Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Ireland v Switzerland - Pre-match discussion

Quote Originally Posted by ken foree
    wish i could say that this fact could placate any fears, our crowd is reputedly w*nk and seems altogether too fickle from my time with ireland on the box this campaign.. the 15000 in cyprus didn't seem to press home our advantage in that department, if anything the moans of disapproval likely transmitted anxiety to the players and look what happened. when was the last decent home atmosphere, holland in 01? unfortunate if true, i think we have lo$t a little of what it means to be irish..

The french game was a good atmosphere..
    Bring back the plank

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ken foree
    when was the last decent home atmosphere, holland in 01? unfortunate if true, i think we have lo$t a little of what it means to be irish..
    atmosphere at home v france was very good and i've no doubt it will be excellent tomorrow

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    In Ireland for 10 years under Charlton they had warfare, terror, murder, and bloodshed, but they produced McGrath, Given, Keane and 'Put em Under Pressure'. In Switzerland they had brotherly love — they had 500 years of democracy and peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock.
    Come back Orson Welles all is forgiven

131 Posts
    Dunne injured? Top news. We still have a day left for John O'Shea and Kevin Kilbane to pick up a knock and we'll be ok.

I realise its not very likely at all considering its Kerr and the lad is unproven at this level and even at the level he is playing at but he is on form. So at some stage I would like to see Kevin Doyle get a run for atleast 10minutes. You don't have to be Shevchenko to to be able to put in an impressive 10mins against the Swiss backline. It would be a risk of course but if the situation calls for it, go for it. Desperate times call for desperate measures. He plays at the same level as Clinton and is feeling like a worldbeater I would imagine with his journey so far this season.

The rest of the team picks itself really, a player here a player there, its a much of a muchness. If say Holland comes in for Kav or whatever its more a case of that he is less likely to lose the match for us than to be the difference between the sides.

So anyhow come 78mins if we need it I'll be hoping for Doyle on for Robbie.

Come on Brian go out on a limb, afterall thats where the best fruit is.
    A man is never really poor,
    if he can still laugh.

I have a very strong dislike of the Swiss on account of their treatment of us on more than one occasion. I've been looking forward to this from the off and despite our atroscious form at least a win will get us a play-off place. I'm sure some of our players will also remember them, Graham Kavanagh anyone? I'll be there ready to give them a real Lansdowne welcome. It's gonna be close!
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

fair enought they should have believe in themselves BUT i think they are slightly too overoptimistic - my heart will be doing cartwheels and i will probably regret saying this but i hope its 0-0 with about 25 mins to go - then I have NO soubt the swiss will camp inside their own half and hopefully we will have a slice of luck

Originally Posted by marksman
    Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football. Might be a bit "childish" but lack of sleep and football don't go hand in hand...Ask Robbie Keane! That fat arrogant Kuhn(t) is really p!ssing us off.

THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD

BRING DRUMS, AIRHORNS, FIREWORKS ETC. !!!

http://www.herbertparkhotel.ie/location.htm#
    Beautiful. I really, really hope this happens - I don't care if it's wrong!

Quote Originally Posted by marksman
    Spread this around any forums you post on...don't know for sure if it'll happen, but all's fair in love and football. Might be a bit "childish" but lack of sleep and football don't go hand in hand...Ask Robbie Keane! That fat arrogant Kuhn(t) is really p!ssing us off.

THE SWISS ARE STAYING AT HERBERT PARK HOTEL. ABOUT 20 OF US ARE GOING TO HERBERT PARK FOR A LATE NIGHT "WELCOMING" PARTY. WE'LL BE THERE FROM 12PM ON. SPREAD THE WORD

Brilliant. I ****in love it. I hate the Swiss *******s. I'll be joining ye and I'll be bringing more recruits. It will be some craic. Is there any handy meeting place for us all?
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Here's a (dodgy) translation of the thread: http://babelfish.altavista.com/babel...php%3Ft%3D9614

NB: Gate = goal.
    My other posts are intelligent and witty. This one is an exception.

www.kerins.org

Playstation Network: DanK_SFC

Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne
    atmosphere at home v france was very good and i've no doubt it will be excellent tomorrow
    recall the last half hour being spent in silence-soaked tension with a few stadium-wide gasps and moans as we ran out of ideas, up till then seemed good - france away looked/sounded great though

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Is there any handy meeting place for us all?
    Paddy Cullens across the road?

Quote Originally Posted by Cowboy
    Paddy Cullens across the road?
    That should be perfect. Are you goin yourself Cowboy. Trying to round up a few lads now. We'll give them some abuse.

****in hate the little ****es so i do ... frei is one of the worst culprits .. mark kinsella throwing the bottle at him is priceless. their fans for the first game in switzerland in basle for previous campaign were wrecking my head .. hop swiss hop swiss belted in my ear as i was in middle of them ..even worse when at the end of the game some bitch poked her little swiss flag in my eye with her excessive waving ... cant wait to win tmow ...

Quote Originally Posted by marksman

Pathetic

Quote Originally Posted by mjpcc
    Pathetic
    Typical dry-sh!te Canadian attitude.

Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Typical dry-sh!te Canadian attitude.
    FYI ... I'm from the Kildare

Originally Posted by marksman

have to agree with mjpcc on this one. Pathetic!

They are not arrogant.They are confident,thats the difference between us and them. Going to their hotel and banging drums and making a racked is so F*cking childish.ffs grow up and save it for the game if you are going.

I hate em with serious passion...Winning would be so so good but losing would be really awful. Banging drums at them sure its childish but why not.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast