Thread: Fcum

Well when you take into account that noone bar Cork can get those sort of gates in the EL, fair play to them. Have they plans to get their own ground?

Do you know if FCUM has a website? Any pics of the stadium?

I never liked Man U too much, but this new club has my support. A club founded and ruled by normal everyday fans, this is great. They have my symptahy anyway, just like the new Wimbledon AFC.
    Visit my favourite teams :

www.kvo.be - www.shelbournefc.ie - www.rosenborg.info

the website is fcunited.co.uk

They're ground sharing with Bury for this season at least - should be plenty of pics around.

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Both The Guardian and The Observer seem to be running a mini campaign to try and change football. The Guardian have David Conn writing about the buisness side of football. He wrote The Beautiful Game and The Football Business, two fine books.

Mind you, The Guardian are just playing to the gallery - pinko, leftie season-ticket holders like me.

The problem with Irish people is that they don't support their own local newspaper industry. Instead they spend all their money supporting 'foreign' papers, with their bigger headlines and brighter colours. Justifying their fascination with overseas media on the basis that "so-and-so's got an Irish writer....." - whilst ignoring the fact that there's numerous papers in Ireland where ALL the writer's are Irish.

Muppets.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    The problem with Irish people is that they don't support their own local newspaper industry. Instead they spend all their money supporting 'foreign' papers, with their bigger headlines and brighter colours. Justifying their fascination with overseas media on the basis that "so-and-so's got an Irish writer....." - whilst ignoring the fact that there's numerous papers in Ireland where ALL the writer's are Irish.

Muppets.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

I hear Malcolm Glazer has put in a take over bid on FCUM

Quote Originally Posted by Snoop Drog
    I hear Malcolm Glazer has put in a take over bid on FCUM
    Oh FC United - the only club in Manchester thats not in debt.

Hello Lads,

Just canvassing opinions out there in regard to the setting up of an Irish Branch of an fcum. supportes club. It's a hotly debated issue across the water!

Quote Originally Posted by polmcf
    Hello Lads,

Just canvassing opinions out there in regard to the setting up of an Irish Branch of an fcum. supportes club. It's a hotly debated issue across the water!
    Yeah, one good point made on a fcum forum a couple of weeks ago was how could there be interest in it, when 90% of irish football supporters wouldnt wipe their own a**e with their own league but would somehow be interested in fcum which would be a far lower standard

Basically Manchester based FCUM supporters have now what we take for granted over here - proper football buzz
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Think I actually posted a reply to that one, been a MUFC supporter all my life but that doesn't mean I have no interest in Irish football.

Never said anything about you personally - Im a united supporter myself and have been following the FCUM buzz since it was set up (drogs will always come first to any of them though). Was supposed to be heading over to both of them in a few weeks, but eh not all went to plan on that score

Good luck with it, hope it works out for ye but I reckon it'll be tough to attract the non EL United supporters to it, because as i said they have that buzz on their doorstep and choose not to follow it.

Good luck with it as I was very surprised to see that an Irish one hadnt been set up!!
    Last edited by Cosmo; 18/10/2005 at 6:00 PM.

Nothing personal intended, Good point! I think you're spot on, the majority will carry on as before, but there may be a few who are getting pi##ed off with the way things are going and will try fcum out, you never know, it might even get a few more people back to EL matches if they get hooked on the buzz of 'punk football'.

Pay on the gate at OT tonight by the way £30 a ticket.

Total respect for any football fan who keeps the faith, whoever they follow.

it might even get a few more people back to EL matches
    Cant see it happening myself, but it would be great if it did

Something that has been talked about in the forums is the idea of coming here for a friendly or two as things develop, the only chance of a euro away!

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie
    Well when you take into account that noone bar Cork can get those sort of gates in the EL, fair play to them. Have they plans to get their own ground?
    Derry City are getting those sort of crowds as well these days.....

Has anybody got a link to FCUM's forum?

The only one I can access is the ManUtdChat forum.

Cheers!

Go to the messageboard on macys above post

Would probably join an Irish Branch, however not really into the whole branch buzz tbh. I'd rather do my own thing when in Manch really - hang out with my old mates.

polmcf - the point about lack of interest over here is more to do with the fact that for years Premiership supporters including the majority of United supporters have written off the eL as being a crap standard of football. Maybe (probably?) they are a load of hypocrites, and will start going NWCL division 2, how they square that with their attitude to irish football I really wouldn't be able to comprehend...

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    polmcf - the point about lack of interest over here is more to do with the fact that for years Premiership supporters including the majority of United supporters have written off the eL as being a crap standard of football. Maybe (probably?) they are a load of hypocrites, and will start going NWCL division 2, how they square that with their attitude to irish football I really wouldn't be able to comprehend...
    I've already had ana rgument with a mate over this very point He's from inchicore, won't go to Pats game buut is thinking of heading over to watch FCUM play "as its the real united"

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I've already had ana rgument with a mate over this very point He's from inchicore, won't go to Pats game buut is thinking of heading over to watch FCUM play "as its the real united"
    there's nothing you can say to that really (just kick the fooker around the head instead )