Thread: Article on drogheda new stadium (fingers crossed)

Article on drogheda new stadium (fingers crossed)

VEry good piece on the whole proposed development in last weeks drogheda independent.

One of the lads scanned the article and it can be seen at http://www.irishfootie.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=929

If this whole development gets built it will really keep us up at the top for many years yet
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Fair play ... sounds good .... where is the money coming from ... obviously the sale of the land to the hospital, but where else ??

Also ... will you be ground sharing with the GAh ?? or just sharing land on the same site (side by side) ??

looks really nice. Hope it works out for them
    RIP JOHNNY

looks the business. best of luck lads ! hope it goes ahead.

hmm.. the article says the stadium is based on the "impressive" gloucester kingsholm stadum. Has anyone seen that ? I wouldnt call that impressive

http://www.bbc.co.uk/gloucestershire...ingsholm.shtml
    Last edited by thejollyrodger; 08/10/2005 at 12:36 PM.

70 Posts

Great news... Stadium looks deadly!

Its look great........Hopefully it will all come together! Best of luck with it
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

I don't know what they on about with the Gloucester link as looks a kip - although looks fine on tv when packed.

10,000 stadium for Drogs IMO is too big. When would it ever be full? Is ground to be be built in 1 stage or gradually?

I love the statement that "we won't be playing in United park in 2007 - fact!" How many times have we heard this before from various clubs? Drogs probably won't be in United Park but don't see them in new stadium either.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I love the statement that "we won't be playing in United park in 2007 - fact!" How many times have we heard this before from various clubs? Drogs probably won't be in United Park but don't see them in new stadium either.
    Hopefully you will have to play home matches at Oriel Park for half a season.

Seriously though, nice wee drawing of the stadium and will be really easy to get to if just off the Motorway. I can't wait to see a Louth derby in it in the future!

10,000 people at an Eircom league game, you never know. When dundalk just did the pitch up they got a surge in crowd numbers. A very decent brand new stadium which keeps people dry will defintely attract the punters !!

Seeing is beliving though, Shamrock rovers were meant to move into their new stadium 20 odd years ago

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I don't know what they on about with the Gloucester link as looks a kip
    i think they may be talking about this stadium - Click Here -
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

'where is the money coming from ... obviously the sale of the land to the hospital, but where else ??'

Ive asked the exact same question to 2 people involved in the club in the last few months but didnt get any precise answer. They'll get at least 10 million for united park so will need just less than 4 million to make up.

Not sure where they expect it to come from (heard a couple of options though), but from talking to them they are very confident in raising the cash (and remember these boys arent multi millionaires for being mugs or living in cloud cuckoo land so I trust them).

From what i hear the council will be working very closely with them which can only be a good thing - I like to see councils involved in these things (look how quickly tallaght is looking closer to a reality for rovers since the council got involved but obviously to a much bigger extent than theyll be involved with drogs).

'Also ... will you be ground sharing with the GAh ??'

Dont think so, but not 100% sure - sure the gaa club havent said theyre moving anywhere at present

'10,000 stadium for Drogs IMO is too big. When would it ever be full?'

10,000 stadium would never be full by any club in the country - shels dont fill their seats, cork dont fill theirs, derry dont fill theirs, longford dont fill theirs, bohs dont fill the jodi - i could go on. I agree with ye, but just making the point that all clubs in the league have more seats than they require. But as I saaid i do agree with ye, a nice 6000 seater stadium would do for me

Seriously if this takes off, we won't need our sugardaddies anymore as the club will be self sufficient and for once, im starting to believe that it will happen as as i said the board arent millionaires for living in cloud cuckoo land

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    10,000 stadium would never be full by any club in the country

This is where i disagree .... i dont see why the eL clubs shouldn't aim to have at least 10,000 punters in all the ground ..... it is actually not that much of a crazy idea in all fairness .... it should be the norm. Just cos it aint happening right now, doesn't mean we shouldn't aim for it !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    This is where i disagree .... i dont see why the eL clubs shouldn't aim to have at least 10,000 punters in all the ground ..... it is actually not that much of a crazy idea in all fairness .... it should be the norm. Just cos it aint happening right now, doesn't mean we shouldn't aim for it !!
    or that it won't happen in the future!!! yea, im with A Face on this one, I
    think all el clubs should be aiming for 10,000 seater stadiums instead of 6/7,000 seaters...
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

rerun
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    They'll get at least 10 million for united park so will need just less than 4 million to make up.
    So who owns Utd Park? I thought it was the FAI? If so, can Drogheda expect the funds from the sale of the ground to get ploughed right back into a new stadium?

Quote Originally Posted by rerun
    So who owns Utd Park? I thought it was the FAI? If so, can Drogheda expect the funds from the sale of the ground to get ploughed right back into a new stadium?
    From what I know we have to pay the FAI an agreed amount from the sale of United Park providing its all going to a new stadium (cant remember what the figure is but remember it was f**k all )

the fai own the ground, but there is a buy back clause which means the club can buy it back for something like €40k

read in the new metro freesheet in dublin that the GAA are now formally in on the act.
    tone of the article was that it would be the drogs stadium with louth gaa having some tenency position.

so the pitch will be very big is that right?

well done drogheda if this goes ahead. Good for the league as slowly the facilities on most of the grounds are improving.

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    so the pitch will be very big is that right?
    Yeah ... dont like the sound of that .... might aswell put a running/dog track around so !!

I dont mind a ground share, it makes perfect sense but it is too much of a compromise having to have the pitch that big.

Are there any rugby clubs that could share ??