Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nations League draw

3,618 Posts

Nations League draw

On tomorrow for the new season, which is being disappointingly crammed into two international windows (4 in the first window from 24 Sept to 6 Oct, and then the final 2 between 12 and 17 Nov). Means a key injury (hello, Kelleher and Parrott!) could make a huge difference. The pots are - Pot 1 Scotland Hungary Poland Israel Pot 2 Switzerland Bosnia Austria Ukraine Pot 3 Slovenia Georgia Ireland Romania Pot 4 Sweden North Macedonia Northern Ireland Kosovo Really don't want the hassle of drawing the Israelis. Hungary would be about as spicy a rematch as you could imagine though. Sweden in pot 4 could be the difference between relegation and staying up. You'd probably fancy Bosnia in pot 2, but not a massive amount between the four teams there UEFA Nations League(uefa.com) [url=https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2026%E2%80%9327_UEFA_Nations_League]2026/27 UEFA Nations League(wikipedia)[/url[ 2026/27 UEFA Nations League - Group B 2026/27 UEFA Nations League - Group B3
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 20/02/2026 at 4:09 PM.

684 Posts
    Give me Warsaw, Sarajevo and Skopje please!!

An away double header to Sarajevo and Skopje would be off-the-fricking-charts enjoyable.
    If I question Liam Scales ability to play intl football, refer me to this signature & his peformance at home at lb vs Port on Nov 13 2025.
    Signed
    Kingdom.

2,886 Posts
    On tomorrow for the new season, which is being disappointingly crammed into two international windows (4 in the first window from 24 Sept to 6 Oct, and then the final 2 between 12 and 17 Nov). Means a key injury (hello, Kelleher and Parrott!) could make a huge difference.

The pots are -

Pot 1
    Scotland
    Hungary
    Poland
    Israel

Pot 2
    Switzerland
    Bosnia
    Austria
    Ukraine

Pot 3
    Slovenia
    Georgia
    Ireland
    Romania

Pot 4
    Sweden
    North Macedonia
    Northern Ireland
    Kosovo

Really don't want the hassle of drawing the Israelis. Hungary would be about as spicy a rematch as you could imagine though.

Sweden in pot 4 could be the difference between relegation and staying up. You'd probably fancy Bosnia in pot 2, but not a massive amount between the four teams there
    Lets go with

Israel
    Bosnia
    Ireland
    Northern Ireland

for the political & religious craic.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

86 Posts
    Off topic: It seems that for you guys in this thread, formatting and quoting works. It doesn't for me.

2,886 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sidewayspasser View Post
    Off topic: It seems that for you guys in this thread, formatting and quoting works. It doesn't for me.
    using desktop, I have to click on "quote" twice to be able to quote the poster... so it wont do the quick quote but it will bring you to a fresh page - if that makes sense.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

3,618 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    using desktop, I have to click on "quote" twice to be able to quote the poster... so it wont do the quick quote but it will bring you to a fresh page - if that makes sense.
    Strange - yeah, two clicks on "Quote" works.

I manually added the bold font with the tags (b) and (/b), but [] instead of ()

684 Posts
    Lets go with

Israel
    Ukraine
    Ireland
    Northern Ireland

for the political & religious craic.
    That's better.
    If I question Liam Scales ability to play intl football, refer me to this signature & his peformance at home at lb vs Port on Nov 13 2025.
    Signed
    Kingdom.

1,167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    That's better.
    Also, zero away games for us in that group.

2,886 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    That's better.
    I just thought a bit of low grade muslim mayhem in the mix there would round the chaos out nicely.

684 Posts
    I just thought a bit of low grade muslim mayhem in the mix there would round the chaos out nicely.
    To be fair I can see that angle, but Russian money in Israel (Hello Roman) would be a lovely tangent with Ukraine.
    truth be told, I don't give an Ellis Boyd Redding.
    Signed
    Kingdom.

706 Posts
    just drew Israel ...

706 Posts
    Israel Austria Kosovo Pretty handy group.

106 Posts
    Surely having Israel will create many off field issues?

3,618 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    just drew Israel ...
    Had to happen at some stage I guess

Fine incoming for the inevitable (and feck it - deserved) booing of their anthem, especially after the fine v England for the same thing

Kosovo could be dangerous as bottom seeds. I'd say the points they take will be big in terms of final placing. I don't feel they'll be Armenia/Finland bad

Austria tricky second seeds. Probably stronger than Israel - Elo actually has Israel as the weakest team, and Kosovo ahead of us

1,030 Posts
    Had to happen but hoped it would be a bit down the line. Things are obviouly still particularly raw and politically loaded. There will be calls for us to boycott the game. If they continue to play their home games in neutral venues it might help. Im conflicted on whether the game should be hosted and used as a platform to protest or just refuse to play. The way things are going the conflict could be in full swing again by the Nations League. Its a headache we could have done without which is a selfish comment in the grand scheme.

106 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Had to happen but hoped it would be a bit down the line. Things are obviouly still particularly raw and politically loaded. There will be calls for us to boycott the game. If they continue to play their home games in neutral venues it might help. Im conflicted on whether the game should be hosted and used as a platform to protest or just refuse to play. The way things are going the conflict could be in full swing again by the Nations League. Its a headache we could have done without which is a selfish comment in the grand scheme.
    FAI have already put a statement out saying they will host them.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/HA-dOFsX...jpg&name=large

It could prove an issue also what hotel will take their booking??

3,618 Posts
    I'm minded of the time that government refused to give the Yugoslavia travelling party visas in 1999. Possibly cost us a spot at the Euros because we ended up with a triple-header window as a result and lost in the last minute in Croatia.

So that's an option too, although I can't see the current government going for it, outspoken as they are about Israel

We're all far too obsessed with money these days

106 Posts
    I'm minded of the time that government refused to give the Yugoslavia travelling party visas in 1999. Possibly cost us a spot at the Euros because we ended up with a triple-header window as a result and lost in the last minute in Croatia.

So that's an option too, although I can't see the current government going for it, outspoken as they are about Israel

We're all far too obsessed with money these days
    It will still be the FAI that are punished if visas are refused. UEFA regs put the onus on the hosts to ensure visas.

3,618 Posts
    That was the case on 99 as well, but it still happened

106 Posts
    Behind closed doors game then?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast