Thread: Club or Country?

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD
    Hey, leave Brian alone. He's a legend in this league. I'm sick of the flack he's been getting lately. League of Ireland supporters should know better.

On the club v country issue, if I had to choose I'd take three points at Tolka on Friday before an Irish win in Cyprus. But the beauty of football is that we don't have to make those choices, I can hope for both.
    Agree 100% there.

I've gone off the whole Ireland thing to be honest and am not too pushed if we qualify. The whole traitor thing coupled with the increase in idiots in leprechaun suits demeaning themselves and their country.

And I've been to the 3 World Cups and to Israel, Switzerland and France this time and loads of other away qualifiers but havent been to Lansdowne in a decade. Best fun are the away friendlies but even they are not happening as much anymore.

I digress but mypost dont take it so seriously. Drogheda is not that far away! Put a post on the Rovers forum about a lift and I'm sure someone will sort you out.

Have to laugh about boez fans slagging us about busses. Remember 93? Then again you probably were just out of nappies then!!

But yeah club over country for sure........

Is this topic not done to death at this stage? I'll be in Drogheda tonight and I won't even watch the Ireland game on telly. But that's my choice and I couldn't give a flying one what anyone else thinks.

But, to the Bohs lads calling us minnows, here's a stat for you - 62 Irish internationals, more than anyone else. And as for buses, we usually have at least 2 or 3. 1 bus was cancelled tonight but our SC will still be travelling. Do Bohs run buses to every game? Not as far as I'm aware.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Do Bohs run buses to every game? Not as far as I'm aware.
    What do you expect when you put the windows in on every single one of them....

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man
    Rovers are minnows. Even their own fans would rather get out of the country than watch them.
    Quote Originally Posted by bohdiddley
    I was just going to mention that this condition probably afflicts hoops more, seeing as they have adopted the mantle of the big green patriots' club
    Wtf are you to take the pis out of us? Two words lads; 3-1!!

Our SC is going to Drogheda also, but my point is that this situation comes up every time club and Ireland away games clash. I don't think it's right to moan about attendances, but when there's a club/country clash, most NL "fans" will choose to go to the Ireland game, rather than their own club's league game, which is more important in the long run. The league does not attract 15,000 people to the games every week, so how can we bring that number of fans to Cyprus?

I'll be in Drogheda tonight and I won't even watch the Ireland game on telly.
    What if John Byrne got enough power to get rid of Louis Kilcoyne, take away his pension, and flog him on O'Connel St?
    ONE CITY, ONE TEAM.

Before I would've chosen country but in recent months I feel I've lost touch with the national team. I wasn't upset when they lost to France and, being honest, I kept switching between that match and the NI-England match.

I think it's because of all the lads out there alot of them have English accents and/or ignore the EL altogether. Sure most of the current players have never played in the EL. And how can I take someone seriously when they have a completely different accent and knows feck all about our league when they are playing in the green shirt??

I'm fiercely proud toi be Irish and do love football but I just don't have any strong feelings for the Irish football team. I'd much rather spend my Firday night in the freezing Carlisle then sitting in a pub watching the Ireland match.

I know I didn't explain myself thoroughly but that's the easiest way to say it.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    I think it's because of all the lads out there alot of them have English accents and/or ignore the EL altogether. Sure most of the current players have never played in the EL.
    I'm startin' to feel the same superfrank. Half assed players from half assed teams not even givin' it a lash, when theres players over here with a lot of talent (and gettin' better) that would bust their balls to get a game in the green.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    I'm startin' to feel the same superfrank. Half assed players from half assed teams not even givin' it a lash, when theres players over here with a lot of talent (and gettin' better) that would bust their balls to get a game in the green.

Agree with you and superfrank. I think that's what's helping rugby's rise as well, you can support the Irish team and on a Saturday night you can get into Musgrave Park/Thomond wherever for 10 or 15 euro and see the same guys who wear the green jersey. Makes you feel a lot more connected to them really.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

As eircom league fans you should be almost boycotting Ireland after Kerr's decision to pick Doyle a few weeks after leaving Cork. The man is saying that this league is not good enough for international recognition. Were Byrne, Heary, Farren, O'Flynn etc to move to Torquay tomorrow they'd stand a chance of Irish selection. Sorry for going off topic slightly but CLUB every time

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sfc red
    As eircom league fans you should be almost boycotting Ireland after Kerr's decision to pick Doyle a few weeks after leaving Cork. The man is saying that this league is not good enough for international recognition. Were Byrne, Heary, Farren, O'Flynn etc to move to Torquay tomorrow they'd stand a chance of Irish selection. Sorry for going off topic slightly but CLUB every time
    It's just ignorance to our league, plain and simple.

Doyle went from a full-time team in the top division in Ireland, to a.... full-time team in a lower division in England , playing against players of a weaker standard. Kerr cannot convince me that Kevin Doyle has suddenly become Pele in the space of 2 months, while playing against the likes of Burnley, Gillingham, Plymouth, and Preston, etc.

You would be forgiven for boycotting the national side, with the stomach-churning shyte that Kerr passes as football in recent games.

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    Agree with you and superfrank. I think that's what's helping rugby's rise as well, you can support the Irish team and on a Saturday night you can get into Musgrave Park/Thomond wherever for 10 or 15 euro and see the same guys who wear the green jersey. Makes you feel a lot more connected to them really.
    spot on. Thats what its all about- the connection. There's a similar debate over on the city forum at the moment, and there's on very interesting thing to note on it- most people refer to their club as "we/us" and Ireland as "they/them"- says it all really

Quote Originally Posted by Jaime
    What if John Byrne got enough power to get rid of Louis Kilcoyne, take away his pension, and flog him on O'Connel St?

It's not all about Louis but that would certainly do for a start.

176 Posts

It's not all about Louis but that would certainly do for a start.
    The best place for sending Louis Kilcoyne is to Siberia, for heinous crimes against Irish football, like the Soviets used to do with their traitors/enemies. Instead what do we do; give the swine a FAI job, and a place on the FIFA board. Eejits!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Lets just leave each other to whatever makes them happy
    Exactly! It was great to see all the eL shirts in Cyprus. If Joe Rovers fan went to Ibiza for a week of clubbing and missed a game away to Drogs nothing would be said.

By the way, there were a gang of older Rovers fans on my flights and they did themselves and the club proud. All had matching shirts, all enjoyed themselves and all were respectful to others. I think they deserved a holiday after what they've been through this season.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    It's just ignorance to our league, plain and simple.

Doyle went from a full-time team in the top division in Ireland, to a.... full-time team in a lower division in England , playing against players of a weaker standard. Kerr cannot convince me that Kevin Doyle has suddenly become Pele in the space of 2 months, while playing against the likes of Burnley, Gillingham, Plymouth, and Preston, etc.

You would be forgiven for boycotting the national side, with the stomach-churning shyte that Kerr passes as football in recent games.
    And he was alos playing European football, none of that in the Championship.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar

By the way, there were a gang of older Rovers fans on my flights and they did themselves and the club proud. All had matching shirts, all enjoyed themselves and all were respectful to others. I think they deserved a holiday after what they've been through this season.
    "Matching shirts"

Where some of them ever so slightly over-weight by any chance? With at least one bearded chap with them?

Why don't the powers-that-be cancel/not arrange a domestic programme whenever there is an international date?A lot of fans follow both club & country,and are gutted whenever they have to miss out on one in order to see the other!

Quote Originally Posted by northside hoop
    Are you taking about the hoops sc, as that description would fit?
    If so you're talking ********, one man isn't needed to co-ordinate a bus trip, as the full bus would testify.

Have you ever missed a game? Or do we all need to present you with a note from our parents to get off Rovers games?
    I assumed he was talking about Tallaght Hoops who, let's face it, only run buses when it suits them anyway.

Where some of them ever so slightly over-weight by any chance? With at least one bearded chap with them?
    They all had white shirts with the Rovers crest and "Tallaght Hoops" on the sleeve.

There were some overweight, bearded members in the group but their husbands were all cleanly shaven.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    They all had white shirts with the Rovers crest and "Tallaght Hoops" on the sleeve.
    And they were a credit to the club? Some mistake surely.