Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Games weekend 2nd to 5th May

385 Posts
    Thought we deserved that based on the 2nd half. Bucko was great when he came on. Bohs, great for the late winners but bad for the BP.

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dermobohs View Post
    97 today, the late late show rolls on. Thinking of running a pontoon on bohs latest winner this season!
    Overall I genuinely think Bohs deserved the win, they played the better football in the second half and showed the most aggression and desire to win. Galway played the entire second half hanging on. Over all Bohs were the better team and deserved their win. You can't leave it late in every game lads, I know it's exciting but it's not good for the auld nerves. At half time Galway were top of the league and at full time they are sixth and Bohs are fourth. While it's not good for the auld nerves it's great to see a team that fights to the very end. Can't fault that in any way.

958 Posts
    It could be great craic looking back at Bohs fans early season freakout come November. Bottom 2 well its panning out like last season. The only things is that last season Drogheda in a play-off position were in championship form heading in to the final round and were never going to be troubled by a promotion candidate - Drogs form from late last summer to now combined i'm sure is interesting reading. Can Cork put form together to make a playoff a formalty, Sligo would probably be more likely to his a run of form and pull in to 9th but ugh no fun in that rut.

228 Posts
    Virgin Media Player doesn't seem to want to play the Derry game...
    End Apartheid Now! One Team in Ireland!

429 Posts
    Real struggle for either team to make a chance in the Derry game,cancelling each other out….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

79 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Virgin Media Player doesn't seem to want to play the Derry game...
    Working fine for me on my phone?

146 Posts
    that astro in derry is a sorry sight.

429 Posts
    Derry score right at the start of the second half and should do the game good..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    It could be great craic looking back at Bohs fans early season freakout come November.
    Fair. I haven't been one of the Rennie out crowd, but I started to have a foot in that camp when we were so poor in that 1 nil win v cork. We were just so stodgy I started to entertain the idea that a different manager might get a tune out of these players.
    It wasn't just a Reynolds thing though, it was more the pain of the slide after those European matches in the Aviva (and those two finals that I've wiped from my memory).

185 Posts
    Good win for Rovers against sligo.
    Shels lose 2 in a row. Great to see
    Derry fans attacking windy o'connor from pats.. the lack of proper security has been an issue in the brandywell for donkeys years.
    bohs are the kings of the comeback but they're fans can't decide if they want rennie or not.. glitw for sure

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joey B View Post
    Derry score right at the start of the second half and should do the game good..
    Pats never looked like scoring once Derry took the lead, passing not good enough. In fact Derry could have had a second on the break. Poor enough all around really. Need to do better v a Shels on Friday.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

129 Posts
    There's a vocal number of Pat's fans that act as though it's ridiculous that Hoare has often played ahead of Grisvosti, but nights like tonight won't help their cause. It was an otherwise tight game that looked like it'd be decides by a mistake and Grivosti duly obliged.

We looked even less likely to do anything afterwards than we already had, Keena having some flashes aside, though that's not exactly surprising with how we've been playing away from home. It's Jekyll & Hyde stuff in that sense that we could really do with sorting out.

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    There's a vocal number of Pat's fans that act as though it's ridiculous that Hoare has often played ahead of Grisvosti, but nights like tonight won't help their cause. It was an otherwise tight game that looked like it'd be decides by a mistake and Grivosti duly obliged.

We looked even less likely to do anything afterwards than we already had, Keena having some flashes aside, though that's not exactly surprising with how we've been playing away from home. It's Jekyll & Hyde stuff in that sense that we could really do with sorting out.
    We could actually rename the league the Jekyll and Hyde GLITW Premier Division currently. All over the place and where few managers or fans are particularly bothered by coughing up 2 or 3 points as the others will probably do it next week.

129 Posts
    We could actually rename the league the Jekyll and Hyde GLITW Premier Division currently. All over the place and where few managers or fans are particularly bothered by coughing up 2 or 3 points as the others will probably do it next week.
    Very fair! I just meant in our case it really seems to be as black and white as home vs away form, which (without checking) doesn't seem to be the case to the same degree for any other side.

It is a ridiculous season all the same. Find I'm struggling to enjoy it too much yet with such a lack of structure. As you say it's almost as if individual results don't have enough consequence to them yet.

88 Posts
    3 defeats in 5 now, all of a sudden, and 4 points off the top, in 6th. GLITW stuff indeed.

246 Posts
    There's a vocal number of Pat's fans that act as though it's ridiculous that Hoare has often played ahead of Grisvosti, but nights like tonight won't help their cause. It was an otherwise tight game that looked like it'd be decides by a mistake and Grivosti duly obliged..
    I’ll admit to being one of those who would prefer Grivosti, as I felt that Hoare always has a potential mistake in him. You’re right though, Grivosti did himself no favours tonight. Thank God for Joe Redmond, who was excellent again tonight in my view.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CorribsideSteve View Post
    3 defeats in 5 now, all of a sudden, and 4 points off the top, in 6th. GLITW stuff indeed.
    Very fair! I just meant in our case it really seems to be as black and white as home vs away form, which (without checking) doesn't seem to be the case to the same degree for any other side.

