Yeah was quiet, I was giving it socks roaring a few times in the packed stand..
They should have a better PR system and get someone behind the Mic who can get the crowd lifted...
Besides poor refereeing, bad behaviour by some BOR supporters and a 'not up to scratch' performance by the REDs, the crowd was so quiet!
I was in the Tracy avenue stand about half way down and whenever I got a little excited and shouted my head off (No bad language was used!) some of the people around me would make sarcastic remarks or the guy in front would shake his head. This really Pi55e5 me off!
Not a sound to be heard from a full stand, only a DC viking with a drum across the pitch being abused by local scumbags - The atmosphere in the SG won't convert many new fans on their occasional visits to become regulars or encourage younger supporters to cheer their team on?
Something needs to be done - it no good having the biggest crowds in the division if one dub and his drum makes more noise than 1500 reds!
Yeah was quiet, I was giving it socks roaring a few times in the packed stand..
They should have a better PR system and get someone behind the Mic who can get the crowd lifted...
Ya have to say the twe times I was in the Showgrounds this year the athmosphere was $hite aswell. Why not get all your hardcore together in, say that barn thingy ye have behind one of the goals, and leave the rest of (the admitedly large) fair weather contingent to sit in silence![]()
[QUOTE=Lim till i die]Ya have to say the twe times I was in the Showgrounds this year the athmosphere was $hite aswell. Why not get all your hardcore together in, say that barn thingy ye have behind one of the goals, and leave the rest of (the admitedly large) fair weather contingent to sit in silence![]()
[/QUOTE
the shed has been infiltrated by some morons in recent years , its either a choice of standing with them and putting up with the drivel or sitting in the library hence no atmosphere.
Last edited by dublinred; 07/10/2005 at 10:50 AM.
Why so? Surely theirs more genuine fans than scum at your games, just fook the scum out the barn and claim it backOriginally Posted by londonred
Will you ever stop trying to incite violence in other grounds!Originally Posted by Lim till i die
The Supporters Trust purchased a Drum for this purpose & I haven’t seen it since the DC away game, when them Dopes told them stop playing it cause their singing was been drowned out (should have played it louder & bought 5 more).
Yee are correct we need to do something to improve the atmosphere.
What can we do? Have yee any suggestions? What about a second area away from these wnakers?
I am sick and tired of reading this thread all season. We have gone over all this before about atmosphere in the Showgrounds. So what if the crowd around you tut tut, or shakes their heads. Fcuk them. That’s what I say.
When there’s singing or chanting someone giving out.
When there’s silence someone giving out.
When there’s banging of drums someone is giving out.
When the kids were in with the “sound in the ground” thingy, people were unhappy.
What does people want?
If you want to cheer on the team, just do it. Don’t be bothered with what people around you are doing, or saying.
Bad language!!! What kind of puffs are we turning into, if we cant use an odd bit of colourful language at a football match?
This PC thing is going to far. If the guy beside you pi55es you off. Tell him not us.
Rant over.
I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.
"If the guy beside you pi55es you off. Tell him not us."
I did tell him - and did use bad language during the said diatribe!
But this does'nt get a better atmosphere or assist the team and neither does your "Rant". Bravo's suggestion about a section where 'noisy' fans should meet is a good one - but it would need to be in the middle of the tracy avenue stand so as other 'undecided' could be encouraged to join in. You would need to be in the ground for 7ish so that everyone would get a seat together and then something might grow from there!
What needs to be done is Gerry Carr or Sean Connor to get off the bench and roar at the crowd to start singing or clapping or something. This worked at the St.Pat's game when Gerry got up and started shouting and waving his hands at the whole crowd and then they started. The atmosphere is a vital part of every ground cos it can really help the lads to victory. We all wanted the shed opened, it's now opened and it doesn't make the slightest bit of difference![]()
No, my rant does not help get an atmosphere going. But, what you have to understand is for the last 5 or 6 years, we, the regular supporters have been watching week in and week out, sh8te football. Now that the standard has improved and we hope to gain promotion this season, a lot of new and old faces are turning up, with nothing else on their mind, only to watch a game of football.
They are not interested in singing or chanting. All they want is to see a good game of football. Things are not going to change overnight.
So, start off your group and hopefully through time more and more will join in. The Trust already tried to get a group going in that stand. I don’t see them at all now. They seam to have faded into the silent confines of the new stand. They have a drum, and have said here on more than one occasion, that anyone that wants to play it at games is more than welcome to have it.
I have scattered my dreams underneath your feet, tread carefully, cos it's my dreams you walk on.
Not too sure if the middle of the main stand is the best place as that is the usual spot for corporate (!?) types, perhaps the first or section sectino of the main stand would be better ?
as far as i can see the people in the stand are very impatient they are always on the backs of the team , when they are playing it on the floor its always get it forward and when they hoof it they say play it on the ground they seem to critizise rather than encourage . was in the main stand for first half of the game saturday and you wouldnt think you were among the main body of supporters of a team who were top of the league by 5 points with a game in hand and yes i know we werent great but still its a lot better than the d'or era.
Fcuk off londonred so every one who stands in the shed is a scumbag?Originally Posted by londonred
When I was younger, I'd be in the old Tracy Avenue stand, swearing my head off, the only one making any noise, them were the days.
[QUOTE=1 9 2 8]Fcuk off londonred so every one who stands in the shed is a scumbag?[/QUOTE
No absolutly not , edited post apologies for causing offence , as said in an earlier post some morons in there in recent years have put a lot of fans off going there , i am not politicly correct but there are boundries , I don't see the point in singing songs about sheep from donegal when we are not even playing harps I have been watching matches from the shed for over 20 years and if some people don't cop on there will be serious trouble at games next season.
Last edited by dublinred; 07/10/2005 at 10:55 AM.
Originally Posted by Lim till i die
very much a case of easier said than done!!!
Wow sound like quite a scary bunchOriginally Posted by Rovers1
Glad they keep their away day violence for kids in Kilkenny and not Limerick![]()
The two guys with the drum at the front of your barn the last day i was up tried their best but the rest of ye seemed to leave em kind of isolated![]()