Football is popular
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2025...-magic-moment/
Day 2 of watching that RTE Sport 4 minute tweet on loop at work is well underway. I watch it 5 times then switch to TO'D's interview with Parrott, then start again.
Isn't Troy Parrott just immenseley likeable? All these lads are really.
As many others have said, this was huge. Yeah, it's only a playoff secured but it's about moments and man this was one of the finest. A whole nation was energised by it and the BIG are front and centre of the public's affections again.
I don't post on Reddit very often, but when I do...
https://www.reddit.com/r/AccidentalR...e/s/GqyaQW3UyC
What was Collins thinking for their second goal by the way? Legitimate question. Like, there must be something in his brain, some footballing reason i'm unaware of, that said stepping off Varga was the right thing to do but I am not sure what that was. Molumby was tracking/jogging in that general direction, did he think that Molumby would get there and he could slip back and defend a pass or something? I couldn't believe what i was seeing in real time.
His attempt to win a free in the second half when they broke and Sallai stung the palms of Kelleher - he dithered going for the ball, got beat, got himself clipped and decided to take a dive and leave just Scales there to try and block Sallai...criminal.
Don't want to sh*t on anyone unnecessarily after that result but there are some major question marks around his decision making. Its not captain stuff. Not close.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
That's another spectacular image. Can you copy it in here? Doesn't seem to work with the reddit url and the (img) tags
Was he leaving it for O'Shea to close down? It looks like they both might have left Varge to each other.
Only thing I can think of anyway. Aside from "Ah sure he's never going to take it down on his chest, turn and volley into the very top corner from there; be grand lads"
Could well be a contender for one of the best goals ever scored against us.