Thread: Am I the only one who hates Bill O'Herlihy?

Lads I think you are being way too critical of the RTE panel they are still streets ahead of any of the rest. TV3 are possibly the worst I have ever seen and the best that ever happened was taking coverage away from them. Sky are ok and I really like Quinn as he always seems to know what he is talking about. WHat I like about the RTE panel is that they are not afraid to say it how it is. If you watch and England game all they do is blame the ref, pitch or clour of the ball for England playing badly. The RTE panel are nor afraid to say such and such is playing awful.

Maybe they are the best of a bad bunch but they are still the best

I like having a go at RTE but christ they are the best of a dirty minging dozen.

ITV is the WORST SHOW ON THIS PLANET. Talk about getting it all wrong.

BBC - Arrogrant smarmy and cheesy. Sickened of gary and his crisps.

SKY- decent enough coverage but so many ads and some of their commentators are total bluffers

TV3 - Best at covering mediocre games and delayed highlights. Crap at the bigger games.

RTE - good analyitical coverage if it does need to be revamped a little

You should try listening to the shower of muppets and yes men on Sky Sports and that includes Niall Quinn, I would prefer to watch his wife's surf add than hear his moronic comments
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

I disagree....

I mean, did anyone see the Eng v Aus match last Sat on the beeb... It just reminded me how godawful Lineker and Hansen are. It was extremely boring, they had nothing of note to say and just chuckle at each others banal jokes. It made me want to puke.

Or would you prefer Sky and Andy Gray with his rolex having a seizure over a nil all coca-cola cup fixture between doncaster and reading telling you it was like watching Argentina circa 86?

Or what about UTV.... oh my word. Andy Townsend, Ally McCoist, Gabby Yorath, Des "with a drop of Irish" wine-em, dine-em and Lynam? With their pitchside desk at the corner flag in old trafford. Barf.

Gimme Giles, Dunphy and Brady any day. Talking about playstations eating into street talent... amazing stuff! They were at that again on newstalk yesterday actually.

Just my tuppenceworth.
    Gimme dat

how about shirley temple bar taking over bills role

I disagree with the original post. O'Herlihy's role is to be the presenter, get answers from the experts on the panel, and make the panel accessible to Joe Public. I think that he does a good job.

RTE may well have the worst commentators during games, but their studio line-up is the better than BBC, ITV or Sky in my opinion.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DubJohn
    I disagree....

I mean, did anyone see the Eng v Aus match last Sat on the beeb... It just reminded me how godawful Lineker and Hansen are. It was extremely boring, they had nothing of note to say and just chuckle at each others banal jokes. It made me want to puke.

Or would you prefer Sky and Andy Gray with his rolex having a seizure over a nil all coca-cola cup fixture between doncaster and reading telling you it was like watching Argentina circa 86?

Or what about UTV.... oh my word. Andy Townsend, Ally McCoist, Gabby Yorath, Des "with a drop of Irish" wine-em, dine-em and Lynam? With their pitchside desk at the corner flag in old trafford. Barf.

Gimme Giles, Dunphy and Brady any day. Talking about playstations eating into street talent... amazing stuff! They were at that again on newstalk yesterday actually.

Just my tuppenceworth.
    I think you'll find Gray only does Prem or CL games. Sorry to p i s s on the parade there.

Sky do an incredible coverage of all football not just the top three in the Prem, a la murte jokers. Don't listen to the experts if you know as much as them.

So sky over exaggerate things, better to watch that than the drunk being controversial for the sake of it. Or Giles contradicting himself (On Sat called for wholesale changes for Weds night, come Weds he slated the fact there were four changes). Idiots they are indeed, with the numptie Bumbling Bill chuckling away cos he managed to manipulate "discussion" out of them. Parochial, one themed, rubbish on murte.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    Idiots they are indeed, with the numptie Bumbling Bill chuckling away cos he managed to manipulate "discussion" out of them. Parochial, one themed, rubbish on murte.
    I've often watched the game on Sky and then flicked back to RTE for half & full time analysis.
    Controversy rules, say what you think not what you're told to say.
    You're hardly likely to get that on Sky now are you?
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford
    I think you'll find Gray only does Prem or CL games. Sorry to p i s s on the parade there.

Sky do an incredible coverage of all football not just the top three in the Prem, a la murte jokers. Don't listen to the experts if you know as much as them.

So sky over exaggerate things, better to watch that than the drunk being controversial for the sake of it. Or Giles contradicting himself (On Sat called for wholesale changes for Weds night, come Weds he slated the fact there were four changes). Idiots they are indeed, with the numptie Bumbling Bill chuckling away cos he managed to manipulate "discussion" out of them. Parochial, one themed, rubbish on murte.

Agreed I suppose, I don't have sky so only see it in the swiller when there's a match worth watching that's exclusively on that channel - which is not a regular occurance. I reckon they're a bit loutish though. And I hate exaggeration, it makes me want to destroy everything.

I don't reckon rte are mummified any more, they used to be, but they'll just piggy back on whoever's doing well. I agree with your points, but at least it's entertaining and a bit different.
    Gimme dat

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor
    I've often watched the game on Sky and then flicked back to RTE for half & full time analysis.
    Controversy rules, say what you think not what you're told to say.
    You're hardly likely to get that on Sky now are you?
    Yeah, I agree with you champ, but controversy for the sake of it is just an old and tired tactic by the drunk. It's boring, more boring than seeing the sky panel analysing one decent pass 11 times (at least you don't hear "Stop it there, stop it now, stop it...oh well here will do). I don't think anyone buy's it any more do they? His "controversy" on weds was to include that super star on the tip of everyones lips, Quinn at Sheff United ffs (which he backtracked on last night - a whim he called it) (Has he ever seen the lad play I ask?)

I could give you the script for Saturdays murte offering between Blunderland (Mick Mc) and manure (guess who?) already and I'm sure every single person on here could do the same. Predicatably predictable, as are sky, itv, bbc etc.

As I said above I've no need to listen to their opinions cos I've an ability to form my own, as do most others. If it was insight into back ground stuff like what goes on at training or in the dressing room then fair enough, but it's so obviously not. When watchin the odd live BBC game they give you an interactive option of "crowd noise", try it sometime - it's fun not to have some gimp chiming in with a stat every ten seconds.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

I think RTE panel are getting a bit stale but I would still rate them head and shoulders above TV3.

RTE have had Trevor Steven on the premiership a few times and I thought he was very good. I think he would be a good addition. He doesn't have any axes to grind with the FAI/Irish team and knows his stuff. He also calls it like he sees it.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Ian Wright

Without a shadow of a doubt the best TV pundit is Ian Wright on the BBC. He is highly intellectual anaylst with a deep understanding of all the idiosyncrasies of the game, not to mention a comedy genius and always finely tailored. QED

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport3/worldcu...00/1987768.stm

are you serious RR ? I read on another thread once that most people thought he was a total muppet. :S

RTE need to sign new people. What about Mattie Holland ? Is he going to get in that side of things now ? I think he did a radio show or TV coverage of a game a while ago

I think sports coverage should just be part of another station and not a station in its own right. Sky Sports was class in the beginning but is sickening to death now and is way over the top.

Its easy to fix, have Giles as a co-commentator, have Liamo(sorry lads but he was a class act as a player and actually makes more sense than most) and Denis Irwin as the pundits. Dunphy should have retired after the 'pool won the Champions League because he said he would, he's a f-ing joke that always has to mention Roy Keanbe in the hope of selling a few more books. Houghtons is crap, he seems to think every player should be amazing, he thought Frei should have taken down the cross to him (the header he missed) the other night, WHAT THE F**K are you on Ray and anyway his performance on the Baddiel and Skinner show was enough for RTE to sack him.
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

101 Posts
    "Okie doke, we're back live..."

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    are you serious RR ?
    nope, he's an absolute idiot and the only explanation I can muster for his presence is that he is the BBC's Neandertal card - a desperate attempt at higher ratings - trying to appeal to the dumb masses who think the back page of 'the Sun' is the Gospel and the Koran combined. He needs to be fired and he should go join 'So Solid Crew' where he'll fit in.Thick people shouldn't be on TV, at least the RTE panel have a few brains between them...

Actually the RTE panel is probably superior to the BBC...although Brady seems to be the only one who doesn't contradict himself week after week.

leave the man alone,bill 'o is a legend!

Right on he has more talent in his small toe than all the other pratts in RTE put together. A natural.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by highlight100
    leave the man alone,bill 'o is a legend!
    This is the buffoon, when Dunphy personally attacked Mick McCarthy, and I am not talking about attacks on his style of play, before and after the Romanian game, leading many people to phone in to complain, stated that it really annoyed him when people criticized "objective comments". He also allowed Giles and Dunphy for 5 years to attack Charlton without introducing any balance or contradiction.

That is what has always irritated me about the RTE panel. 95% of the time (Keane and Saipan apart) Giles and Dunphy agreed with each other and Laughing Bill was incapable of putting a contrary opinion. Now at least with Brady there will sometimes be a different opinion and a modicum of balance to the programme. Dunphy is controversial but as a reader of a game he's crap and frequently contradicts himself. I could get my great aunt Maud to appear on the programme (she looks like him as well) and say controversial things and it would be entertaining but she probably knows as much about football as him and probably has far fewer prejudices.

Brady, Giles and Dunphy together can be excellent. Bill will allow them off on a tangent, indeed they often don't even talk about the match that they are covering.
    When Brady and Dunphy there is a tension between them, which Bill lets run.
    Bill pretends he knows nothing, asking obvious questions , but knows a good bit.
    I think Brady, Giles, Dunphy and Bill are just part of the furniture, like George Hook, Tom McGurk and Brent Pope for the rugby. All have their own little bugbears, they might be wrong at times, but are generally informed and entertaining.