Thread: Midweek Round - Mon 06 Apr

97 Posts
    Dundalk totally dominant. Easiest victory of the year so far.

1,031 Posts
    I dont know but Dundalk managed 3 in the first 9 games of 2024. Our Scottish super striker got 3 for the season I think and we changed very little from start to finish under 2 managers though the interim lads tried changing formations and 2 up front, didnt last of course. Arguably less lauded and definitely less experienced players overall are the total opposite as joint to scorers this season so far.

1,031 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kiki Balboa View Post
    I dont really agree with that, Mata's chance goes in and its a different game, we scrambled a good few times. It was deserved but I dont think it was the easiest. Didnt expect to see us have well over 60% possession mind. Though we didnt turn that in to significantly more attempts. Similar on target I think. 2 goal cushion may have made it feel less stressful but if Pats had gotten one I think we'd have been hanging on.

Horgan red took some of the gloss off, maybe no harm he is rested but there was damn all timewasting by him certainly in comparison to what is seen generally. Rare that a 2nd yellow is give for that, refs tend to avoid it with warnings or book players that havent already been booked. Keepers get away with murder by comparison.

97 Posts
    13 of the 16 players Dundalk used to beat table toppers Pats were playing in the 1st Division last year.

53 Posts
    Totally dominant is a stretch but ye did deserve the win. We created enough chances to get something but didn't take them. Palmer and Keena going off isn't good and I hope they're not too bad. Edmonson has been good so far but he missed some very good chances this evening. Arubi looks very promising, was a real handful for Redmond and co.

1,032 Posts
    Treaty are truly appalling.

163 Posts
    The 2023 to 2024 organised/tough/effective/hard-to-beat/smartly recruited Damien Duff lead title winning Shels are long dead and buried, we're an absolute mess going solidly to the bottom half of the table
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

95 Posts
    Disappointing as a Harps supporter to lose the lead twice but another fairly solid team performance.If we keep playing like that we should be in the playoff fight come October.

Two good team goals from Harps the first a well worked set piece by Walsh and Tourish and the 2nd a great counter attack Aijibola finished well for Harps (hopefully it spurs him on as he did little else all season) but McAteer takes most of the credit of starting the counter attack, and in fairness it was two quality goals from Bray too It was a fairly entertaining game despite the fact we lost the lead twice.

Credit to the Harps support too kept the noise going throughout the game barely heard a peep from the home support
    Last edited by Neish; 06/04/2026 at 8:56 PM.
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

263 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    One of the worst games of football I’ve seen in a long time. 2 awful teams. What’s the record for least amount of goals scored in a season?
    It was an awful game of football. Can't remember so much aerial play in quite a while. The two teams were brutal.
    If we got our act together, we could have a scored a couple, mind. Conversely, there was a pretty strong shout for a Sligo penalty in the second half. Haven't seen it back, but felt like we got away with one there.

Take the positives, a clean sheet? Second of the year. Negatives, everything else.
    Normally, I'd be anticipating a club statement tomorrow morning. Not confident that there will be.

346 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    I dont really agree with that, Mata's chance goes in and its a different game, we scrambled a good few times. It was deserved but I dont think it was the easiest. Didnt expect to see us have well over 60% possession mind. Though we didnt turn that in to significantly more attempts. Similar on target I think. 2 goal cushion may have made it feel less stressful but if Pats had gotten one I think we'd have been hanging on.

Horgan red took some of the gloss off, maybe no harm he is rested but there was damn all timewasting by him certainly in comparison to what is seen generally. Rare that a 2nd yellow is give for that, refs tend to avoid it with warnings or book players that havent already been booked. Keepers get away with murder by comparison.
    Not that it’s relevant to Dundalk deserving the win, which they did, but I’m not sure where you’re pulling that possession stat from but it’s absolutely miles off every source I’ve seen. Dundalk had 35% of the possession as per Sofascore, LiveScore etc. Pats had 21 shots, 3 on target compared to Dundalk's 5 on target from 7 shots. Kind of tells the story of the game, Pats wasteful in the final third and should’ve scored one of the 3 or 4 good chances in the first hour or so and they might’ve nicked an equaliser but as the second half went on it looked more and more like they’d not score if the ref added on 3 hours of injury time, one of those days. Too many lads had their worst performance of the season today for Pats coupled with Dundalk lads well on it all over the park, it was never gonna be an easy day at the office and the deflected first goal and slip for the second goal certainly didn’t help things either. Hopefully the injuries to Keena, Palmer and Leavy don’t leave them out long. Also, Aodh Dervin putting a signature tackle of 6 studs into Leavy’s shin was deserving of a red card in the first half, he’s an absolute cowardly little rat of a footballer
    Paaatrick's Agletic

1,031 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kksaints View Post
    Totally dominant is a stretch but ye did deserve the win. We created enough chances to get something but didn't take them. Palmer and Keena going off isn't good and I hope they're not too bad. Edmonson has been good so far but he missed some very good chances this evening. Arubi looks very promising, was a real handful for Redmond and co.
    Palmer looks like a 4 week sort of layoff. Didnt see him get a dead leg to put the hand up and limp off not being able to put weight on the leg, so days out, but didnt pull up like a hamstring either which is 6 weeks. Muscle spasm maybe which would be best case scenario. Be interesting to hear what the story is. Keena is a key man for yiz but didnt see the the sub, possibly in the bog at the time.

(Any thought on how so much possession was ceded considering SK likes to play the possession game and wearing opposition down by chasing and - never mind) then hit late with high tempo. Didnt control things at all, so a bad day for St Pats or Dundalk just winning that battle and imposing themselves better. As Kiki says, its a 1st Division squad on paper, lot of inexperienced youth, castoffs and 3 real veterans. Nobody more surprised than Dundalk fans at just how competitive we are, never questioned spirit of the squad but many thought we lacked the quality to do much more than scrape 8 or 9th with people would have taken 9th in advance. Pardon the pun but its of course pointless to bemoan late dropped points but the silly coughing up late equalisers to Derry and Drogs that with a bit more guile we wouldnt have done and we'd be top of the table. Quite remarkable so far. I dont recall a promoted side settling in so well, quickly and competitively and it not a total overhaul of PD signings.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 06/04/2026 at 9:57 PM.

346 Posts
    One of the worst games of football I’ve seen in a long time. 2 awful teams. What’s the record for least amount of goals scored in a season?
    I know you’re half joking, but at a guess I’d imagine 2011 Galway’s 20 goals scored, 115 goals conceded is likely close to, if not THE record for both least scored and most conceded over a season, particularly a 36 game one
    Paaatrick's Agletic

As respectful as we should be to everyone's views and opinions, this is total bull sh1t. I'm guessing you weren't at the game.

A draw was the fair result. Both teams missed several chances. Dundalk took two of theirs. Pats missed all of theirs. Could easily have finished 4-4 even with us playing a hand in both dundalk goals - a deflection and a slip.

Anyway, tonight we sit top. We welcome Rovers to Inchicore Friday. We have the belief we can beat them. K

3,621 Posts
    One of the worst games of football I’ve seen in a long time.
    Swap ya the game in the Bowl

I think there was a rugby game yesterday - pitch was in a bad state. It's been fine most of the season, permanently because Sunday to Friday gives five days to fix it, but Sunday to Monday and it's still in a jocker

Cork pulling clear at a rate of about a point a game. On course to win by 36 points, give or take

1,031 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Not that it’s relevant to Dundalk deserving the win, which they did, but I’m not sure where you’re pulling that possession stat from but it’s absolutely miles off every source I’ve seen. Dundalk had 35% of the possession as per Sofascore, LiveScore etc. Pats had 21 shots, 3 on target compared to Dundalk's 5 on target from 7 shots. Kind of tells the story of the game, Pats wasteful in the final third and should’ve scored one of the 3 or 4 good chances in the first hour or so and they might’ve nicked an equaliser but as the second half went on it looked more and more like they’d not score if the ref added on 3 hours of injury time, one of those days. Too many lads had their worst performance of the season today for Pats coupled with Dundalk lads well on it all over the park, it was never gonna be an easy day at the office and the deflected first goal and slip for the second goal certainly didn’t help things either. Hopefully the injuries to Keena, Palmer and Leavy don’t leave them out long. Also, Aodh Dervin putting a signature tackle of 6 studs into Leavy’s shin was deserving of a red card in the first half, he’s an absolute cowardly little rat of a footballer
    Twas RTE (i know I know) but its opposite now to as you say so corrected, shots on target have also been flipped as it had St Pats with more. I did watch the whole game and didnt question it so my error there.

13 of the 16 players Dundalk used to beat table toppers Pats were playing in the 1st Division last year.
    How many of them were signed with this season in mind? Prob quite a few so calm down. You will finish btm half of table. That's your level.

3,621 Posts
    I know you’re half joking, but at a guess I’d imagine 2011 Galway’s 20 goals scored, 115 goals conceded is likely close to, if not THE record for both least scored and most conceded over a season, particularly a 36 game one
    We scored 19 in 2023 and 2008

121 Posts
    Ah, here, we're after winning a Premier Division game after being two goals down for the first time since 1987 and the first time we've done it away from home ever, don't be mentioning 2011

428 Posts
    Im not really to be honest. We’ve scored 4 goals in 10 games and it’s not like we’re missing a tonne of chances.

1,031 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Inchicore View Post
    How many of them were signed with this season in mind? Prob quite a few so calm down. You will finish btm half of table. That's your level.
    Yup, you dont sound at all a tad annoyed and hence condescending - slips and deflections, missed chances, draw a fair result blah blah - you lost to a side that their level is bottom half of the table! Something we all thought, will be a real struggle of a season, but so far hasnt been the case. Are you Patsdad in disguise?
    Last edited by Nesta99; 06/04/2026 at 10:01 PM.