Thread: Dodgy recent form

Dodgy recent form

I'm worried about our form. Don't get me worng, I'm sure we'll go up - but it's staying up that I'm worried about. Going up and coming straight back down is not progress. Look at our recent form:

- Should have been beaten by mid-table Dundalk
    - Poor performance against Dublin City
    - Adequete performance against Kilkenny
    - Couldn't beat bottom of the league Athlone who have won once in 16 matches
    - Adequete performance against Monaghan
    - Good result in Cobh
    - Couldn't beat Limerick at home
    etc etc

Also, despite being top of the league:

- Haven't won by more than 3 goals in any match this season
    - Failed to score again and again against ****e teams
    - Have only scored 37 times in 29 matches

I'm not in a strong position to comment as I rarely see any actual football and rely on the reports here - but it seems to me that we're struggling against mid-table sides in 'the worst first division in years'.

The Cork match was the one match I did see and although the side did us proud considering how well Cork are doing, I wasn't particularly reassured by the performance...

What is the key to staying up next year? I know we need some new players but is the side mature enough? Is Connor tactically astute enough?

Realistically - who would we beat from this season's premier?

Formerly: wild rover
    this is really stupid

really stupid

adequete performence...**** off

What is really stupid about this?

ranting_rover has used facts to make his case that Rovers could very well struggle in the premier league next season.

For a team top of the league their record is not very impressive when compared to the teams who won promotion last season.

Hopefully Rovers will get the promotion they deserve and they can build on that to be a force to be reckoned with in the premier league and not just be struggling for survival.

Compared to the last couple of seasons this is huge progress. There are a number of positions that need to be strenghtened and if we get promoted I'm sure Sean will deal with that.
    We're six points clear at the top and here we are complaining.

Quote Originally Posted by wild rover
    this is really stupid

really stupid

adequete performence...**** off
    Fully agree. Lets talk about beating Premier Div teams, when we are in the Premier Div. As for the worst 1st Div in years, where does that stat come from? We can only play the teams that are there. This Div has always been a very tight affair. Nothing new about this season. Sean brought in a squad to compete for this season, and they have done so. We're 6 points clear on top. If, at this stage last season you were told that would be the case, would you have believed it?
    If we go up and I pray we will, we have to strengthen the squad. Everybody knows that.
    I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.

Formerly: wild rover
    Quote Originally Posted by nephin
    Compared to the last couple of seasons this is huge progress. There are a number of positions that need to be strenghtened and if we get promoted I'm sure Sean will deal with that.
    We're six points clear at the top and here we are complaining.

remember the programme incident..this is another example..

idiots who will never be happy...someone actually complaining we wont be good enough in the premier and we are in the 1st division!!

we will strengthen if we go up...connor has done magnificently

the end

Is a cup half full or half empty?

This is a better position than we have being in in years! but, its a big but, we would need to risk substantial funds getting new quality players in to compete in the prem! Worth a shot!

As a little bit of perspective, the programme from the cork match had a big article about how SRFC are the reigning champions at 'survival' (ie - nearly going out of existence every 7 to 10 year on a cyclical basis).

I, for one will take where we are now to where we have been, any day!

many informed neutral have been saying the league is won for weeks now & deservedly so but yet some of our own fans are criticising the team now. ungrateful or what? performances against mons&kilkenny were fantastic. 2 early goals&then closed out da 2nd half. nothin great v athlone but conditions didn't suit our brand of football but yet we got another clean sheet. very poor v dublin city in 1st half but showed da team spirit&ability in 2nd half. next year i'm sure sean will bring in da players to keep us up

Jaysus lads - calm down. And Wild Rover, don't call my post 'stupid' and call me an 'idiot' because I expressed concerns about our form. I'm not crisiticising the team or Sean Connor. Read posts properly before flying into a typing rage. I have always being fully supportive of the team - this season and for the last 20 years - even in the Dog o riordan era. To suggest that I post 'critical' and 'negative' comments is ignorant. I don't post very often but when I do it is usually to spur the team on. Look at my past posts.

I'm obviously delighted with the fact that we are more than likely going up this season. I think it is long overdue (and our attentendances are proof of that) - but credit to Sean - I think he has done a good job so far.

All I'm saying is that for league leaders our form ALL season hasn't been great - as far as I can see. All I'm saying is that we don't seem to be a very confident team.

And I was asking how we sit alongside the clubs in the Premier - I know we've often spoken of who needs to be replaced etc - I was asking how people think we would do tactically against teams in the Premier. Read my first post again. I was asking what people think of Sean Connor's tactical astuteness... Having the players is only half the battle. Look at the ridiculous galaticos of Real Madrid for example.

main thing im worried about is going up and Sean leaving for an English team and some incompetent gob****e taking over and ruining us

Same as....But will he try and establish himself as a good Premoier Division manager first?

Stupid thread

Same oul s**t! if we win people complain, draw people complain, and if we lose people complain! Were top of the league with 7 games left...now stop complaining!!

Everyone's missing the point

Holy shiit - everyone's missing the point!

I for one am not complaining - I'm merely asking how people think we will* do in the 'total football' oriented premier versus the 'kick people not the ball' oriented first division...

we play a certain way under Sean - how would that 'way' perform in the premier...

i don't expect any replies due to the way this thread has been misinterpreted but isn't there some irony in the fact that people are complaining about people complaining??

forums are about debate - not about shooting people down and complaining about complaining...

*IF WE GO UP...

lads we should have beaten Galway.We need to beat th mid table strugglers if we're going up!

Quote Originally Posted by SligoBrewer
    lads we should have beaten Galway.We need to beat th mid table strugglers if we're going up!
    Sorry but for most of the game you wouldn't have been able to distinguish who was top and who was 7th.I don't see why should have beaten us on Saturday...though a draw was the fair result.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Sorry but for most of the game you wouldn't have been able to distinguish who was top and who was 7th.I don't see why should have beaten us on Saturday...though a draw was the fair result.
    Will agree with you on this one! But the ref did not help with the way the game went.
    Till d End!

Quote Originally Posted by Shiba
    Will agree with you on this one! But the ref did not help with the way the game went.
    No 2 harsh sending off's IMO.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    No 2 harsh sending off's IMO.
    Well, I seen one anyway

Ranting rover is right, I dont know what ye are giving out to him about cos it's clear to see. We are on poor form, Sean Connor may not want to admit it but drawing our last 5 games against two or three relatively poor sides is not good enough for a side that's hoping to win the league. Since our cup game against Cork we seem to have gone backwards instead of forwards. This run has got to come to an end on Saturday cos if we dont beat Cobh then I dont think we'll win the title. Changes have to be made in the team or in tactics or something, it's the managers job to spot the mistakes and fix them, so far, Connor has failed to do that