Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Senegal - Friday, 6th June 2025 - Friendly

662 Posts
    Did anyone else notice that HH kept referring to it being a 25 man squad and how those extra players were to ensure that any injuries etc we’d be covered with 2 extra players. Except it’s a 24 man squad. And he mentioned that all of Parrott, Szmodics and Festy were currently injured and Seamus, Evan and Smallbone were lacking game time.

“3 weeks is a long time and we opted to go for 25 players and select 25 players for this camp because we know some things will <corrects himself> might happen in 3 weeks”

He <Szmodics> is starting to train, we are hoping he will be ok in June but it is unlikely - that’s one of the reasons we have 25 players”

Now Seamus has picked up an ankle injury, John Joe Patrick Finn has a match 24 hours before our game against Senegal and assuming he’s correct in saying Szmodics is unlikely - we’re now down to a 21 man squad already with 2 injury doubts and 2 lads lacking match fitness

3,487 Posts
    Finn's last club game is eight days before Senegal, no?

Cannon, McGrath and MacNulty seem the obvious - possibly only? - additions if we're still ignoring Championship players outside the playoffs, and if we assume we don't want to go third tier.

25 Posts
    Mark Sykes and Alan Browne were/are involved in the championship playoffs too.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    978 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ~YTM~ View Post
    Mark Sykes and Alan Browne were/are involved in the championship playoffs too.
    Sykes is banjaxed isn't he ?

Conor Coventry in a L1 final for a place in the Championship on Sunday with Charlton but so is Josh Keely so CC just didn't make the cut I guess.

3,487 Posts
    Yeah, Sykes is injured alright.

662 Posts
    Finn's last club game is eight days before Senegal, no?
    Yep. Sorry I read from someone somewhere (here, Twitter, the other place?) that it would “surely rule him out of at least the first game” or something to that effect and then checked the day of the game, saw it was Thursday and assumed it was 24 hours before rather than 8 days before

662 Posts
    Cannon, McGrath and MacNulty seem the obvious - possibly only? - additions if we're still ignoring Championship players outside the playoffs, and if we assume we don't want to go third tier.
    Kinda depends the position. I’d call up McGrath as first port of call considering the initial squad had 10 defenders and just 5 midfielders. There’s few options if you’re avoiding L1 and Championship non-play off players like you said.

McGrath
    Garcia McNulty
    Cannon
    -
    Browne
    Cashin
    Gallagher
    Ronan
    -
    LOI Players

3,487 Posts
    Finn started the playoff first leg last night but came off at halftime. Don't know if it was tactical or injury-related. Neither massively encouraging I guess

1,075 Posts
    Tactical I believe. Genuinely I'd have Conor Coventry in the squad before him right now based on what I've seen of both of them. Finn probably has more development in him given his age, but I'd say Coventry is better right now.

I think Hallgrimsson is playing to the gallery a bit in picking Finn, but I understand why he has done it. The longer he's left unpicked the more of a "thing" it becomes, with people building him up further into something he isn't. There seems to be a view that he "couldn't be worse than what we have", but that's doing our current midfielders a disservice.

386 Posts
    Agree with you Eirambler. There must be something about him if Reims are picking him. But looks too raw for senior international imo. Beaten on the cross that led to the Metz's goal. Has a 20cm+ height advantage on the attacker (Cheikh Sabaly) that beat him on the cross.

1,075 Posts
    Here's a link to the match highlights - obviously only the first half is of relevance from an Irish point of view.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OzELAPEoDnI
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 22/05/2025 at 11:41 AM.

111 Posts
    Yes HH prob playing to the gallery / smart (depending on your view) with this selection. Just what we need, a lad who gets beaten for headers in the box by someone a foot shorter than him. Good stuff.

2,796 Posts
    Young player with great potential makes mistake shocker

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Young player with great potential makes mistake shocker
    Just looking for him to jump up and head the ball away. Its a relagation play off, kinda important.

2,796 Posts
    Yep, as you say, just what we need (for a friendly against Senegal)

111 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Yep, as you say, just what we need (for a friendly against Senegal)
    The basics would be nice all right yes.

1,075 Posts
    It was a poor piece of play to be fair, he completely failed to impose his size advantage on the attacker. For me he always looks a bit passive when I've seen him play, and kind of like he doesn't really belong at the level he has been thrown in at. My suspicion is that he'll be given a cap in June and assessed by Hallgrimsson, and will then be nowhere to be seen when the big games come around in the autumn.

662 Posts
    i actually don't think it's anywhere near as bad as people are suggesting. attacking player is running onto it, has momentum, Finn is initially moving backwards, opens his body up to head it away from goal and leaves a path for the attacker to go straight through. He reaches the right height which is why he doesn't jump. It's a pretty common criticism of zonal marking is that the player underneath the ball is always vulnerable to an oncoming attacker with the advantage of a run.

3,487 Posts
    I think "player beaten to header for goal" is a relatively light stick in fairness; there'd be no goals if no-one was beaten at some stage.

The fact Finn is in and out of a relegation-threatened French side is probably more useful info. Yet to be honest, do we have many better options if we're leaving out playoff players?

In other squad news, Troy Parrott is on the bench for Alkmaar this evening. First time in the squad in seven weeks

386 Posts
    In and out of the team yet he has played a lot of minutes for Reims, if you consider where he was prior to joining them. Before the move, the bulk of his playing minutes are with Getafe’s second team – who play in the fourth tier of Spanish football. Spanish football is regionalised from the third tier down with 90 clubs competing in the fourth tier. Difficult to put this in the context of the English football system, but guessing the level of football of Getafe’s second team is comparable at best to a team competing in the 6/7 tier of English football. That’s quite a jump to move from that level to a Ligue 1 team and a senior international call-up.

Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    He reaches the right height which is why he doesn't jump. It's a pretty common criticism of zonal marking is that the player underneath the ball is always vulnerable to an oncoming attacker with the advantage of a run.
    He does get off the ground and the attacker connects with the ball to his side rather than above him. For me, he simply does not read the flight of the ball. Get that right, and his physicality and height advantage wins the ball. There is plenty of criticism of players, especially younger players on the forum, and don't really want to add to the negativity but .... there’s just too much rawness in him for my liking and it’s not just this passage of play that concerns me from the bits I’ve seen him play.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast