Spare a thought for your fellow fans in Cyprus

Taken from RTÉ.ie
    Irish fans refuse to board plane in Cyprus

10 October 2005 14:23
    A group of Irish football fans in Cyprus are reported to be refusing to board an aircraft to bring them back to Dublin.

A fan in Larnaca, Mark Warnock, told RTÉ News that their flight home with Helios Airways yesterday was delayed due to a problem with the aircraft's air conditioning.

Mr Warnock said the plane eventually took off but was forced to return to Larnaca and make an emergency landing.

A Helios aircraft recently crashed near Athens - initial investigations suggested that the air conditioning was to blame.

229 Posts
    yeah heard yer man on the radio at lunch time. The plane had been delayed a few times as well prior to take off. The A/C wasn't working and people were complaining, feinting feeling unwell etc... Then it took off and had to land 20 mins later.

It has since been out with an aviation inspector and been okayed. However, understandably the lads seem a little nervous (all the mixed messages prob hasn't helped). Helios has said if they don't get the flight they are on there own basically.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

I think most people would think twice about boarding a Helios flight after recent events but even more so on a plane showing the same symthms.

Taken from BreakingNews.ie

Tour operator will pay for soccer fabs' flights home
    11/10/2005 - 09:50:54

The tour operator responsible for the 39 Irish soccer fans who refused to fly home from Cyprus on a faulty Helios plane has said he will foot the bill for an alternative flight.

Speaking to RTÉ radio today, Tony Burney said he was not satisfied that the Helios aircraft, which returned to Cyprus with air-conditioning difficulties, was now safe to fly in.

“I will not put my people on a Helios flight,” he said. Burney described his customers’ experience as “horrifying”.

Many had started to fall asleep in the faulty aircraft because of a lack of oxygen. Burney provided hotel accommodation, meals and pocket money for soccer fans who hadn’t budgeted for a few extra days on the Mediterranean island.

“They had a marvellous time last night in the Irish bar in Limassol. At the end of the day they all ended up singing Flying Without Wings – all 39 of them.

“We haven’t found a flight yet, but we will. Hopefully it will be this evening, or in the morning. We will get them out all right and they are in great spirits at the moment,” he said.

The Irish tour operator said this was one instance when cost was not an issue. “Customers are hard to get, but extremely hard to keep.

"We are doing everything in our power to keep our good name and we will do everything to get them home.

"It won’t cost anyone a penny,” he said.

I thought they were just acting the maggot when i first heard this story till i heard who they were flying with and the problems the airline were having on the plane with the air con. the same air con that fcúked up the plane and crashed.

Its like a horror story, imagine someone telling you something like that. I hope they get home soon. Are any of them going to miss the game against Switzerland ?

229 Posts
    I have opnly one question for those lads...............

Whose using your ticket for weds?????
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I think most people would think twice about boarding a Helios flight after recent events but even more so on a plane showing the same symthms.
    Have to agree with that, there's no way I'd book a Helios flight full stop. They sound and act like a Mickey Mouse outfit.

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Have to agree with that, there's no way I'd book a Helios flight full stop. They sound and act like a Mickey Mouse outfit.
    we flew back helios sunday morning at 730 from paphos went grand out and back very lucky though i would **** my pants if anything like happended to the lads .

Unhappy Fellow Fans

Really feel it for these lads and heard one of them on Gerry Ryan this morning. I hope they make it home soon but when you see the weather they will be coming back to they should enjoy their extended stay
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    that is scary for them indeed, but it has been pi$$ing rain here since i came back , they should try and make the most of it.

Alternative flight apparently due in today at 2ish. A quick word for the tour operator. After the sham of an operator who messed some about over Faroes flights, glad to see some have a sense of responsibility. Of course he's doing it for business reasons but fair play I hope he makes a mint on Ireland trips

agree dodge,

fair play to him
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom
    agree dodge,

fair play to him
    The least he can do after flying the lads with helios after all thats happened previously

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    The least he can do after flying the lads with helios after all thats happened previously
    Wise up Zinedine - is he supposed to be a soothsayer as well as a travel agent ? Helios have had one crash in their history - the same number as Aer Lingus, by the way. Numerous other major airlines have had more than one crash - including Air France. So, should he have used neither Aer Lingus nor Air France to fly people to the game in Paris last year then....?

For the record - I flew Helios to and from Cyprus for the game, and haven't a bad word to say about them. Very smooth check-in both ends, got a great night's sleep on the way over, and had a lovely meal on the way back. Would happily fly them again.

Fair play to the Travel Agent in this instance for taking the hit for looking after the stranded fans. He is in no way to blame for booking them onto Helios...

I'd imagiine he had the flights booked WAY before the crash

Plus they got free tickets for the Swiss game from the FAI, how the FAI had a load of spare tickets for the East Upper Center I will never know!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

I got home this morning ,I flew with Cyprus airlines yesterday ,Our flight had to turn back over cabin presure (about 1hour and a half in the air),4 hours delayed ,so when we got to stanstead last night we missed our Cork flight ,But thenk god we got one to Shannon ,I pity the people whom were getting the Dublin flight they had to wait 8 hours .

Sure theres always dely's coming back from package holiday locations, I've been delayed for up to 9 hours in the past!

You're right though at least you got to Shannon and not Cork!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!