Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: If you were Marketing Director at your club, what would you do to raise its profile?

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    Cheers NYhoop

Buller love the site but dont think the animation would go down too well with certan sections of our community (I loved it though and the sentiment is right if the delivery is a bit ott) fair play keep it up
    Yeah i think ill be deleting that animation soon enough...

My mate is thinking of running a bus route frm blanch 2 dalymount for 2 quid a head reckons he'll make a packet (2 or three runs on match nights)
    its difficult to get directly from certain parts of blanch direct to dalier by dublin bus 38 doesn't go near most of the estates and nearest 39 goes to is hanlons corner/cabra cross so I'd use the direct bus deffo
    Good man. Our next game is the 28th against Bray. I meant take down the signature permanently!

He's only running it on bohs home game's cant be letting you boys into our catchment area now can we
    or i suppose we could run a bus frm tallaght to bohs matches and aswell and run a blanch bus for bohs and rovers home games

re: the signature BUT I LIKE IT!!!!!!!!!
    Last edited by dahamsta; 08/10/2005 at 4:30 PM.

I've said this before, but I'll say it again. Press releases. And phone calls to favoured reporters.
    Dozens of them. Hundreds of them. Look at all the peripheral stories put out about GAA and rugby, never mind English football. Sheer trivia.
    Most EL coverages is simply match reporting or else doing down the game by focussing on a few airhead casuals or else just knocking it out of ignorance. We should have other stories about player contracts, manager opinions and all of the stuff that you see discussed on this board and others.
    Sometimes (and Bohs is one of the worst offenders here) you'd think this stuff was a state secret.
    Not sure there isn't already a prize for best league reporter, but there should be. Journos and newspapers love prizes ...

I like the women go free idea, coz i know some of my mates miss games coz they r going out with the missus this might encourage them to bring her with them on the way out
    Or pay some female models to sit in the stands, jaysus we'd be back for more -wouldn't even realise the game is on!

Also pick a fight with a director from the visiting club and maybe with their manager too!

I’d gut the inside of Dalymount and turn it into a high-class brothel.
    I’d import a load of really good looking women (and men) from Eastern Europe because Irish people are far too ugly. The clientele would be big-shot corporate types who would be able to put all their services onto company expense accounts under front company names I would set up like “Leonardo’s Really Cheap Resturaunt” and “The No-Frills Hotel Group.”
    Then, when they were getting knobbed-off by Helga or Sven, I’d film them all using hidden cameras and use the footage to blackmail them onto organising huge sponsorship deals for Bohs.

Then I’d sit back as Ronaldhino whacks about 8 past Rovers in the next Dublin derby, all paid for by corporate mickey-money.

I’d franchise everything out to the rest of the clubs eventually so they could have their own knocking shops and I might even advertise it on the TV.

I even have the slogan all worked out.

“The Eircom league – The only place nobody f ucks with us… is on the pitch”
    Cogito ergo Bohs

I agree with suggestion of proper website. None of this PR bull bout fai.ie relaunch as its so pathetic hard to even put into words. All thats needed is website with proper uptodate information, match previews, lists of team squad, info on players etc...

Whoever got paid to "redesign" fai.ie muct be same company running that Dept of Health payroll system.

Dump eircom as sponsor & get company that will associate themselves with the league "product" more. FFS AIB give AIL rugby (crowds in the '000s a rarity) €1m per year & have also run ads for.

70 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I agree with suggestion of proper website. None of this PR bull bout fai.ie relaunch as its so pathetic hard to even put into words. All thats needed is website with proper uptodate information, match previews, lists of team squad, info on players etc...

Whoever got paid to "redesign" fai.ie muct be same company running that Dept of Health payroll system.

Dump eircom as sponsor & get company that will associate themselves with the league "product" more. FFS AIB give AIL rugby (crowds in the '000s a rarity) €1m per year & have also run ads for.
    AGREED

Lads ... there are eircom League sites already ....

www.soccercentral.ie and www.irishfootballonline.com ... two excellent sites, if anything they need more support ..... www.a2zsoccer.com is a fairly decent site too (although they have far too much foreign stuff)

All the people running these sites are eircom League fans or involved in Irish Football. We are not stuck for sites lads ..... maybe if people were will, put heads together with the guys that run these site and start a little project, i dunno a book or something. There is loads of stuff you can do !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Lads ... there are eircom League sites already ....

www.soccercentral.ie and www.irishfootballonline.com ... two excellent sites, if anything they need more support ..... www.a2zsoccer.com is a fairly decent site too (although they have far too much foreign stuff)

All the people running these sites are eircom League fans or involved in Irish Football. We are not stuck for sites lads ..... maybe if people were will, put heads together with the guys that run these site and start a little project, i dunno a book or something. There is loads of stuff you can do !!
    What I meant was a dedicated EL site. The ones you've mentioned are not officially representing the league. They are general football sites. Check www.irishpremierleague.com if you dont get what I mean............

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Has that helped increase crowds ?? Will it last ??

The crowds have stayed the same as the year before (slight increase of about 150 average per game), but the question was increase in profile which went through the roof for us! The money hes bringing in the door is unreal also with all the work he is doing, long may it continue All we have to do now is get it right on the pitch.

From a website point of view, if there is to be a proper El website, it needs to actually have employees and a proper design team behind it who will run and maintain it as well as journalists to write for it and various other aspects. Having a website is all good and fun but its all about maintaining it and constantly improving it, hence why FAI site sucks!
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

if nick leason is really bringing in loads of money, where is it all going.It doesnt cost much to run Galway Utd a week, roughly 10,000 euro, saw that on this site somewhere. Maybe im wrong, if so i apologise.

What Galway need is too invest in a few quality players to complimint mixer, levine, o donavan and o reilly. A city the size of Galway size should not be languishing in the first divison.

Its all well to have the the club run superbly as Utd have but they have to get it right on the playing side of things as well.

Well firstly some clubs need a Marketing Director . Once in place, there needs to be fully professional management structures put in place. Christ its all good marketing the league but the first thing needed to for all the teams to get their own houses in order. A football club is a business, shame some clubs forget that. Too many people in powerful positions in our clubs couldn't run water let alone clubs. More interested in bickering.

You referring to your own ollie byrne been the bickering chief executive
    Any news of shels new stadium or is that on the backburner now.

Too many people in powerful positions in our clubs couldn't run water let alone clubs. More interested in bickering.[/QUOTE]

Prime example being Ireland's Numer 1 Hooligan: Oily.

Guarantee you get rid of this gangster and you would get increased sponsorship.

Some factors in the marketing of a club.

1) Have a ground that is at least maintained to some standard
    2) Have a full time Marketing Manager who has experience in the role and is innovative and eager.
    3) Have a fully professional image to the outside, which means all brochures, programmes, websites etc run to the fullest professional ability.
    4) Have a constant flow of information out of the club on events, and players etc. Make sure you are easily approachable as a club and have the basics done right (phones are always answered, requests are always met with some form of response etc).
    5) Run promotions and hit your local base and try and intregate with your community. Target schools, colleges and workplaces!!

gareth I agree with most of what u suggest

but on points 1 and 2
    the bars in dalymount have recently been done up and the stands etc are always kept to a good standard (so bohs have that end of things sorted)
    but we've gone through 7 marketing directors in the past 4!! years
    I dont now if this is due to the difficulty in marketing the club or if the club have made bad recruitment choices but clearly no one stays in the job long enough to do any real longterm good
    I'm thinking of applying next time the job comes up I've no experiance
    but id be determined to make a difference

I wouldn't get too concerned with fulltime positions but i do think the league needs to show leadership on this. IMO the league should be coordination the flow of information from clubs & clubs should have to sign up agreement to provide team news, manager/player interviews weekly so that the league can feed to the media.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast