Do Cork have professional stewards? Or you could afford professional stewards?Originally Posted by GavinZac
Agreed .... While we give out about CCFC stewards (they are no angels i know) but for the most part, they are active and can be seen to be keeping things fairly orderly .... we have had two incidents in the last three years where someone went on the pitch, that is a great record.Originally Posted by GavinZac
The stewards have been a bit rough on occasion but that is better that like the Pats/Shels stewards just standing there doing nothing to stop what they can see right in front of their eyes.
City are always working with them to try and get them to improve aswell.
Do Cork have professional stewards? Or you could afford professional stewards?Originally Posted by GavinZac
Yes we do (JD Security) and every club is supposed to have them according to the licensing regulations. There have been problems with their attitude to fans (away fans and home fans). They have been overly agressive and have searched bags etc. However, they do not watch the game and do not allow pitch incursions.Originally Posted by dancinpants
I am not making light of the situation but it has to be said that there has been a bit of over reaction on some of the home fans part. Makes no odds anyway ... there have been several meetings with all involved and all will be sorted. They are still the best in the league, by a long shot !!Originally Posted by coislaoi
Derry should be fined full stop
Shels, Bohs, Pat's and the scum have all been fined for pitch invasions so far this season.
As a Harps fan Maribor, I have very little argument with most of what you say and I hope that Harps will learn from the events which occurred. However the biggest problem I had with Derry fans (apart from the flare throwing of course) at the game the other night was that several fully grown men in their early 20s did not invade the pitch at full time to congratulate their players or jump around and celebrate. Some did it with the sole purpose or running over to the home sections gesturing and waving scarves (as shown in the pics posted on the Derry forum), flags (Derry and Harps stolen one) and generally goading and offering them on (one DID as quoted elsewhere pause to have a **** on the pitch while giving one fingered salutes).Originally Posted by Maribor
To everyone sayin pitch invasions are a bit of a laugh, this is the reason pitch invasions cannot be allowed, certainly in games where there are significant numbers of opposing fans. Idiots like this use them as a chance to act the hardman and wind up opposing fans, leading directly to a risk of violent reaction from less than sensible fans of the opposition either immediately or after the game where it can often be visited on perfectly innocent individuals.
There's been no over reaction A face, I don't know if you were in the St Annes end the night of the Prague game or not but if you were then you'd have a different view I'd say. There's a minority of them acting the cnut and who are getting ideas above their station but hopefully following recent meetings they will be dealt with.Originally Posted by A face
Anyway, are we the ony club in the league to emply professional security? If so, we do we bother if nobody else can be arsed following the licensing regulations?!![]()
Champions!
That right, it is in the licensing regulations (not a guideline) so all clubs should be doing the same !!Originally Posted by Colm
I suppose that is one thing ... our stewards dont have any loyalities, and treat everyone the same, which is the fairest way to handle it.
Your chairman lied about "trouble". When was the place "thrashed"? If there was stealing from the shops in town, which it is obviously wrong, how can you prove it was Rovers fans and even if it was what has that got to do with the match?Originally Posted by Cop on
Burberry boys? Thats boez pal. We have banned a number of individuals. See our official site.
Myself, Maribor and Harpskid were prepared to settle on the notion that mistakes occured but you had to ramble on. I won't let City be badmouthed so I feel the need to continue this nonsense.Originally Posted by Mr T
The photos of the pitch invasion show kids invading the pitch, I could make out one person who looked older than 20. A few gestures from teenagers, my word whatever next. A kid also ran at City fans but it was laughed off rather than blown up into something it's not.
The pests who caused minor trouble need to be weeded out on our side as do the bottle thrower and child who ran at city fans on yours. Harps also need to sort out their security and as the incompetant John Patton has resigned now seems like a good oppurtunity for that to occur. On both occasion this season harps have shown they do not have the professionalism needed to organise a big match on a premier scale. Hope it's corrected if you stay up.
"The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker
Speranza,
from the photos its clear that the average age of the pitch invaders is in 16-24 or thereabouts, old enough to know better
As usual derry fans cause trouble and expect it to be put down to wains!!!
This one wont be swept under the carpet and will be dealt with and im sure pictures will be made available to the FAI as proof.
I feel sorry for the 95% of decent derry fans who went to the game only to be let down by an ever increasing element of hoods
I assume a young girl was not left alone in the shop without CCTV ? s o its easy to solve this one.Originally Posted by Cop on
So what??Originally Posted by Cop on
I assume this "trouble" happened after a game. Is she streetwise?? Anyone with even a basic IQ, knows that there are many such incidents, in towns and cities across the country, EVERY Saturday night, including in Longford from time to time. As far as I am aware, no crime was committed, so what's your problem?? Define what you mean by the girl being "terrorised and harrassed". Describe in detail this "disorder".There was but one person working there at the time - who happened to be a young female who was terrorised and harrassed.
So are you saying that both inside/outside the premises, and in the Town Centre, they haven't installed modern surveillance cameras in Longford yet? If the girl was indeed as "terrorised and harrassed" as you claim, how come this incident has not been reported in the national media, nor has an investigation by the Gardai taken place, or action been taken against the individuals concerned?As far as I am aware, it wasn't 'caught' on CCTV for whatever reason
Again, describe in detail. Provide facts, and proven evidence to back up your claim, not rumours.The boys proceeded to clean the place out
And what's wrong with that??& retraced their steps back to the Rovers supporters bus in the cathedral car park.![]()
I can honestly say that I have never seen nor heard of any trouble in Longford town centre, certainly pre-game, but only on biased, distorted accounts from your club who have an agenda against our fans, which appear to be based on half-truths, and/or lies. We have never had any problems with Longford fans, and don't expect any. Therefore you, and your club create an uncomfortable atmosphere before our games there, which is both unfounded and unnecessary, both for the image of the clubs, and the league in general.You know well there's nearly always trouble when you come West - why bother denying it ??![]()
Last edited by mypost; 12/10/2005 at 3:52 PM.
I really hate replying to Cop On because it acknowledges his existence but sometimes I just have to.Originally Posted by Cop on
We've always brought our own stewards to Flancare - as we do to every away game. As far back as pre-Goldcard Security we brought stewards to Flancare.
Now carry on, I'll correct your OTT rubbish as needs be...........
No One Likes Us, We Don't Care
Don't agree with your comment about age. We will indeed be dealt with as will harps for their inept, inadequate and pathetic attempt to steward 2000 odd fans. What do you mean by as usual? It is a rare occurance that anyone has a bad report about City fans.Originally Posted by strabane harp
What about the person who threw the bottle at Forde? The bottle throwing was started when a Derry fan returned a bottle that was thrown from the harps fans.
You won't need to supply those elusive snaps as the f.a.i. had a man in attendance.
Don't ever feel the need to feel sorry for us. As a professionally run club we will learn from our mistakes. It's a pity the same can't be said for Harps who in an attempt to house city fans who had no view of the pitch in the first derby were put on new shoddy terracing which still gave them a **** view.
"The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker
Thread title: How much will Derry be fined?Originally Posted by BohsFans
NOT the thread title: Should Derry be fined?
Ok so the new terrace at Finn Park might not be the best but its better than what we had and the beauty of it is we own it. Every inch of it. Remind me again who owns the Brandywell.............
Change the record there will ye? Theres a good lad.Originally Posted by Finlay Harp
People in glass houses my friend![]()
Say nothin til ya hear more!
ah sure aul lizzie owns most of the houses up there as well finlay![]()