Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast

Thread: Armenia v Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 9 September 2025 - 2026 World Cup Qualifier

657 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    I can put that one to bed for you - it would have been a quarter final against Korea, and we'd have lost it. South Korea were getting everything that year and there was no way Ireland was going to be allowed to spoil the party.
    We're firmly in the zone of revisionism, but everyone seems to revise the result against Spain, without considering the two groups games we drew. Staunton doesn't play, we beat Cameroon - in my opinion that is clear as day. Staunton over Cunningham was a bad move. And yes I'm biased by his managerial efforts subsequently.

Then we move into a different progression path. But this is crazy 23 years on
    Last edited by Kingdom; 10/09/2025 at 1:22 PM.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

3,544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    The truth is, this result has been coming for a long time.

We had the poor Luxembourg result only a few years ago, Cyprus a bit longer ago and Macedonia a good while ago and some other poor ones along the way but we've been getting away with getting results from really poor teams for a long time.

Against Georgia we've had a dodgy penalty go our way, McGeady getting us out of jail, Gary Doherty getting a last minute jammy goal and Glenn Whelan scoring a jammy long ranger that the keeper made a mess of.
    Against Armenia we've had Keith Fahey getting us out of jail late on, Robbie Brady with a last minute penalty at home to get 3 points.
    Against Kazakhstan, Kevin Doyle scoring very late on to rescue 3 points.
    Stephen Ireland scoring last minute to rescue a win against San Marino.
    It really has. But I genuinely thought we'd hit the floor and were starting to climb again with the two wins against Finland and Bulgaria. Last night - and equally the first half against Hungary and, feck it, the friendly against Luxembourg - make me fear for how much further we have to fall yet.

302 Posts
    O'Neill, of course, is back with the north because he's a failed Championship manager.
    In the 7 years since Mark Hughes was sacked, Stoke have had 8 permanent managers, incl MO'N, plus 6 caretaker managers. Many of those managers are/were successful before and/or after their time at Stoke. Yet during that time, the club has finished 16th, 15th, 14th, 14th 16th, 17th and 18th, despite being bankrolled by the UK's richest woman (and family).

When Michael took over, their fans were resigned to getting relegated to Lge One, yet he managed to turn them round and escape the drop. Thereafter, he failed to take them to the next level, but considering the mediocrity associated with the club, there can be no real shame in that, for neither did anyone else.

Meanwhile, he was successful when managing in Scotland and at Shamrock Rovers, and has been outstanding in the NI job, where he will take up his 100th match in charge of the team next month.

Were I an ROI fan right now, I'd be delighted to have a "failure" like that take over.

1,128 Posts
    Absolutely. None of that makes him anything other than a failed Championship manager though. His Scottish "success" was with Brechin City and he managed one Championship team and they sacked him because he took them nowhere. He's a very good fit in terms of the north though, and likely would also be if he happened to manage the Ireland team, which I doubt he ever will. That said, the north just like ourselves haven't made a finals since Euro 2016 and most likely won't be at the next World Cup either.

391 Posts
    HH has 98 games as an international manager with a 40.8% win rate. O'Neill has 98 games as manager for NI and a 36.7% win rate.

503 Posts
    That was Hallgrimsson. And Collins was playing centre back and stepping out at times, he wasn't actually playing DM. And that probably contributed to Scales getting sent off and by extension us getting beaten 5-0 and the experiment being canned ever since.
    There's highlights of that game here. I was there so this is the first time i've watched them.

Collins was playing DM with Scales and Mark McGuinness at centre back. But it was a similar game to what I would expect to encounter in Lisbon as we were basically trying to hold out at the back and hoping for something from a set piece or a moment of divine intervention.

The Scales sending off had nothing to do with Collins. We were opened up at the start of the second half by a cracking ball from Harry Kane to Jude Bellingham which left Scales completely exposed and he gave away the penalty. But the reason he got sent off was because he had got involved in a ridiculous shoving match with Kane in the first half and the penalty was a second booking.

We had to come out after we went a goal down, and having to do that while a man short left holes all over the shop and they gave us a hockeying in the second half.

But we played very well in the first half of that game and Collins was doing a decent job considering he was up against Jude Bellingham.

It's absolutely worth giving it another go against Portugal imho.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 10/09/2025 at 2:29 PM. Reason: Embedded video
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

2,802 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    But we played very well in the first half of that game and Collins was doing a decent job considering he was up against Jude Bellingham.

Agreed. Worth pointing out that McGuinness had a very good game until it all fell apart.

302 Posts
    Absolutely. None of that makes him anything other than a failed Championship manager though. His Scottish "success" was with Brechin City and he managed one Championship team and they sacked him because he took them nowhere.
    Did he fail Stoke, or did they fail him? You know, just like they've failed every other manager since Pulis or Thordarson?

Fact is, when MO'N took over in Nov.2019, they had picked up 8 points in 15 games (= 0.53 points per game) and were seemingly doomed in (I think) 2nd bottom position. Yet he gained 48 points from the remaining 31 games (=1.55 ppg) to finish comfortably enough in 15th. Which repeated over a full season would have been good enough to have made the play-offs.
    The following season was disappointing no doubt, but in looking to revamp the whole set-up, not just build a First XI in a dash for promotion, he needed time for his methods to become embedded (plus it was a Covid season). Then when the following season didn't get off to a flyer, the owners panicked and sacked him (to appease the fans, essentially).

Nonetheless, his win rate of 38.46% over 143 league games was better than every one of the other 12 managers before or since.

He's a very good fit in terms of the north though, and likely would also be if he happened to manage the Ireland team, which I doubt he ever will.
    What, you only "doubt" it?

391 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backstothewall View Post
    We have a good template on how to play Portugal away. ;-) With a stronger squad at our disposal now. But would imagine HH will do something similar to England away - need to close shop, stop the leaky defence, and put points on the board.

302 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    HH has 98 games as an international manager with a 40.8% win rate. O'Neill has 98 games as manager for NI and a 36.7% win rate.
    Hmmm. The first third of those he was actually Assistant to Lars Lagerback, who did a fabulous job in charge, meaning HH took over the main job on the crest of (Lagerback's) wave. However when it came to it, though HH's win rate was high, he couldn't repeat LL's success of Euro2016 at WC2018, and resigned after the tournament.

Similarly his subsequent win rate for Jamaica looks on the face of it to be impressive, but I can't help wondering about the standard of opposition they tended to face, what with the Reggae Boyz being a bit of a powerhouse in the CONCACAF region. Either way, they flopped when he got them to the 2024 Copa America and he resigned again afterwards.

By contrast, on both occasions when Michael took over the NI job, not only was the team required to compete in by far the toughest Confederation, but the team was at a very low ebb indeed. Therefore it needed a complete rebuild which clearly required time, during which early results were inevitably poor. But as time has gone on (both spells), there have been clear and consistent signs of improvement when, rather than requiring his resignation, the IFA has been desperate to retain him.

None of which to say that HH is a bad, or "failed", manager when contrasted eg with Michael - far from it. But however you rate him, it seems increasingly likely that he's not suited to the ROI job and/or the task at this present time is too big for him, even were he to be otherwise suitable.

Either way, we won't be swapping him for Michael, that's for sure!

1,128 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Did he fail Stoke, or did they fail him? You know, just like they've failed every other manager since Pulis or Thordarson?

Fact is, when MO'N took over in Nov.2019, they had picked up 8 points in 15 games (= 0.53 points per game) and were seemingly doomed in (I think) 2nd bottom position. Yet he gained 48 points from the remaining 31 games (=1.55 ppg) to finish comfortably enough in 15th. Which repeated over a full season would have been good enough to have made the play-offs.
    The following season was disappointing no doubt, but in looking to revamp the whole set-up, not just build a First XI in a dash for promotion, he needed time for his methods to become embedded (plus it was a Covid season). Then when the following season didn't get off to a flyer, the owners panicked and sacked him (to appease the fans, essentially).

Nonetheless, his win rate of 38.46% over 143 league games was better than every one of the other 12 managers before or since.

What, you only "doubt" it?
    Yes, he failed and they sacked him. This isn't difficult.

And yes, not knowing the man at all I'm not going to speak on his behalf (nor should you), but as I said I doubt he will ever manage Ireland, as indeed is the case for most of the human population.

391 Posts
    You're welcome to him, EG. I wouldn't want O'Neill near us, no offence like. Different levels of expectations. HH's record stands up against O'Neill's and its not good enough. 4-0 Finland, 5-1 Sweden are results that wouldn't really fly with us, but acceptable as a work-in-progress for ye.

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Hmmm. The first third of those he was actually Assistant to Lars Lagerback, who did a fabulous job in charge, meaning HH took over the main job on the crest of (Lagerback's) wave. However when it came to it, though HH's win rate was high, he couldn't repeat LL's success of Euro2016 at WC2018, and resigned after the tournament.
    I bow to your superior knowledge of Iceland's national football team. I know who Lagerbäck's recommendation was to take over Sweden (before JDT was appointed). And hint - it wasn't Michael O'Neill.
    Last edited by ifk101; 10/09/2025 at 3:09 PM.

657 Posts
    I'm just going to say, that mentally (or perhaps from a self-mental-help perspective), in light of an absolutely disasterous opening weekend to the WC qualifiers, it is an absolute mind-**** for me to find myself nodding and agreeing in the main with EalingGreen & Eirambler across multiple posts and threads.

This could finish me off completely.

657 Posts
    I think one of the most concerning aspects of the past few days has been the complete positivity around the camp, the bullishness to the point of certainty and how that completely did not materialise.

302 Posts
    Yes, he failed and they sacked him. This isn't difficult.
    Aye, just like eg Alex Ferguson came within a Mark Robins FA Cup goal of being sacked by Man Utd after three years of "failure" at Old Trafford.

Anyhow, the failure at Stoke was down to the owners, not the managers (plural) that they continually appoint, then sack. If that's not to difficult to understand.

And yes, not knowing the man at all I'm not going to speak on his behalf (nor should you), but as I said I doubt he will ever manage Ireland, as indeed is the case for most of the human population.
    Having had the honour of meeting and speaking to the man on a couple of occasions, I feel I can say with confidence that wherever else Michael ends up, it won't be in the ROI job - he had a hard enough time working for one bunch of cowboys at the Britannia, to swap for a different set of cowboys at the FAI's Ranch! í ľí´ 

243 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    You're welcome to him, EG. I wouldn't want O'Neill near us, no offence like. Different levels of expectations. HH's record stands up against O'Neill's and its not good enough. 4-0 Finland, 5-1 Sweden are results that wouldn't really fly with us, but acceptable as a work-in-progress for ye.

I bow to your superior knowledge of Iceland's national football team. I know who Lagerbäck's recommendation was to take over Sweden (before JDT was appointed). And hint - it wasn't Michael O'Neill.
    Lads the general discussion today has gone from changing the manager to the trials and tribulations of Stoke City back to changing the manager. How about we forget about changing the person in charge of this bunch of misfits who have gotten every manager fired for the last several years, and focus on what is needed for the future?

391 Posts
    The manager is the issue Mark, that’s the way it works. He picks the team. He could have picked a totally different starting 11, and that selection of players would be better than that what’s available to Armenia. Jeez he could have even selected a team all from Cork, and that selection would be better than what’s available to Armenia.

636 Posts
    O'Neill, of course, is back with the north because he's a failed Championship manager. There are probably a dozen others like him who could be brought in, but I suspect a large element of our support would turn our noses up at a Mick McCarthy/Tony Pulis type of appointment, even now.
    Thing is Michael O'Neill does seem to have a talent for international management, all-be-it, the six county team was very patient with him. And nobody has done a whole lot with Stoke since the Tony Pulis days !

I mean, it is debatable if Michael O'Neill would ever have been interested in managing the the 26 County team, but was he ever asked ? !

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,040 Posts
    So we are back on the new manager carrousel again? Im not saying we shouldnt be, but its soul destroying to even think of it!

If we are hunting, for me Robbie Keane is the only choice
    Its really not that complicated!!!

606 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    Personally I'd rather have Mick back. It wouldn't be a progressive move, but it would hopefully enable us to put out a team with a plan and a shape that would mitigate against further shameful embarrassment. The most depressing thing is that no-one has any faith in the FAI's ability to recruit the right new manager or restructure the game in Ireland in a way that would radically improve our talent pool. They are a failed and irredeemably unsalvageable organisation. So here's a desperate option. The FAI should dissolve. They should finally admit that the schism with the IFA was a tragic mistake for which they are now heartily sorry. They should beg to be reconciled with the one legitimate and seemingly semi-competent football association on the island - throw in their lot and humbly ask FIFA if they would allow it to transfer the allegiance of all their players to the mother association. OK this is shocking and unconscionable, but I have now reached a point where playing all our games at Windsor Park and seeing our team standing respectfully while they play GSTK could hardly be any more shameful than this ongoing national humiliation.
    Ban him!

24. Thanks From:

Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast