we are seeded 4th for the Euro draw in January.

we definitely dont need another tinker man. We need a manager with a clear idea of what he wants from the players.

The top two automatically qualify so we will be fighting with 3rd seed and 2nd seed for the 2nd position. Thats not incredibly difficult IF WE HAVE A WELL ORGANISED AND MOTIVATED TEAM. The next manager will be crucial both for this and for our seedings for the next world cup.

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AidoM
    I only saw this now

If an apology is due you have it, my daughter
    cheers!

Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    Then the $60,000 Q , will kerr's tribe have to change her name?
    I know, I hope Brian has been thinking about all the sponsorship money/deals I am going to lose if it all falls through!!!

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Wouldn't surprise me, ye Northern ones were alway's a bit funny
    oi! cut it out boyo!

Quote Originally Posted by Qwerty
    Results are all that count at the end of the day and Kerr's team finished 3rd in the Euro qualifiers
    Only in the same way that Paul Doolin has never had a team relegated. Results improved in that group when Kerr took over.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast