Thread: Irish slang

Irish slang

One of the funny things I find about living in Ireland is the slang words that come out of different towns/cities. I lived in Limerick for a few years and got to know about scobes and tackies. I've a few mates from Tuam and thats the madest place for slang - they've got their own language there.
    Below is a few words of slang, they're origin and translation. Anyone care to add?

Scobe - Knacker / scumbag (Limerick)
    Tackies - Runners / trainers (Limerick)
    Sham - Knacker / scumbag (Kilkenny / Waterford)
    Jammer - Car (Tuam)
    Chat - Thing (Tuam)
    Chice - Excellent / Great (Tuam)
    Reddies - Money (Tuam)

Thats only a few - there are loads more. If someone from Tuam asks you "how many reddies did you pay for that jammer" you'll know what they're talking about.

In Sligo we use Cat for Bad.Never knew it was strange until someone from Donegal started laughing when someone said it.

Ya we use sham and mink for scumbag in sligo aswell.
    Mint for something real good.
    Steamed for being ****ed.
    And you could use rank for nearly anything up here.

[QUOTE=finlma]

Scobe - Knacker / scumbag (Limerick)
    Tackies - Runners / trainers (Limerick)
    Sham - Knacker / scumbag (Kilkenny / Waterford)
    Jammer - Car (Tuam)
    Chat - Thing (Tuam)
    Chice - Excellent / Great (Tuam)
    Reddies - Money (Tuam)

[QUOTE]

I'd say there used all over the country, the only ones id never use/heard of would be "Chice" and "Sham"

Grunger for the Skater dudes,but id say that is used everywhere.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    the only ones id never use/heard of would be "Chice" and "Sham"
    I'd imagine "chice" comes from the mullaghs being unable to pronounce the word, choice.

Jammer and reddies have also been used as long as I can remember in Dublin.

Skanger for knacker but it's probably used all over not just Dublin.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I'd imagine "chice" comes from the mullaghs being unable to pronounce the word, choice.
    It actually comes from choc-ice. Don't ask - you'll have to find a Tuam person.

cat - bad
    pup - rogue
    cute - sly fooker
    quare one - the missus or some slag. no real boundaries there.
    tippin - ridin
    jees - for jesus, as you dont to take the lords name in vain
    dip your ring in this - i dont reallly know what that means but i pretend i do when someone says it, i can take a good guess what it is though.
    FLAB - fcuk like a beast.

3,308 Posts
    Sham is used in Limerick as well for knacker

hure - as in you f**ker, used in jest

Ya rare hure ya - you fool (used in Donegal an derry a lot)

we say hoor though as in whore but like

your a cute hooor, i spose its just dif dialects is pronounced differently.

for the cork dictionary click here

my favourite is:
    I will yeah [compund verb] : I will not.
    Last edited by ollie; 04/11/2005 at 11:30 AM.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Stars
    In Sligo we use Cat for Bad.Never knew it was strange until someone from Donegal started laughing when someone said it.
    They laughed? That’s cat!! Donegal is a big county and some of the slag up north Donegal is different than south Donegal.
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

LONGFORD
    mink-knacker
    sham-sometimes knacker,sometimes just used as a laugh when talking to someone
    munch-food
    lush-drink
    chatty-thing
    boure(spell check)-any woman
    feek-nice woman
    to feek-to ride
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ollie
    Don't be linking to that bunch of mockeyah foreign wackers at all boy. Try here, or here. Both BEECHER.NET productions I might add!

3,308 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ollie

my favourite is:
    I will yeah [compund verb] : I will not.
    In Limerick that's usually answered with "you won't no!"

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    LONGFORD
    mink-knacker
    sham-sometimes knacker,sometimes just used as a laugh when talking to someone
    munch-food
    lush-drink
    chatty-thing
    boure(spell check)-any woman
    feek-nice woman
    to feek-to ride
    Alot of them are used here (galway city anyway)
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

quare in wexford = very
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

to bowsey-to mess about
    bowsey-a messer/waster
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.