Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Games weekend 25th july

41 Posts
    Agree smasherdrog the whole lack of security up there is farcical, but we never usually have any issues, both sets of fans get along well.
    We have to hold our hands up here too there’s a very small element of absolute knackers in our following, even if they hardly attend any games, they’ve latched on to the club and routinely cause bother.
    I know a few Wrexham lads who travel over to Bohs games , but they’re fans, there are also a few Welsh tramps who have teamed up with the scumbags.
    Depressing to see it, love a trip to Derry it’s a fine city and a stay over is always good craic there.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Another Bohemia View Post
    I'd take a 1-1 draw in Derry any day of the week. Even more so when you come from behind to get it.
    Draw was a fair result, though frustrating for us.
    Deservedly took the lead at just before half time, but looked a bit off it early in the second. Not the first time that's happened this season.
    Gavin Whyte was absent due to, allegedly, being suspended by the club. Might hear more on that later.

On the stuff outside the ground, I'd normally be quick to blame the club for their inaction, local youths for generally being unpleasant, or a section of our support for their indulgence in violence, but I don't think there's much I can blame any of them for about last night.

Bohs (and Wrexham/Celtic?) 'fans' marching around the city centre in balaclavas, then attacking people and cars with hammers and the like on the way to the ground. Of course there was a reaction when they went after the aforementioned local youths in the Bogside.
    Hopefully there's enough footage about for arrests to be made.

As an aside, for the club's part, they know who generally causes trouble. They know that these people often end up being the target for away fans, and love the attention they get for it.
    If they were banned from Brandywell, permanently, it would solve many issues.
    It wouldn't stop what happened last night, mind. It probably couldn't be stopped, being honest.

90 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_�ire View Post
    Draw was a fair result, though frustrating for us.
    Deservedly took the lead at just before half time, but looked a bit off it early in the second. Not the first time that's happened this season.
    Gavin Whyte was absent due to, allegedly, being suspended by the club. Might hear more on that later.

On the stuff outside the ground, I'd normally be quick to blame the club for their inaction, local youths for generally being unpleasant, or a section of our support for their indulgence in violence, but I don't think there's much I can blame any of them for about last night.

Bohs (and Wrexham/Celtic?) 'fans' marching around the city centre in balaclavas, then attacking people and cars with hammers and the like on the way to the ground. Of course there was a reaction when they went after the aforementioned local youths in the Bogside.

As an aside, for the club's part, they know who generally causes trouble. They know that these people often end up being the target for away fans, and love the attention they get for it.
    It wouldn't stop what happened last night, mind. It probably couldn't be stopped, being honest.
    After the trouble after the 2019 League Cup final v Dundalk. All the buses were in the car park for a long time as their was a good bunch of them ready to attack the buses. We must have been on and outside the bus for a good half hour before we got away

When we left was a few lads in their 40s/50s in front of the young fellas clearly telling them not to do anything as we went past. Assuming they were the local scum who use these young lads to attack the psni, start riots in the area etc

27 Posts
    Absolute clueless display from Treaty in the first half at Athlone who could have been 4 up let alone 2.Improvement in the second half to salvage a point but all round pretty dire stuff in a ground devoid of fans and atmosphere,

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_�ire View Post

I'm not going to defend the cave men masquerading as Bohs fans(whether they were from another club or not is irrelevant to me they went to a cause trouble at a Bohs match and weren't Derry fans). The response being understandable grates with me though. These scumbags didn't go to the match. I had heard they were causing trouble throughout the game so the likelyhood of them exiting the brandywell after the match is practically 0. So why is an understandable response to attack actual Bohs fans who ranged in age from children to pensioners as they exited the game? I understand anger but this was trying to extract vengeance on innocent parties and needs to be condemned and those involved need to be blamed i.e. identified and banned and where necessary prosecuted, that stands for both sides. I'd wager the Bohs cohort are already banned on our end but perhaps the government needs to look at something like the football banning orders in the UK to crack down on these thugs travelling on game days.

967 Posts
    What is oddly good about this incident is the reaction. Bohs and Derry fans completely condeming the behaviour without any 'but', no whataboutery. That hasnt always been the case with some defending things as a bit of craic, harmless fun, without these groups there'd be no atmosphere, others are worse etc etc. There hasnt been any piling on the outrage where there are pages and pages of virtual kicking going on. Maybe part of a growing confidence in the league but I havent felt that news outlets nearly injured themselves racing to report on crowd behaviour at LoI, its being reported as a matter of fact without a smugness. There's a maturity abut the reorting and responses. Now lets hope the clubs do the same when dealing with the culprits and preventing future incidents.

What is the reason for not having the PSNI police the Brandywell, its not the RUC, republicans sit on the policing board and back the service so it shouldnt be political as it was in the past - the purpose for a new police force needs endorsing by commnity groups like Derry City FC. Maybe it was fanancial too. Regardless, either set an example or sate that if problems continue then there will need to be a growing police presence which might disrupt a lot more people than idiots with fireworks. Did Institute ever have police present for games?

390 Posts
    No statement from the club is disappointing. Anyone involved last night in violent behaviour, should be routed out and banned from Dalymount. No place for scum like that at Bohs.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    What is the reason for not having the PSNI police the Brandywell, its not the RUC, republicans sit on the policing board and back the service so it shouldnt be political as it was in the past - the purpose for a new police force needs endorsing by commnity groups like Derry City FC. Maybe it was fanancial too. ..... Did Institute ever have police present for games?
    There are police at the Brandy, but not uniformed. There has certainly been a more noticeable presence outside the ground in recent years, and I've been people arrested before entry due to past behaviour this year, for example.
    The reason for no uniformed police is just historical. Wouldn't bother me to have them in, but there's still an ingrained, general distrust of police that will take a while to fade, regardless of what politicians do.
    I doubt finances come into it, but I do feel there's an inevitabiltiy about uniformed police eventually.

Institute don't have uniformed police at their games either, or not that I've seen. They wouldn't have always had them when they played in Riverside Stadium either though.

403 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dundalkfc10 View Post
    After the trouble after the 2019 League Cup final v Dundalk. All the buses were in the car park for a long time as their was a good bunch of them ready to attack the buses. We must have been on and outside the bus for a good half hour before we got away

When we left was a few lads in their 40s/50s in front of the young fellas clearly telling them not to do anything as we went past. Assuming they were the local scum who use these young lads to attack the psni, start riots in the area etc
    I remember this, we were up and 4 of us staying over, (Maldron -excellent spot) we walked past the bus area, and obv spoke to a few DFC fans, but we were heading back into the city (and to be absolutely clear, we had a brilliant day in the Bentley bar, food and drinks and Mary B bar pre game), but we could sense some tension, we were happy to be heading into the city. Great night mind.

For Anoraks out there, that was the last LC final played, so although Derry C have won so many, we have the last trophy played for in 2019. Some season that was, league winners, LC winners, lost on pens FAI Cup final, then battered Linfield 6-1 on agg, Unite Cup Final.

#Where did it all go wrong George?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

197 Posts
    I Remember not all that long ago that a dundalk supporters bus was attacked when supporters were in the brandy stadium and windows broken and was attacked again as it left the bogside.(when the bus left the area another bus had to be sent to replace)
    Derry issued some sort of ridiculous statement saying it wouldn't happen again and they were putting tougher professional stewarding in place and then there was another incident with shams fans about 6 months later!

Seems to me like DerryFC take this crap serious for a month or two then lay off the pipe
    Last edited by ToberonaTornado; 27/07/2025 at 4:12 AM.

197 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ger121 View Post
    No statement from the club is disappointing. Anyone involved last night in violent behaviour, should be routed out and banned from Dalymount. No place for scum like that at Bohs.
    And when they do they'll release it on 12 inch vinyl

867 Posts
    Stunned at the lack of a statement from either club or the FAI.

90 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    I remember this, we were up and 4 of us staying over, (Maldron -excellent spot) we walked past the bus area, and obv spoke to a few DFC fans, but we were heading back into the city (and to be absolutely clear, we had a brilliant day in the Bentley bar, food and drinks and Mary B bar pre game), but we could sense some tension, we were happy to be heading into the city. Great night mind.

For Anoraks out there, that was the last LC final played, so although Derry C have won so many, we have the last trophy played for in 2019. Some season that was, league winners, LC winners, lost on pens FAI Cup final, then battered Linfield 6-1 on agg, Unite Cup Final.

#Where did it all go wrong George?
    It was All Ireland Final replay day too if I remember correctly

We got the bus up early to watch the game and the locals in the bars on the bogside were all 100% and absolutely delighted they had the custom for the day

The issues that day started when our fans ran on pitch after the game and of course a few wee *****s went down to the Derry singing end giving it the hard man dance. This led to a group waiting to attack the buses
    Thankfully we got away

In saying that, of all the Euro trips, trips to cork, cup finals era that Derry away day is one of the best days I've had supporting Dundalk

P.S we need to bring back the League Cup

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123