It is a ridiculous season all the same. Find I'm struggling to enjoy it too much yet with such a lack of structure. As you say it's almost as if individual results don't have enough consequence to them yet.
    The one side that really needs to keep their home form is Galway, yeah its important for all, but its Galway's keep in the mix key card. Like a broken record, I dont think Caulfield targets away games as hard as he should, playing the odds of picking up away point and capitalising at home with barnstorming wins. But its runs like this, in a normal leagues eason never mind this one, that that thinking bites back. If I didnt think Galway couldnt go hard at sides away and that they had to rely on home crowd backed results than fair enough but when having to chase they nearly get back in a match and you wonder why not set up like that from the get go.

In general, individual results will start to matter of course, when dropped points mount in to later season but so far its all a phoney war. You could save a fortune by having a lean squad and then spend in July and still be potential champions. The biggest culprits for wasting this....indifference to conisistency is Rovers and then Pats. At this stage Im hoping the whole season is like this and no 5 game streak in October wins the league - let it be a last day 6 different table toppers over 90 minutes end and a stinker of a ref decisions decides the title cause no one else is deserving it yet (bar Drogheda but they'd just ruin the fun).

I know we are not yet half way but Cork 2017 would nearly be out of sight (without actually looking it up). I dont think that what we have is a very competetive league season, rooted in squads equal in quality. For different reasons its just mediocrity by some, sloppiness, overperformances, and some (re)building like Derry and Pats but even then at a cost that you expect things to settle quickly and start throttling sides. I'll be shouting for 4 point wins or additional ponts for away results if this couple of points between a league title or relegation persists, last season too!!!
    Last edited by Nesta99; 06/05/2025 at 12:19 AM.

79 Posts
    It could be great craic looking back at Bohs fans early season freakout come November.
    I was certainly in the Reynolds out camp but not as passionately as some fans. I think it was hard not to be as he hadn't given us anything to show progress was being made. If I'm being honest even now the defence is very ropey. We give away far too many good chances in a game from mistakes. Some of that is personnel (midfielders playing both fullback roles, I think we're also playing a different system than was planned at the start of the season) but some of it is just basic passing/positional mistakes. However the team are 100% behind Reynolds and now because we are seeing the effort on the pitch for the full 90+ minutes the fans are 100% behind the players. It's amazing what a bit of graft and some 90th minute winners can do

On the game Vs Galway. Bohs were the better team overall. Thought we were poor the first half but much improved the 2nd half. Quite how we weren't leading until the 97th minute I'll never know as Clarke had a couple of very good opportunities (I think Whelan in those positions scores). I thought Galway giving up the goals was very surprising and not like a Caulfield team at all. It doesn't look like any team has a rock solid defence this year so it'll be interesting to see how the final table shapes up.

88 Posts
    The one side that really needs to keep their home form is Galway, yeah its important for all, but its Galway's keep in the mix key card. Like a broken record, I dont think Caulfield targets away games as hard as he should, playing the odds of picking up away point and capitalising at home with barnstorming wins. But its runs like this, in a normal leagues eason never mind this one, that that thinking bites back. If I didnt think Galway couldnt go hard at sides away and that they had to rely on home crowd backed results than fair enough but when having to chase they nearly get back in a match and you wonder why not set up like that from the get go.
    Good points. He doesn't have the nickname 'Long Ball-field' for nothing. Unfortunately for us, we've only had managers in recent times that had us scraping for our lives right to the last day (Jeff Kenna, Sean O'Connor etc). Tommy Dunne was shoved off way too soon IMO, and then we spent years in the first Division after that. So this current era is kind of unprecedented, despite it generally containing the most distilled form of Trapattoni-ball one can possibly imagine. So it'd make sense to see if we can finish mid table again this season with him at the helm from that standpoint. The frustrations of the style of play will remain, and we'l be dogged and stalwart and hard to play against, but that style eventually becomes a law of diminishing returns over time too.

The Derry vs Pats game was very chess match orientated last night. Two teams for large parts cancelled each other out.

For all the possession that Pats had they didn't really cause too much of a threat. The two goals they did score where probably marginally offside from looking along the line albeit one was very tight.

We this year have been offering something different for a change and have gone away from that possession based game where keeping the ball for the sake of it was our downfall last year. There seems to be a bit more substance to our game nowadays. Keep the ball, knock it long and in behind when needed and press hard when off the ball.

All the chat is about Grivosti making the mistake but I think praise needs to be given to Paul McMullen who chased really well to cause the mistake. Decent pass from O'Reilly (Better than Baggely ) and a good finish from Danny Mullan to round Anang and slot home.

Other than that we probably should have got a second and thankfully when called upon Maher was alert to get across to a deflected Keena shot.

6 points from 6. Looking forward to blowing it now in Cork on Friday

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast