Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Irelands biggest & best derby game

Quote Originally Posted by jimmy-boy
    munster dearbys between waterford and cork always pull the biggest crowds and i have yet to see a boring match between these 2.

pure class.
    They pull the biggest crowds because of the Rebel Army, no other reason.
    Just to prove the point, City always bring at least 700-800 to Waterford and if it's a big game we bring 1000+, Waterford have never brought more than 150-200 to the Cross.
    Champions!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Just to prove the point, City always bring at least 700-800 to Waterford and if it's a big game we bring 1000+, Waterford have never brought more than 150-200 to the Cross.
    Which is exactly what you'd expect, based on relative populations. What's your point?
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Bohs and rovers is still the best derby but only just. rovers fans have been drifting away of late. and less families coming due to over hyped so called trouble in the media. Having said that I often bring my daughter (3) and nephew(6) to games but would NOT bring them to bohs rovers just in case
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 07/10/2005 at 11:57 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    What game is on Sacar Beo tonight ??
    Ammm....Cahill: US Marshalls. Some stoopid flick..no 'sacar beo'.

Harps/Derry are always entertaining affairs played a serious pace. Colour atmosphere and intense rivalry on the terraces. People aren't afraid to bring their kids and each club bring 1000+ to the away fixture.

This one should have been on TV. I think Harps are the only team in the Prem that haven't featured live this season. I could be wrong, were there any other sides not shown?

The two playoffs that we played in were filled to capacity in both Finn Park and the Brandywell. The fair weather fans on both sides come out for derby day as it never, ever dull.

The best in the country? Obviously it is for me and many others and I think it much better than Bohs, Rovers which are normally talked about for the wrong reasons. That is why the crowds are down so much at them.

As for boozing together before games, we are only 40 mins away from Derry and a lot of people know one another outside of football so why shouldn't they? You can "hate" a club without hating their supporters.

Off to the pub shortly and the excitement is already building around the town.

Slan.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn

As for boozing together before games, we are only 40 mins away from Derry and a lot of people know one another outside of football so why shouldn't they? You can "hate" a club without hating their supporters.
    Wasnt having a pop, each to their own and all that. Like Drogheda and craptown is only 15 minutes from each other and theres no way we'd arrange to meet up for a few pints (I actually have a couple of mates from craptown and theres no way we'd meet up on derby day)

Btw hope ye win tonight
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

i would consider bohs-shams the biggest derby but in fairness to the sheep lovers&derry inrecent derbies they have been exciting games

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva
    i would consider bohs-shams the biggest derby but in fairness to the sheep lovers&derry inrecent derbies they have been exciting games
    You mean Rovers - bohs.

Agree with FBTN there. That derby should have been on live. Harps always have a great flag display and the crowd tonight should be huge..........

I certainly wouldn't be spotted drinking in their bars before matches and I think this goes for most. City took over 1000 to Bogland last time but i have to disagree about Harps bringing that number to the Brandy. Who said that this derby was a recent addition? Derry people have always had a natural dislike for our poor donegal neighbours and the actions and ineptitude of the Harp's board in recent years means that the rivalry is really intense. I fully expect a city victory and hope it will put the minnow scum down to where they belong. Close the door on the way lads
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by jimmy-boy
    waterford, the most irish succesful team in europe.
    read below.

In the late sixties and early seventies, United were the team in Ireland, snapping up six League titles in eight seasons from 1966 to 1973. They also enjoyed one of the best runs ever enjoyed by an Irish club in Europe when they made it to the last 16 of the European Cup in 1971

beat that.
    Not according to this: www.rsssf.com/tablesi/ier-ec.html

Agree about the late 60s and 70s. Granted they got to the last 16 but only by beating Glentoran and there were less nations back then if you know what I mean.

Rovers No.1
    Blues No.2 in great Irish clubs. Uncle is a Blues man. Heard all the stories about the 60s!

Jaysus, sorry to jump in on the love in between the blues and shams there, but back on topic girls!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Update on tickets. By last night city fans had taken 1,000 with many more expected to buy at the gate. Although i won't be there the red and white army are gonna invade Bogland and embarress Harps pathetic attempts at creating an atmosphere. City 'til I die.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Shamstillidie
    what are you on about, we are away to derry
    Píss off sham you know WTF he is on about.

Derry City vs. Harps is probably the biggest now in the past Shams vs. Bohs was but the crowds going to the "big" Dublin derby has dropped in recent years. And just because the some derbies has crowd violence doesn’t mean it's the biggest

Bohs/Rovers is the biggest derby, there is no doubt about it. I am sure that if both clubs occupied league chasing positions that it would get a massive attendance.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    I am sure that if both clubs occupied league chasing positions that it would get a massive attendance.
    I think that would apply to all derbies in fairness.

22 Posts
    I think the best derby game in Ireland is
    Linfield and Glentoran
    and has to be the munster derby in second, the rebels army always come to the RSC in force! and what an atmoshere!!

Tell me you are joking about the Munster derby. No chance!

Rovers have had intense rivalries with every dub club over the years so it's hard to take the Bohs one serious as it'll soon be another team that they hate e.g. Pats a few years ago which seems to have calmed a bit.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    I think derbies become diluted when the teams meet too often.
    Exactly, a few seasons ago we experimented with a 10 team league playing each other 4 times. For me it spoilt the Big 2 Derbies. Half the excitement is in the buid up to the game, the expectation, the nerves.

Alas when you played each other 4 times the magic faded, not helped by the the then plethora of mickey mouse cup games. And if any Glenman tells you they beat us 7 times in one season, its a lie. Honestly it is.

Given the dominance of Linfield & Glentoran up here each Derby match usually means something is at stake, especially in the end of season clash. We're back to that now, only 2 league games a season. Not last season (which we dont talk about) but the season before I couldn't sleep for a week leading upto the game. The league was at stake but good triumphed over evil.

Given the history, passion, potential league decider and size of crowd especially on Boxing day (17 years since the Glens have won that one) Linfield-Glentoran derbies are miles ahead of anything else up here but I couldn't possibly compare it to any of your own Derbies, never been to one.
    Hatchets and Hammers

There's a big difference between rivalry and derby. Us and Shels was a rivalry a few years ago cos both teams were doing well and were neck-and-neck. Bohs and Rovers is a derby and would still be a derby if both of them were languishing at the bottom of the First.

That being said, I've been to a few of them over the years and they're generally far tamer than all the mythology would make out (the obvious exception being the time the Bohs buses got attacked outside Richmond).

To my mind, derbies have to become institutionalised over a period of time, so recent arrivals like Cork-Waterford or Derry-Harps wouldn't have hit derby status yet. Plus they're hardly local derbies. Maybe youse have different definitions of "local" down the country but calling Sligo v Galway a derby is a joke - youse are barely in the same province. By the same token, Milan-Inter is a derby, but Milan-Juve is a rivalry.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    Derry-Harps wouldn't have hit derby status yet
    How do you figure that out?

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast