Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Brian Kerr...

I cant believe the rubbish i am reading...how do you know any of this to be true brine?..i know the FAI are useless but in all fairness to say we should now support Kerr just on the basis that we could get Robson or Gregory is crazy..Kerr IMO is not up to scratch with the seniors...by all means give the guy a job somehwere else within Irish football(if he would take it)that he would still have a part in developing the youth and bringing them through..but do not tell fans to support the guy just IN CASE we get someone you dont like...

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    7 out of 10...what a joke...it surely must have been a poll involving just his family..Kerr is not up to it...and to add to the above comments defensive minded is a bad thing..its boring and its not working..it says to teams come and attack us..if we go behind its hard to get back from this plan also...Kerr should never have been given the job in the first place...any guy i have talked to recently says they are not in favour of Kerr staying..how in gods name then can a poll say that 7 out of 10 want him to stay..Kerr was the FAI's cheap option and they are now getting what they paid for...i honestly think he cannot motivate that team anymore..we have seen this so many times in International and club teams over the years...it is very easy to spot players that are not motivated..the players are not giving there all for the man anymore no matter what the tactics are..Robbie Keane is in the comfort zone knowing he wont be dropped..Kilbane has stopped performing completely...Carr is not playing well..Finnan was a joke last night and he plays for the European champions..John O Shea was awful..Dunne was equally as poor..even Duff has not been producing and he is a great player..Kerr must go after the next game win lose or draw...
    While a certain degree of blame should maybe be rested with Brian Kerr, there could well be a few more variables that are to blame
    I agree with the statement that the FAI went with the cheap option, how many managers in whatever profession do you know are paid less than the people they are supposed to give direction to ! Some of them probably earn more in a month than their manager does in a year. From what I saw against the Cypriots, and in other games the players seemed to be more preoccupied with not getting injured, if they do the consequences are. They will fall down the pecking order if it happens. Teams these days seem to have at least three players for each position. maybe they are quietly told not to get too patriotic, and take it handy for fear of getting injured, maybe they are more concerned with their appearance bonuses, win bonuses, hair gel advertising fees, and God knows what other things they have going in their 1000 page contract.
    International Soccer appears to be a hindrance these days, e.g, Zidane & Co retire, Shearer and Scholes retire, Sauvage retire. Why? To prolong their career where they can make as much money as possible.

Maybe, just Maybe ?
    It's not actually winning that counts, it's playing the game with attitude

Quote Originally Posted by rodoman
    While a certain degree of blame should maybe be rested with Brian Kerr, there could well be a few more variables that are to blame
    I agree with the statement that the FAI went with the cheap option, how many managers in whatever profession do you know are paid less than the people they are supposed to give direction to

International Soccer appears to be a hindrance these days, e.g, Zidane & Co retire, Shearer and Scholes retire, Sauvage retire. Why? To prolong their career where they can make as much money as possible.

Maybe, just Maybe ?
    Think you may have a point about this trend regarding International Soccer. I'm trying to imagine how you get to such a mentality .. I can't imagine any greater honour than playing for your country .. as I am sure everyone on this board would agree. I guess the money and greed in club football must corrupt certain players eventually. Having an extra million in the bank to the millions that you already have or another 20 caps for your country ... or a world cup. .. maybe I am naieve, but money can't buy playing for your country.

Regarding the "cheap option" .. Brian Kerr was the outstanding candidate for the job .. took Pats from oblivion to champions of Ireland and into Europe .. I mean no point even mentioning all this .. the youth team success will probably never repeated again. Why pay for an expensive failure like Robson or Reid etc?

As someone else pointed out earlier, Kerr is one of our own. For anyone who has been away matches, you will remember seeing Brian there as a fan, always approachable and friendly. I think he deserves the support of all of us now in his time of difficulty.

Quote Originally Posted by macdermesser
    Think you may have a point about this trend regarding International Soccer. I'm trying to imagine how you get to such a mentality .. I can't imagine any greater honour than playing for your country .. as I am sure everyone on this board would agree. I guess the money and greed in club football must corrupt certain players eventually. Having an extra million in the bank to the millions that you already have or another 20 caps for your country ... or a world cup. .. maybe I am naieve, but money can't buy playing for your country.

Regarding the "cheap option" .. Brian Kerr was the outstanding candidate for the job .. took Pats from oblivion to champions of Ireland and into Europe .. I mean no point even mentioning all this .. the youth team success will probably never repeated again. Why pay for an expensive failure like Robson or Reid etc?

As someone else pointed out earlier, Kerr is one of our own. For anyone who has been away matches, you will remember seeing Brian there as a fan, always approachable and friendly. I think he deserves the support of all of us now in his time of difficulty.
    I think if we don't qualify he is going to get the boot. I would be in agreement with that. Having said that I don't accept anything to do with Kerr as an excuse for what went on on Saturday. The players have to take responsibility for what I can only describeas the worst Irish performance I have ever seen. I can accept players playing badly but the lack of pride and effort was unacceptable.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

the only thing i have to say about a new manager is that it is no guarantee of sucess. We can slate kerr all we want but a new manager might be worse. There is no guarantee.

I think kerr has set the team up very well but there is no leaders on the pitch, its 11 individuals who couldnt be bothered.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    I cant believe the rubbish i am reading...how do you know any of this to be true brine?..i know the FAI are useless but in all fairness to say we should now support Kerr just on the basis that we could get Robson or Gregory is crazy..Kerr IMO is not up to scratch with the seniors...by all means give the guy a job somehwere else within Irish football(if he would take it)that he would still have a part in developing the youth and bringing them through..but do not tell fans to support the guy just IN CASE we get someone you dont like...
    honestly, who better do you think would be available and want the job? look at the previous canditates over the years when the job became available.. hardly a whos who of top international talent.

while i do believe kerr has made a couple of errors i think that the players have to stand up and be counted. its not kerrs job to teach players how to pass a ball, it should be assumed that they can, yet i didnt see much evidence on sat that we could string more than 2 passes together. i've heard discussions recently about how the players dont want to play for kerr anymore.... who the hell do they think they are??... none of us get to choose our bosses but we just get on with our jobs on a fraction of what these players get. great article by tom humphries in the ire times today which largely tells it as it is... we deserve better from the players

Nice Rolex, shame about heart
    Tom Humphries
    10/10/2005

Soccer/ World Cup Qualifiers: What do you do with a group of players who leave their Rolexes and bespoke shoes and fine clothes locked safely in the dressingroom along with their hearts?

Nice tans and expensive haircuts and keys to shiny sports cars are things which the current Irish team have in an abundance unimaginable to their predecessors. In the hierarchy of human needs, however, they seem to need no more.

On Saturday in Nicosia, where the Irish support outnumbered the locals by about four to one, Ireland scored early. Stephen Elliott's first senior international goal was not a thing of beauty but compared to what was to follow it glinted like a diamond in the rough.

Ireland were wincingly abysmal until half-time. When they had their cup of tea and composed themselves they came out and were slightly less abysmal.

This seemed to satisfy them and at the end, having held on by the skin of their pearly white teeth, they took their bows with the hungry relish of divas.

Had this game not been played in a decent stadium under the auspices of the World Cup qualifying programme it might have enlivened a Sunday morning in the Phoenix Park. We might have paused and watched for a while, grinning at the comic ineptitude of the defending. Then we would have walked on to see what was happening elsewhere.

Had this pallid performance been a once-off aberration for this group of players it might have been forgivable and understandable. We would have explained it by saying that their eyes were on Wednesday's showdown with Switzerland. When it comes to boys in green jerseys we are always keen to deceive ourselves.

Sadly though, insipid is becoming the default mode for this team. On Saturday night for the fourth time in this campaign they took a lead and attempting to perhaps to shut up shop just seemed instead to walk off and abandon shop.

If the shop metaphor is to be persisted with, Ireland were at best all over the retail establishment. The only consolation was that this time the lack of an efficient first touch in the Cypriot attack and the defiant genius of Shay Given combined to thieve three points for Ireland.

Wednesday night is still somehow moot and relevant.

In the most sober aftermath that a World Cup victory away from home has ever seen, Brian Kerr was obliged to put some kind of face on what had just transpired. He spoke of the three points. How Ireland had come for three points. The fact that Ireland had taken three points. He looked hurt, though.

Certainly not convinced of what he was saying. He found himself adding little modifiers to every sentence. "We need to play better." "The first half wasn't good enough." "We'll have to play much better."

One commentator noted during the first half that if Ireland qualify for Germany Shay Given should be the first name on the team sheet. Well yes. No point in being too radical. In the meantime Given's excellence on Saturday excuses him from attendance at the inquest and should earn him the eternal gratitude of his colleagues.

Without him they would be be in stockades this morning and we peasants would be pegging vegetables which are past their expiry date at them.

The Irish back four looked as if they had just met each other and were being forced to play football as some sort of community service punishment. Cunningham and Dunne were kinkily pliant and passive as they were manhandled by the Cypriot centre forwards. Carr and O'Shea took turns at competing for the award of Biggest Waste of Potential In A Full Back Position.

The back four are wealthy enough, of course, to hire the best (uhm, unintentional irony alert) defence lawyers for their trial. The thrust of their argument would be that if the others further up the field weren't trying very hard, why should the back four.

At this point Stephen Elliott, whose honesty was conspicuous throughout, would be advised to retain separate representation. The others are going to swing. From the time that Ireland declared on the grand total of one goal it is hard to think of a convincing performance from anyone.

We gave the ball away early and often as if we could hear it ticking ominously. We stood off politely. We attacked naively. We left Given as unprotected as a trailer park in a hurricane. Somehow we got away with it. And this, was remember, an Irish side whose sulkiness all week had led us to believe that they had something to prove to us all.

Given that we took three points the price of our performance in Nicosia is low but not inconsiderable. When we take the field on Wednesday we will be without our only two outfield players of undisputed international class. Roy Keane and (almost certainly) Damien Duff will tune in from the treatment table. Keane has been gone for some time. Duff twisted his knee badly on Saturday night.

So to endgame. Of endgames. It all comes down to the wire on Wednesday night in Paris and in Lansdowne Road. The French play the Cypriots hoping that a big win will see them in to another World Cup.

The Swiss, in pole position, meanwhile, travel to Dublin chipper and optimistic. They have become accustomed to playing the Irish over the last few years and have yet to see anything which might scare them. Last time they were here the so-called Lansdowne Roar dissolved into the booing which was the theme music for Mick McCarthy's farewell. They have entertained the Irish twice in Basle since. Won one. Drew one. Saw no passion from the Irish on either occasion.

On Saturday the Swiss extracted a vital point from a thrilling game against the French. It was a nice way to prepare.

Of reasons to be cheerful there is just one we can think of. Ireland can't be any worse on Wednesday. Surely?

© The Irish Times

Quote Originally Posted by brine3
    Brian Kerr is our man at the FAI....he was Rooney's appointment and he wants them to do their fecking jobs properly. The FAI will have no such thing.

Hop Irland.
    Kerr was appointed in February 2003, Rooney took up his position in May 2003 and had nothing to do with Kerr's appointment.
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

Saturday's performance was abyssmal. One thing that really annoyed me was the reaction of Kerr. He seemed to be relieved by the result. But that was all. Why wasn't he spitting blood about the players performance. He could have used the post match interview to have a go generally about the performance.
    That really disappointed me. He didn't seem too fussed about it. He seemed to be happy that him bringing on Holland had worked.

I've been a supporter of Kerr. I'm rapidly losing faith!

Quote Originally Posted by colster
    Saturday's performance was abyssmal. One thing that really annoyed me was the reaction of Kerr. He seemed to be relieved by the result. But that was all. Why wasn't he spitting blood about the players performance. He could have used the post match interview to have a go generally about the performance.
    That really disappointed me. He didn't seem too fussed about it. He seemed to be happy that him bringing on Holland had worked.

I've been a supporter of Kerr. I'm rapidly losing faith!
    According to Brian we were the better team! Now I know managers are reluctant to have a go at their players in public but that is actually insulting the intelligence of the fans. At least have the gumption to admit we were outplayed over the 90 minutes
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy
    According to Brian we were the better team! Now I know managers are reluctant to have a go at their players in public but that is actually insulting the intelligence of the fans. At least have the gumption to admit we were outplayed over the 90 minutes
    Couldn't agree more. He didn't even look angry!!
    He didn't have to name names. All he had to say was that that performance was totally unacceptable and that a lot of the players need to look at themselves and whether they want to play in the World Cup or for Ireland.
    Maybe that might be too much to say in public but he should have busted some balls in private.
    Can you imagine Ferguson/Wenger/Mourinho accepting a perfomance like that in any game let alone a must win game like Cyprus.
    I'm starting to think that Kerr doesn't do this with players. He's too nice. Maybe thats why he does well at Youth level. At senior level you need to be tough.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tram_14
    I am rapidly losing faith in Kerr, mainly because there has to be a reason for such a dismal performance other than the players are not up to it. I think your assessment is very fair & I would go with it.
    Has the cent dropped now??

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    I always said there was a problem, what I didn't agree with was the futile & destructive reports in the media which was fuelling a negative outcome of these games.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Apparantly not.

Quote Originally Posted by tram14
    I always said there was a problem, what I didn't agree with was the futile & destructive reports in the media which was fuelling a negative outcome of these games.
    It's because of the awful show against Cyprus, and others, that dictate the media coverage of BK's Ireland. If we had won by several against Cyprus, which a team of ours should have done, there wouldn't be any "futile & destructive" reports. Until this coach grows up, and sends out teams to play like lions instead of pussycats, such reports will continue to circulate, be they destructive or not.

The responsibility for performances and results ultimately rests with the manager. However at present the players are playing as if they haven't got a clue what they're about and/or they don't give a sh*t. I actually believe it's a bit of both.

I like Kerr. I was pleased when he got the job but his management record in comptetitive games is abysmal. We're getting worse game by game not better. There mightn't be any great alternatives out there but if we don't get through on Weds there has to be a change. The problems we are seeing now will only get worse (if that's possible).

I've been of the view all along that if we got out of the group Kerr should get new contract. After watching Kerr 's carryon last week and the worst performance I've ever seen from an Irish team (25 years going to games) I've no faith left in him. I'll go to game on Weds, get behind the team for all I'm worth but will be amazed if we pull off result. And it's sod all to do with quality of Switz.

Kerr Bashing

In today's Irish Indo there is an article called "COMMENT: Touchy Kerr out of his class" stating that he is wrong to declare all out war on journo's and soccer pundits and could learn a thing or two from Eriksson.

It states "What isn't in doubt is the folly of Kerr's charge against the 'pundits.' Most notably they are thought to include John Giles, Liam Brady and Eamon Dunphy. All of them, unlike Kerr, wore the green shirt.

Giles and Brady would go straight into any elite of the Irish game. Dunphy took on Jack Charlton at the peak of his popularity as a World Cup and European Championships' qualifying coach."

Firstly so what if they wore the green shirt. Giles couldn't manage ****e and Brady no better. Dunphy was a substandard player who has forgotten that soccer is more than just the elite vs the elite. So what relevance is it that Kerr has not wore the jersey. Eriksson is swedish and certainly didn't wear the english jersey!! Kerr is as passionate about Ireland as any manager before and his media snub is just in my eyes. We are in the final week of a qualifing campaign, and maybe we should rally behind the team. Kerr bashing at this point serves no point other than lowering moral and that does not need lowering.

The Comment in this paper smells of "How dare you attempt to snub and insult us journo's". Ironic in my eyes really.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

im going to email those idiots at the indo now and tell them to stop printing that anti kerr muck. im sick of reading it.
    WE HAVE TO SUPPORT BRIAN KERR AND THE IRELAND TEAM !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

..with u on that one....have had enough!
    "Inflatable hammers and Leprechaun suits, & a chorus of "Here we go" or Olé, Olé"....

Yeah although I am certainly not a fan of Kerr now is not the time to bashing him or the players. We have to get behind them and support the team. If teh players and manager are constantly being criticised this will only cause disruption within the camp and lower the teams morale. The time for this kind of thing is after we got knocked out but so far we are still in with a great shout so the team should be getting supported.

I opened another thread on this but the Indo were told that yesterday's press conference was cancelled when there was no such thing.

Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast