Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Portugal v Republic of Ireland - Saturday, 11 October 2025 - 2026 World Cup Qualifier

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    Robbery.

1,928 Posts
    That was a brilliant save from Kelleher.

2,836 Posts
    Unreal save. Justice done no? That looked like his chest on every angle I saw.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    There's no way that was a penalty!

3,566 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Robbery.
    I think Collins might have slapped the ball slightly before it hit his chest, but it still looked a very harsh penalty. Great save from Kelleher.

This is all set for a 92nd minute Ronaldo winner now...

622 Posts
    Well maybe not Ronaldo but…. What a kick in th teeth

3,566 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Yep. In fairness, deserve it. 30 shots to 1, and only that we were great defensively (and Portugal pedestrian in attack) they'd have made the the breakthrough earlier. But a 52nd minute winner doesn't hurt like a 91st minute one

And the other problem is this performance isn't really much help for Tuesday when we need to take the game to Armenia.

But lookout - HH has certainly redeemed himself somewhat, so let's take that

496 Posts
    A great effort. Hopefully beat Armenia and hope Hungary can't get anyhing from Portugal and maybe we can smash and grab in Budapest

622 Posts
    To be honest, with this squad, all I want is for us to be hard to beat.
    Good performance tonight. Solid and organised with a bit of passion.
    Well done lads. Hard luck.
    Put a bit of pride back in the jersey

2,836 Posts

But lookout - HH has certainly redeemed himself somewhat, so let's take that
    To be honest, with this squad, all I want is for us to be hard to beat.
    Good performance tonight. Solid and organised with a bit of passion.
    Well done lads. Hard luck.
    Put a bit of pride back in the jersey
    Couldn’t agree more on both these.

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    A great effort. Hopefully beat Armenia and hope Hungary can't get anyhing from Portugal and maybe we can smash and grab in Budapest
    Probably need to pick up a point at home to Portugal also. Hopefully they'll be safely through by then

1,928 Posts
    Shíte finish, i thought that was Kelleher's ball all day long, take man and ball if needs be. Counter attack plan was absent and hurt, apart from that it was an excellent defensive set up.

100 Posts
    Proud of them

321 Posts
    Some pride restored.

We were playing the number 5-ranked side in the world and were competitive and hard to put away. Realistically, this is all we can ever expect.

100 Posts
    Only criticism, HH shouldn't have changed the back 3 with 10 mins to go. Saying that..Egan made an interception a couple of mins before the goal that Ronaldo would have likely scored so fine margins whatever way you look at it

622 Posts
    I thought he should’ve replaced Ogbene sooner. He was dragging himself around the pitch for at least 15 mins before he was subbed

100 Posts
    I thought he should’ve replaced Ogbene sooner. He was dragging himself around the pitch for at least 15 mins before he was subbed
    Yeah he seemed to fade at the end of the first half as well. I think they all put in a decent shift. Thank feck we have Troy back for Tuesday

496 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    Probably need to pick up a point at home to Portugal also. Hopefully they'll be safely through by then
    It probably won't matter will it? If somehow we win against Armenia this week and Hungary lose against Portugal then we will have 4 points going into last game and Hungary will have 7. Even if we get a draw with Portugal we will still need to win in Hungary. It may actually cause a situation where we hold back some players for the Hungary game to be fresh and don't have them play Portugal. Hungary have Armenia away in that second last game

100 Posts
    After their game earlier I don't think it's beyond the realms of possibility that Armenia hold Hungary to a draw although that's bottom of the barrel stuff in fairness

688 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    It probably won't matter will it? If somehow we win against Armenia this week and Hungary lose against Portugal then we will have 4 points going into last game and Hungary will have 7. Even if we get a draw with Portugal we will still need to win in Hungary. It may actually cause a situation where we hold back some players for the Hungary game to be fresh and don't have them play Portugal. Hungary have Armenia away in that second last game
    Hopefully Portugal are already qualified and head out on the **** before the game in Dublin.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast