Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Just back From Cyprus

Quote Originally Posted by ZoolEire
    i know 7 people who went over to the game who have never stepped foot inside of landsdown road let alone watched a game on the telly,

so i wasnt surprised about the lack of signing, i think a number of people used the game as an excuse for holiday
    ive never been at a game with so many kiss me arse supporters
    they wouldnt sing and when we sang the mugga haddeen some muppets told us to shut it ..........muppets not going to any sunshine resorts again ill go to games with 500 supporters ......real fans

Quote Originally Posted by horney
    ive never been at a game with so many kiss me arse supporters
    they wouldnt sing and when we sang the mugga haddeen some muppets told us to shut it ..........muppets not going to any sunshine resorts again ill go to games with 500 supporters ......real fans
    were you guys down the front with Mr. Arnold? Think I saw you telling that muppet to shut up

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horney
    they wouldnt sing and when we sang the mugga haddeen some muppets told us to shut it
    I take it that was you beside me then?
    Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Think I saw you telling that muppet to shut up
    If it's the same incident as above, that was me giving out sh!te. He was lucky he didn't get slapped about...I think I should thank those who restrained me...!

To fill others in - about 20 of us were trying to get a bit of singing going when some ar$ehole in the next block (not as if we were blocking his view or anything) turns around and says "Will you shut the **** up", to a murmured consensus from a couple of others. I lost the rag a bit - obviously we didn't shut up, even started singing "Sh!t team Sh!t fans", and not at the opposition . At half-time, I had words again, but his sole response was "Shut up you *****", while some other gombeen started asking if my daddy paid for the trip (because I had the UCD scarf on) and started going through the usual UCD-taxpaying stuff (I'm a qualified accountant...). Got restrained again here as well.

The Ireland fans, by and large, were a disgrace. There were pockets of people willing to make an effort - and fair dues - but the ground was hopping before the match, yet when the teams come out, everyone sits down! There are far too many people who are happy to sit down and enjoy a leisurely game of football at these games. They don't mind the build-up, but once the game starts, they get on their moral high horses and give out to anyone and everyone. There were 11,000 Irish in the ground and hardly a tap. Utter disgrace.

I dont get why they were telling you to shut up?

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    It's very Irish for you to be having a go at those of us who actually made the effort to be at the game.
    As you can see from the post but one above, my comments were correct. Too many Irish fans (not all by any means) are now event junkies who think their mere presence at a game is "support". The noise that came over from the Irish fans at the Cyprus game matched the performance on the pitch.

The chant I like best is "Stand up for the Boys in Green" because the muppets who are sitting on their fat a*ses expecting to be entertained and have an atmosphere created by those around them, have to get up from their seat if they want to see the game . I have one of them sitting every match at Lansdowne right in front of me. Never joins in a chant, never applauds a good move and the only time he speaks is to give Kilbane a rollicking if he makes a mistake. I expect to see a lot of his type on Wednesday.

3,489 Posts
    I dont get why they were telling you to shut up?
    Probably wanted to listen to the match.

It's a pity the seating arrangements weren't adhered to, as I'd have taken his seat number and tried my best to ensure he never got a ticket for a game again.

36 Posts
    by the way

celtic jerseys: if you think the lads wearing them cos they happen to be green then you're having a laugh- they believe that supporting celtic is as important and very much the same as supporting ireland. this is the issue some of us have.

celtic are a crackin club but I object to people saying that irish people must support them if any scottish club. I'm quite fond of hearts myself/

as for the comment that the "fai league is crap" - I can only laugh.

Sometimes I wish the irish national side can only be made up of home based players. it would certainly give a few daytrippers a shock

as for the fans in cyprus - if you're going to go.. go and sing dammit. and if someone is singing don't tell them to stop ffs- I'm with pstu on this one

Quote Originally Posted by dynamo kerry

celtic are a crackin club but I object to people saying that irish people must support them if any scottish club. I'm quite fond of hearts myself/
    when did anyone say that? At least five mates I know who regularly go to Ireland games home and away are rangers fans.

36 Posts
    when did anyone say that? At least five mates I know who regularly go to Ireland games home and away are rangers fans.

it's part of the fundamental reasoning of some irish celtic fans. I'm not going to get into it too much as it's off topic - the statement that lads only wear celtic tops to ireland games because they are green is a nonsense statement. I'll be happy to debate the topic on pms as I'm not going to drag this thread into it.

how was the beer in cyprus?

Quote Originally Posted by dynamo kerry
    it's part of the fundamental reasoning of some irish celtic fans. I'm not going to get into it too much as it's off topic - the statement that lads only wear celtic tops to ireland games because they are green is a nonsense statement. I'll be happy to debate the topic on pms as I'm not going to drag this thread into it.

how was the beer in cyprus?
    Perhaps it is but I've never heard anyone say its mandatory to support Celtic if you are Irish. Anyway the local Keo beer was pretty good although I switch to Bacardi pretty early on

have to disagree cowboy Keo has left me destroyed!
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom
    Yeah so I found out when I went to change my money back, the saint was off sick

hehehe.. i'm still in ayia napa. back home tonight just in time to drop the bags and to murrays or the lansdowne 1 ish tomorrow.

god bless two weeks holidays
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom
    could only stick the keo for about 4 days of the week .. went back on the cider then ..

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Crap league??? FAI league, is it??? Hmmm you know a lot, don't you???

Its that sort of attitude and the rose tinted glasses wearing, diddly, sure we're only here for the craic mentality that has turned a lot of people against the national team!
    it's ok, you're from drumcondra. so i will smile politely and back away avoiding eye contact.

I really enjoyed the chants of "Stand up for the Boys in Green". About half of the crowd were on their feet straight away singing along and about half would stay sitting for a few moments in the hope that they wouldn't have to stand and sing.

I vote for more of this, or even better; chants of "stand up" followd by "sit down", repeat as required.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu

If it's the same incident as above, that was me giving out sh!te. He was lucky he didn't get slapped about...I think I should thank those who restrained me...!
    Keep it down Pineapple ... Im trying to watch the forum

keo was lovely on tap but ****e in a can.......Loads of sun psuedo fans at the game that didn't know we needed to win or else we were fupped....praising ourselves isn'r praise someone else needs to give the praise having said that I still thought we did alright considering the crap we had to watch. Dead right about the suicide watch thingy I've been considering life and the futility of it in the past few days. hopefully I won't be 9.45 tomorow

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    i thought the support where i was down near the ireland goal/corner post in the first half was pretty good, but singing tended to turn to fear and quiet nervousness towards the end of the game! thought keo was alright, better on tap of course. you're back alive ash!

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    As you can see from the post but one above, my comments were correct. Too many Irish fans (not all by any means) are now event junkies who think their mere presence at a game is "support". The noise that came over from the Irish fans at the Cyprus game matched the performance on the pitch.

The chant I like best is "Stand up for the Boys in Green" because the muppets who are sitting on their fat a*ses expecting to be entertained and have an atmosphere created by those around them, have to get up from their seat if they want to see the game . I have one of them sitting every match at Lansdowne right in front of me. Never joins in a chant, never applauds a good move and the only time he speaks is to give Kilbane a rollicking if he makes a mistake. I expect to see a lot of his type on Wednesday.
    Just back from cyprus and agree totally with owls fans. Support was crap. Performance was the worst i've seen but plently of time to give out about it after the game. While you are there you might as well try and lift the team. Also, A crowd of rovers fans were standing behind us and the abuse they were shouting at the irish players was sickening. Why pay all that money and travel that far to do that?? I hope tonight is not more of the same..

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast