Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Town 2026

Squad beginning to take shape now. Starting 11 today K Moore, MCCarthy, Errity, George, Murtagh, Irhue, Doran, O Brien, Ugbesia , Hough and S Moore, subs Jakas, McKenna, Mensah, Robinson, Manuel, O Brien and Educard.

44 Posts
    I wonder what that unusual tingling feeling might be..?
    It's hardly optimism..?

53 Posts
    11 lads announced now. And you'd like to think those in that squad who aren't announced are signed on too (the 2 Moores) being the highlight of that bunch. So there's a bit of shape there now. Picture is looking better than it did 2 days ago when all we knew was we had 6 lads signed.

I'd love if we can bring in a bit more experience, as it stands George and McKenna are looking like the oldest players. And of vourse, get young Manny back in

568 Posts
    When is the LSC cup games starting for us as I couldnt see anything on FAI app?

53 Posts
    When is the LSC cup games starting for us as I couldnt see anything on FAI app?
    Double check because they're definitely there, I can see them appearing when I click into the club alongside friendlies and first division.
    We played Drogheda yesterday, 1-1. Next game is Tuesday in Grangegorman

We were really quite good against a strong Drogheda side. I know you can't take a lot from the pre season matches but I thought we looked better than the two previous pre seasons. A lot more communication on the pitch than previous years. Particularly from Cian Moore.

The new young lads were very impressive. Very solid. Best way I can describe them is that they impressed as much as Alex O Brien in his debut last year.

Darragh Murtagh still with the biggest engine going 😀😂🤣

202 Posts
    Emre Topcu has signed for Iskenderunspor in the Turkish 3rd tier.

Looks like they're based near the Syrian boarder. An interesting move to say the least.

A player who I'd have liked to have kept as a squad player, but ultimately he was probably not good enough too. Good luck to the lad.

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    Emre Topcu has signed for Iskenderunspor in the Turkish 3rd tier.

Looks like they're based near the Syrian boarder. An interesting move to say the least.

A player who I'd have liked to have kept as a squad player, but ultimately he was probably not good enough too. Good luck to the lad.
    Jaysus, reminds me of Adeyamo heading to Iceland. Can't say either of those moves would have been on my bingo card.

Fair play to him anyway. Always liked him and was hoping we'd keep him. Good luck to him

Did you see Jordan Adeyamo has 19 goals in 23 games in Iceland?!!

202 Posts
    Couple more signings (it appears) with our lineup in tonight's LSC game.

Mark Canavan from Klub Kildare's under 20s.

Andy Paraschiv from Dundalk.

53 Posts
    Seems Cole has signed too as per Connect. Like by Bray, disliked by Athlone. Think I'm ok with signing him and giving him a chance with us

568 Posts
    Whos Cole MM?

891 Posts
    Surprised we signed Cole, he was only fit enough to take the kick off in the legends game. Then again, he probably still knows where the goals are. Daragh Murtagh will have stiff competition at least

53 Posts
    Whos Cole MM?
    Cole Omorehiomewan. Big tank of a centre half. He got playoffs with Bray but came bottom with Athlone last year so I guess we'll see. I'll take him, I'd rather try him at centre half than Yoro again

Couple of folks I didn't recognize in the friendly on Saturday. Good to see Fran around. Hopefully he can have a good season if he does rejoin:

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1DgHmNob57/

568 Posts
    I was looking at FAI app earlier in the LSC tie v St Pats Athletic it said Town had no subs who came on? Just wondering is that true and if not what subs came on in that game?

53 Posts
    I was looking at FAI app earlier in the LSC tie v St Pats Athletic it said Town had no subs who came on? Just wondering is that true and if not what subs came on in that game?
    I'd say subs were made and the Connect app just wasn't updated on our side. I was at the Montpellier game on tuesday and Connect wasn't updated with our subs or Murtagh's goal till well after the game.

Surprised Fran is getting a shout. I guess he's one of the trialists so. Pity for him it was against a Shamrock Rovers team with Byrne, Mulraney, Cleary etc. Be very hard to make an impression in a game like that when you lose 6-0. I'm starting to worry Manny isn't going to be back, been no mention of him anywhere yet

I'm certain Manny was at the Drogheda match but just wasn't togged out. I guess that doesn't mean anything though....

Just on Fran....if Darragh Murtagh gets an injury we're kind of goosed! We're bit thin on strikers compared to other years.

53 Posts
    All the more reason to need Manny, his goal record in the league last year was more impressive than Murtagh considering the fewer minutes he got.

I guess we've Robinson again this season since he has been playing, just not been announced. But I haven't been impressed with him since he joined and thought he was the weakest player on the pitch last Tuesday. He has some proving to do. There's goals in him tho as per his other first division spells, but think his attitude might he questionable

Quote Originally Posted by MoydowMonty View Post
    All the more reason to need Manny, his goal record in the league last year was more impressive than Murtagh considering the fewer minutes he got.

I guess we've Robinson again this season since he has been playing, just not been announced. But I haven't been impressed with him since he joined and thought he was the weakest player on the pitch last Tuesday. He has some proving to do. There's goals in him tho as per his other first division spells, but think his attitude might he questionable
    Going by one of Wayne's interviews last year, its a kind of strange situation as Manny wasn't able to commit to training with the team last year (but I suppose that was probably the case with Beineon O'Brien-Whitmarsh!!!). Serious talent though.

I don't like criticising players as the commit it takes etc.... but I've really felt that Robinson hasn't been interested since he joined last year. Obvious talent - but he seems as interested as James Doona was when he was with us....

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast