Thread: Weekend games 16th to 19th May

694 Posts

Weekend games 16th to 19th May

Premier Division (All 19:45 unless stated)

Friday 16th

Bohemians v Shelbourne
    Galway v Sligo
    St Pats v Cork
    Waterford v Shamrock Rovers
    Drogheda v Derry

Monday 19th

Shelbourne v Drogheda
    Shamrock Rovers v St Pats (20:00)

First Division (19:45 unless stated)

Friday 16th

Treaty v UCD
    Kerry v Wexford
    Cobh v Dundalk
    Bray v Athlone

Saturday 17th

Longford v Finn Harps (19:30)

694 Posts
    Real chance for someone to steal a march that has two games this weekend hopefully Rovers
    Big game for Derry at Drogs as well as with the 4 European teams having two matches they could slip behind
    None of the 4 double week teams have a handy fixture on the friday with the theoretical exceptio of Pats v Cork and that plays into the team selections youd think...any news on Git?
    Big game in Div 1 as well a cobh win would throw the division open but i still reckon Dundalk have to much for this division...theyd want to wake up and push on though........bit like us

283 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sbgawa View Post
    Real chance for someone to steal a march that has two games this weekend hopefully Rovers
    Big game for Derry at Drogs as well as with the 4 European teams having two matches they could slip behind
    None of the 4 double week teams have a handy fixture on the friday with the theoretical exceptio of Pats v Cork and that plays into the team selections youd think...any news on Git?
    Big game in Div 1 as well a cobh win would throw the division open but i still reckon Dundalk have to much for this division...theyd want to wake up and push on though........bit like us
    He's out injured until after the mid season break now
    Paaatrick's Agletic

694 Posts
    Good news for us but im a huge admirer of him, heard him being interviewed a couple of times (in depth stuff not post match) think one was on LOI central and he came accross unbelievably well, such a sound lad, ive never been able to wish bad luck on him since.

No problem wishing it on Pats though

88 Posts
    Galway Sligo has 0-0 written all over it. A dull nil nil draw in brilliant Galway sunshine is as GLITW as it gets.

413 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    Galway Sligo has 0-0 written all over it. A dull nil nil draw in brilliant Galway sunshine is as GLITW as it gets.
    Be surprised if we manage to keep a clean sheet

185 Posts
    A league that's hard to predict scores/results at the moment.
    Rovers,Shels & Pats should win, draw in galway and think derry could beat drogs but drogs are tough at home.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Be surprised if we manage to keep a clean sheet
    And I’d be surprised if we kept one as well!! We have lost 3 league games in a row for the first time in 6 years, really need to be getting a result tonight

64 Posts
    With the 4 clubs in Europe this year having extra games this week, it could alter/distort the table and take away one of its main selling point away i.e. how close the table is, like 4 pts between top and eight place at present 1/3 into the season. This is not good, favoritism should not be encouraged, squads are big enough now to cope with extra games for these teams. Also if getting rid of a great competition like the league cup was done to "support of teams in Europe", I see no reason why this competition is not re-instated. There was a great occasion up in the North for their league cup final this year. We may wish "our teams in Europe" well, but for 16 clubs in the loI they are not our teams.

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wonder88 View Post
    With the 4 clubs in Europe this year having extra games this week, it could alter/distort the table and take away one of its main selling point away i.e. how close the table is, like 4 pts between top and eight place at present 1/3 into the season. This is not good, favoritism should not be encouraged, squads are big enough now to cope with extra games for these teams. Also if getting rid of a great competition like the league cup was done to "support of teams in Europe", I see no reason why this competition is not re-instated. There was a great occasion up in the North for their league cup final this year. We may wish "our teams in Europe" well, but for 16 clubs in the loI they are not our teams.
    Answers on a postcard what this diatribe actually means.....

228 Posts
    Kerry should be 4-0 up at half time. A harshly disallowed goal, a great chance missed and a missed penalty before finally taking the lead. One of the better halves if not the best by Kerry all season.
    Wexford will be looking to respond in the second half understandably and probably change their approach.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

78 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Answers on a postcard what this diatribe actually means.....
    Do you need a whole post card to say "old man yells at clouds" or will a post it note suffice?

955 Posts
    Its all got nervy in Cobh, shocker!

955 Posts
    2nd yellow/red for Shels, well Coote hopped and grabbed the foot like he'd been stomped on when there was minimal contact so on a scale of irritating player behaviour he feigned injury therefore dived and yellow warranted. Was it otherwise harsh cause there may have been some contact? No actually he was being an ass. Elsewhere well its definitely definitely Derry's season. Bottom 2 winning tonight maybe, league is still a bit all over the place. St Pat are the new Derry when Derry are same old Derry. Im afraid to check 1st Division scores!! For those at games, well Summer football arrives, evening sunburn and beers, i'll apprecite it properly when I can.

*St Pats may not be the ne Derry, sickener for Cork not to get a point. Cant see those above 8th dropping enough points so Cork v Cobh playoff.
    Last edited by Nesta99; 16/05/2025 at 9:05 PM.

228 Posts
    Kerry missed too many guilt edged chances. Should have been 5-0 up but drew 1-1.
    https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
    A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
    Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.

146 Posts
    city find new ways to lose every week. speechless there but always felt like it was coming once kenny brought on some wingers. we are in some mess. on pats - not too sure what they were at for 70 odd minutes. way too slow in build up , very easy to defend against. no matter how many times i watch him i just see absolutely nothing in mulraney. find it mental he played for a few seasons in MLS!

88 Posts
    The wheels have fallen off. Very poor. Hickey HAD to score that chance that rolled against the post, we didn't make many more clear cut chances besides that. Lots of sloppy passes. Sligo did their bit with lads going down left right and centre and the keeper taking a whole minute with every kickout. The referee was especially appalling though. Dyer and Hickey had Sligo players literally hanging off them all evening and hardly a free was given for the whole match. It wasn't the ref that lost it for us though. We're out of sorts in a big way.

955 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    The wheels have fallen off. Very poor. Hickey HAD to score that chance that rolled against the post, we didn't make many more clear cut chances besides that. Lots of sloppy passes. Sligo did their bit with lads going down left right and centre and the keeper taking a whole minute with every kickout. The referee was especially appalling though. Dyer and Hickey had Sligo players literally hanging off them all evening and hardly a free was given for the whole match. It wasn't the ref that lost it for us though. We're out of sorts in a big way.
    So basicly Sligo out Galwayed Galway.

245 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jd2793 View Post
    city find new ways to lose every week. speechless there but always felt like it was coming once kenny brought on some wingers. we are in some mess. on pats - not too sure what they were at for 70 odd minutes. way too slow in build up , very easy to defend against. no matter how many times i watch him i just see absolutely nothing in mulraney. find it mental he played for a few seasons in MLS!
    Ye got mugged tonight. Not sure how we managed to dig a win out, but it was a great feeling. Totally agree, our build up was far too ponderous for most of the game. Once Cork got the peno I honestly didn’t see a way back for us. The relief at the end was immense. Simon Power was very good when he came on I thought, and has probably played himself into a starting place. We really miss Chris Forrestor. No control in midfield without him. Cian Leavy going off injured didn’t help either, just when he was starting to get into the game. Not optimistic about Monday in Tallaght.

On Mulraney, he showed last season that he is capable, but this year he is back to his pre-Kenny form. Having said that I thought he started ok this evening, before tailing off.
    Last edited by TonyD; 16/05/2025 at 9:48 PM.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

88 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    So basicly Sligo out Galwayed Galway.
    They literally did. To their credit they could and probably should have scored 2 or 3.
    Last edited by CorribsideSteve; 16/05/2025 at 10:01 PM.