Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: More British-born players anyone?(2G discussion

Give me another John Aldridge, Ray Houghton or Andy Townsend any day.

I don't think that your birthplace matters, as long as you perform

Yeah heard that about Holland before alright so thats a strange one. Its an argument that'll never go away but i am glad that we now have more young irish lads coming through than in the charlton era, when we definitely needed those plastics and they gave their all for us so fair play.

I think Morrisson is one of them as well-he got abuse from people when he first arrived but his desire and committment cant be questioned. I'd pick him first choice striker.

My favorite granny plastics would be andy townsend, john aldridge (great grandmother!!) and Cas, who should never have been allowed to play for us but was a great lad.
    I

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    no fear of me deserting. I see it as part of the territory to listen to eejits whilst following Ireland who will never understand the diaspora.

Guys who think 11 Irish born players in the national side is somehow superior to a side that includes 2g etc...

Could'nt agree more. I'm Irish but have 3 kids born in Canada. I hear this sh*ite all the time. In fact from some of the younger home based generation in my own family I'm not considered really Irish anymore because I do not live there.

Next time any of them begrudgers go to an away match check out how many fans are from and living in countries abroad - and not just students or kids having a jolly abroad for a few months either.

Give me a break.

Quote Originally Posted by mjpcc
    Could'nt agree more. I'm Irish but have 3 kids born in Canada. I hear this sh*ite all the time. In fact from some of the younger home based generation in my own family I'm not considered really Irish anymore because I do not live there.

Next time any of them begrudgers go to an away match check out how many fans are from and living in countries abroad - and not just students or kids having a jolly abroad for a few months either.

Give me a break.
    I don't thnk anyone has a problem with 2nd genration players in itself. It’s the Clinton morrison/Matt Holland/Jason MCAteer's of this world who discover their Irishness purely to further their footballing career that I, and others, have a problem with

I cant beleive some people are ****ed with Holland as he sung GSTQ in a play off. How about an ex manager winning the world cup with England.
    Should he not have got the job cause he sang his anthem 30 years previous.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say
    Yeah heard that about Holland before alright so thats a strange one. Its an argument that'll never go away but i am glad that we now have more young irish lads coming through than in the charlton era, when we definitely needed those plastics and they gave their all for us so fair play.

I think Morrisson is one of them as well-he got abuse from people when he first arrived but his desire and committment cant be questioned. I'd pick him first choice striker.

My favorite granny plastics would be andy townsend, john aldridge (great grandmother!!) and Cas, who should never have been allowed to play for us but was a great lad.
    In fairness to MH, at the end of the day he is still english so hes hardly gonna starting booing GSTQ or something like that. Once the players have a genuine desire to play for Ireland and give 100% for the jersey, ive no compliants.
    Morrison is a perfect example, i wasnt happy with his u turn in playing for us but since then he's won me over. I have a sneaky feeling, given the form he's in, he could be the hero wed night.

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I don't thnk anyone has a problem with 2nd genration players in itself. It’s the Clinton morrison/Matt Holland/Jason MCAteer's of this world who discover their Irishness purely to further their footballing career that I, and others, have a problem with
    Im 2G and I agree with that - its not and should never be a 'career' decision (I know others have a much more liberal view on it). Im not sure how you avoid it other than imposing legislation ensuring you register your nationality at a certain age 16, 18 or 21 Im not sure but I guess there could be all sorts of ramifications.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Well said Elroy-it must be a strange feeling for the likes of Holland who chose to play for Ireland at an older age. Its only natural to be a bit sus of players like that cos we have had a few examples of it in the past-Paul Butler saying he'd declare for Wales if he didnt get picked for us etc..

But those guys generally dont last it with us-whatever happened to Jon Macken?

Personally I always wondered about Mark Lawrenson-such a brilliant footballer-wonder why he didnt get picked for England, or why he chose us etc.-anyone have any info on him?

Can understand plastics on this board getting upset but its an interesting topic.
    I

161 Posts
    Before this latest "Green Army" at least half the travelling fans for the French game in 1979 came from the Irish born abroad. More than half the travelling fans in Belgium 81 came from London, Manchester, Birmingham or wherever. I met an Irish fan born in Nottingham who was in Dalyer in 1962 for an Ireland game and still goes today. Surely the new "uber" nationalists shouldn't be following the team at all seen that the players all play in the hated premiership and we have a London born coach!

so you're an aul lad then? know anything about lawro?
    I

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say
    Personally I always wondered about Mark Lawrenson-such a brilliant footballer-wonder why he didnt get picked for England, or why he chose us etc.-anyone have any info on him?
    Lawrenson's an interesting one alright & I've always wondered about him.

But after England won the Rugby WC he was on MOTD that night. Lineker was being really smug and asked Lawrsenson his opinion. He replied "You may be happy but I'm not so sure, as an Irishman".

I've no problem at all with 2g Irish. Sure my 8 month old son is the same now and if he's good enough I'll make sure he declares for us come the time I always thought the "granny" rule was taking things a little too far.

To be fair to Lawernson any time he's found himself in that type of situation he has always stated that he is Irish.

Actually met him in Irish team hotel in Orlando during '94 WC. Decent character and good for a bit of banter.

Ah...shame we'ves got to get back to the old Irish/British debate.....as has been said on here as far as i'm concerned if someone chooses to play for/support Ireland they are Irish in my book.....mabye as_I_say should be having a chat to plastic Peader??
    Or mabye we should just shoot all 2G/3G?
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

130 Posts
    Call me naive...but i always assumed Lawro was Irish born and bred no?

In fairness the likes of Andy Townsend always refers to ireland as we when talking about them. yes theres has being one or two who have seen Ireland as a way to boost their career, but 95% of players who have played for us who are not Irish born have served us well. Interestingly though, in truth, our best ever players have all being Irish born eg Brady, Whelan, Keane, Staunton, Quinn, Giles, Stapleton, McGrath, etc etc

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy
    Call me naive...but i always assumed Lawro was Irish born and bred no?
    Nope, born in England, Preston if I recall correctly

If you go back to my original post it was the fact that something happened on a teamsheet on Saturday that hasnt happened in a competetive match (or friendly) for us in 20 years is all, and that it warrented a mention, because if we are getting more of these young lads in, things may be improving in the under age scene. who knows.
    I

moot point elroy-mcgrath was actually born in England. Yep they have served us well-I aint got nowt against any guy who wants to play for us.
    I

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elroy
    Interestingly though, in truth, our best ever players have all being Irish born eg Brady, Whelan, Keane, Staunton, Quinn, Giles, Stapleton, McGrath, etc etc
    Well all bar McGrath of course. Born in London
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

161 Posts
    Lawernson born in Preston correct Limerick. Ireland have always had a decent oddball crew of supporters and players and long may it continue. We could do with a few characters in the dressing room on wednesday night. And I firmly believe they will show up too. This team has better players than they have recently been given credit for. Watch the way they play on Wednesday.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast