Cork v Kerry
UCD v Wexford
PREMIER - 17:00
Bohs v Waterford
Drogs v Galway
Dundalk v Pat's
Shams v Shels
Sligo v Derry
It'll be a Turners Cross crucifixion for Kerry or a resurrection. All the other games have little between the sides. Bray 2nd v Harps 5th and UCD 3rd v Wexford 4th is like a round of playoff semi finals already.
Sligo have an opportunity to close the gap on Derry in a playoff 6 pointer. New league leaders Pat's travel to Dundalk and Shams host Shels in two top half clashes.
Having rested key players on Friday, we have to justify that decision by beating Athlone on Monday.
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Were they tested or dropped ? Good players to be able to bring in .. very good squad and will fly up the table no doubt . They will beat athlone from what I’ve seen . Good back line and better up top
Sligo v Derry I think is the key game of tomorrow, a lot on the line for both and depending on results elsewhere could be almost season defining even at this early stage. Sligo win and Lynch has to go. Derry win and its a big hole Sligo are falling in to. Wouldnt be terminal but other sides that were expected to be in a relegation scrap look like they can pick up points, Waterford, Galway and Dundalk with good results on Friday for example. but its possible that there was some Rovers complacency in Waterford, as their form isnt good, winless and playing an in form Bohs. Derry and Drogs get results and bottom 2 dont and you are in to area of 3 wins to close gaps to safety. Early for that sort of stuff and just looking at the Dundalk example 2024, you spend a season on the edge waiting for thing to pick up, string 2 or 3 wins together to get in touch but there isnt a magic wand without change and good manager in and signings that will make a difference. People were happy with Waterfords squad so manager seems the change needed. Sligo, Russell looks bullet proof, so players in in june?
Without something major happening it, on showing so far it doesnt look like Dundalk, Galway, Drogs will be pulled in to a relegation situation. Derry should pull away.... Pundits on VM were saying its too early to assess anything -I agree when it comes to the fine details of predicting league winners, European slots, but I dont think the its too soon to suggest who is in for a relegation battle.
Im absolutely delighted at how Dundalk have performed and with some pretty nightmarish numbers unavailable at times in what is or was considered a 1st Division squad with a 3 or 4 Premier Division players. Im not sure we have had a full hand to pick from bar maybe Wk1 or 2. Im finding it hard to not think we'll be found out and slowly get pulled toward the foot of the table but you cant argue with going toe to toe with the table toppers last week, the fight to win after coughing up a 2 goal lead, late point against the champions and the like. We got schooled in Inchicore, will be interesting to see how we approach a free scoring St Pats again tomorrow.
Suppose it shows where Treaty are at if Longford are resting 5 players and still getting a result and possibly could have won . Not a bad league this year from what I’ve seen everyone is competitive. Cork will win it well but not much between teams on any weekend after that .
Great to see Ryan Kelliher back on the score sheet for Kerry. Great finish from a tight angle after quick thinking from a thrown in.
Some lovely spells of football by Dundalk. Didnt expect this scoreline at HT. If we can close out this game its a great 3 points. Could have been 1 or 2 more and I dont think St Pats have particularly threatened so far*. We certainly havent sat back in an effort to limit St Pats, if anything we have gone at them which is brave after the previous result against them. You couldnt call the game done and dusted but it would be really disappointing to not take the 3 points but we were 2 up v Shels and nearly did so, hopefuly we've learned from that.
Ref a little card happy imo with only Dervin really deserving one but conversely the ref has let the game play even when getting a little feisty. Its set up for a good 2nd half, as long as we dont concede early, so far, nothing to suggest we cant see it out and will have chances too. Arubi has been a real handful.
It's real light and day stuff when seeing how well this Dundalk side is coached . Lot of young players, lads considered 1st Division level and yet are far from shrinking violets against anyone. Coaching teams has instilled belief too. It really does show that it is possible to achieve something on a shoestring with the right coaching ticket and being a reasonable PD side is not always just a correlation with budget.
So we go again and try and see this out!!
*forgot about the Mata chance early on that he probably should have scored. But generally half chances, and caused Dundalk to scramble defence and get last ditch blocks in especially late on but as far as being carved open, no not really.
Waterford may have a good weekend if the results sticks, pushes Sligo bottom unless they score now. Handy result for Drogs too if it sticks. Little bit of pressure on O'Brien if they can pull it out of the bag. Plenty of football to be played ye this evening.
Last edited by Nesta99; 06/04/2026 at 6:26 PM.
Drogs throwing a 2 goal lead away, a great weekend for Galway now too. Bohs look to have saved a point. With Derry looking pretty inept Sligo probably pick up a point but its still relegation candidate favourites like Dundalk and Galway adding 2 point gaps on the bottom to. Didnt think we'd have the trap door filled this year keeping things pretty safe for others to just look up if they can rather than looking over the shoulder.
Nervy last 1/4 for Dundalk but good value for the win! Happy days.
Another double yellow for Borden. Gave away the penalty for the equaliser. Colin Healy back from a touchline suspension picks up a yellow. Disappointing to concede the third from a corner routine, despite being down to 10 men.
Bohs by far the better team, created the most and best chances, but we're undone by a set piece. The keeper was totally at fault, the ball should never have traveled that far across the goal. Bohs looked like the only team going to score but not from open play. Waterford keeper was excellent and as a team they were difficult to break down. . The back introduction of Flores and Tierney was great, to which makes you wonder why they didn't start.
well deserved 3 points for Rovers, Shels were second best for long stretchs but when Noonan missed a 1 v 1 to make it 4 to 1 it kept Shels in it.
Results accross the weekend werent bad for us , big two weeks coming uo now against Pats and Bohs.....6 points and we are well set
Disagree we didn’t look likely from open play? Parsons with a header just wide, parsons with a dipping shot brilliantly saved, whelan with a header off the bar, bounced off the keeper and out, two fine crosses by strods just missed , two good crosses from tierney just missed, we had a lot of open play effort. Someone is going to catch a hiding soon, maybe save it for tallaght!!
Seriously, that keeper was brilliant tonight, at least four very good stops, and amond is always a threat on the counter. They’re a limited side are blues, but they lack nothing in organisation and guts.
Good point for them, fair play.
One of the worst games of football I’ve seen in a long time. 2 awful teams. What’s the record for least amount of goals scored in a season?