Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: Games weekend Friday 18th to Tuesday 22nd

129 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    What absolute waffle. While people might rightfully say our ground is a kip, our pitch regularly gets plaudits across the league. There’s a 5 minute interview with Kenny on loi tv after the match and he didn’t mention the pitch once.
    Well blame your commentator then hahaha, I'm only relaying what he said had been a complaint.

Quote Originally Posted by desaintsno.12 View Post
    The ball was bobbling a lot. It may well be a good pitch, but it wasnt good yesterday. Not sour grapes here, Drogheda were better in every aspect and we were lucky to get a point.

Sounds like sour grapes to me. Tbf to Kenny afterwards, he didn’t mention the pitch being below par at all.

Pats overall play was very poor.

Maybe if your lads kicked the ball properly, it mightn’t have bobbled

Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    Well blame your commentator then hahaha, I'm only relaying what he said had been a complaint.
    To say the playing surface was an issue is absolute waffle, whoever said it.

302 minutes and one goal.

A similar record to last season (2094 minutes/7 goals) when he was starting more.

I'm not sure it'd make a massive difference
    That's fair Stu, the stats don't lie. The only mitigating factor to the stats I suppose is that the 7 goals came in the top flight, and there is a huge gulf in the quality of defender you are up against in First Division. I think most of his limited mins last season came off the bench. Now he hasn't exactly set the goalscoring world alight at Bray either, so I'm talking myself out of my original point :-)

283 Posts
    In a weekend that threatened the possibility of one team pushing out in front with a decent lead of their own, all that’s happened in reality is we have even more sides even closer to the top now! Drogs, Pats, Shels all only picking up 2 points out of 6, Rovers and Galway picking up 1 from 6, while Derry and dare I say Bohs have entered that wider group of teams in and around the European picture with their 6 point weekends. Derry now only 3 points off top after their sluggish start points to the lack of consistency across every club in the league. If anyone had that they’d be a decent gap ahead of the rest even at this point
    Paaatrick's Agletic

30 Posts
    Derry 3-0 Sligo
    Sligo Supporters Trust already thinking who's fault it is this week

3,475 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Bowler View Post
    That's fair Stu, the stats don't lie. The only mitigating factor to the stats I suppose is that the 7 goals came in the top flight, and there is a huge gulf in the quality of defender you are up against in First Division. I think most of his limited mins last season came off the bench. Now he hasn't exactly set the goalscoring world alight at Bray either, so I'm talking myself out of my original point :-)
    That's Mikey Raggett, not Danú

Danú did drop off last season after a half-decent run in the Premier the year before. But I think Monday was his first Bray goal? So there may have been a good reason others were fancied ahead of him alright

413 Posts
    Mullen caught the ball for the first goal so that’s an easy one. Second and third goals were awful ones to concede from our point of view. Derry looked a lot better then a few weeks ago.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Mullen caught the ball for the first goal so that’s an easy one.
    I did think about that watching the goals back, no complaints with 2nd and 3rd though.

Hopefully start putting a run together now.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCSIL View Post
    I did think about that watching the goals back, no complaints with 2nd and 3rd though.

Hopefully start putting a run together now.
    Did wonder why the Sligo lads were giving off for the first. Maybe the arm was in a 'natural position', but couldn't have complained if it was given as a free out. Did think the referee, Marc Lynch, had a decent game. Even gave a foul throw against Ronan Boyce. Correct decision, but you just never see them.
    The first goal probably didn't influence the overall result, mind. We were good, and Sligo were poor. I can see how they have the potential to create chances, but the end product was poor.
    Our second by Whyte was just lovely. The pace on him, and the balls to go and beat Doyle-Hayes was brilliant. Our most entertaining goal this season. We questioned it in real-time, should Doyle-Hayes have brought him down and taken the red?
    Third goal killed it, and game pettered out. No issues with that, we've Waterford away in 70 hours time.

Six goals in two games for us now. Scoring from play too. Encouraging stuff, even if we remain so ropey at the back. I think we need to sign two more centre halves.

Fair play to the Sligo fans. Best away crowd of the season so far. Yes, it's the closest, but a Tuesday night match isn't the handiest.

78 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Did wonder why the Sligo lads were giving off for the first. Maybe the arm was in a 'natural position', but couldn't have complained if it was given as a free out. Did think the referee, Marc Lynch, had a decent game. Even gave a foul throw against Ronan Boyce. Correct decision, but you just never see them.
    The first goal probably didn't influence the overall result, mind.
    Pretty sure the first goal of a match is hugely influential on deciding a result. It seems 70 % of the time the team that scored first in the premier league went on to win the game according to this.

https://help.smarkets.com/hc/en-gb/a...al-in-football

Now different levels of football would probably bring a bit of variance into this but I'd still be comfortable enough saying the first goal would have a massive impact on a game regardless of if you won 1-0 or 3-0. Anecdotally every fan has been at a game where their team just can't score in spite of having a multitude of chances, in some cases even open goals!

413 Posts
    The first goal probably didn't influence the overall result, mind. We were good, and Sligo were poor. I can see how they have the potential to create chances, but the end product was poor.
    Our second by Whyte was just lovely. The pace on him, and the balls to go and beat Doyle-Hayes was brilliant. Our most entertaining goal this season. We questioned it in real-time, should Doyle-Hayes have brought him down and taken the red?
    Third goal killed it, and game pettered out. No issues with that, we've Waterford away in 70 hours time.

Six goals in two games for us now. Scoring from play too. Encouraging stuff, even if we remain so ropey at the back. I think we need to sign two more centre halves.

Fair play to the Sligo fans. Best away crowd of the season so far. Yes, it's the closest, but a Tuesday night match isn't the handiest.
    Don’t think he should have taken him down tbh. Already a goal behind and certainly would have been game over if we had gone down to 10 and then he’d be missing the Cork game as well.

955 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DCSIL View Post
    Derry 3-0 Sligo
    Sligo Supporters Trust already thinking who's fault it is this week
    Well they cant blame tradition...but Derry wohooo they're going to win the league!!

Read somewhere that a couple of dirtbags were arrested last week and charged in Derry for causing a broken arm and neck injuries to visiting fans so good job by the PSNI, not sure which away fan incident not that it matters.

281 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Read somewhere that a couple of dirtbags were arrested last week and charged in Derry for causing a broken arm and neck injuries to visiting fans so good job by the PSNI, not sure which away fan incident not that it matters.
    (From 19 April)
    "Police in Derry, investigating a serious assault reported to have occurred in the city during a football match at the weekend, have charged two men.
    Two males, aged 16 and 18 years old, have been charged with various offences including disorderly behaviour, grievous bodily harm and attempted criminal damage."

https://www.derrynow.com/news/local-...all-match.html

Also this:
    Two males were arrested in the city earlier today, (Thursday, April 17) both on suspicion of offences, including grievous bodily harm, and both remain in custody at this time.
    Sergeant Walsh from the City Centre Neighbourhood Policing Team said: "This was a serious assault on a man that took place adjacent to turnstile I/J at The Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium just before 9.20pm.
    "The victim sustained a number of injuries including a broken arm and neck injuries.

https://www.derrynow.com/news/local-...l-stadium.html

GBH can sometimes carry a hefty prison sentence.
    Last edited by EalingGreen; 23/04/2025 at 9:53 AM.

283 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    (From 19 April)
    "Police in Derry, investigating a serious assault reported to have occurred in the city during a football match at the weekend, have charged two men.
    Two males, aged 16 and 18 years old, have been charged with various offences including disorderly behaviour, grievous bodily harm and attempted criminal damage."

https://www.derrynow.com/news/local-...all-match.html

Also this:
    Two males were arrested in the city earlier today, (Thursday, April 17) both on suspicion of offences, including grievous bodily harm, and both remain in custody at this time.
    Sergeant Walsh from the City Centre Neighbourhood Policing Team said: "This was a serious assault on a man that took place adjacent to turnstile I/J at The Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium just before 9.20pm.
    "The victim sustained a number of injuries including a broken arm and neck injuries.

https://www.derrynow.com/news/local-...l-stadium.html

GBH can sometimes carry a hefty prison sentence.
    I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve said on here that something like that was waiting to happen unless the people in charge of Derry City FC decide to actually make a proper attempt to stamp it out. The likelihood is that they’ll continue as is, as they have done after countless attacks on away fans in recent years, so it probably won’t be the last incident like this either. Hope the victim that was attacked is ok
    Paaatrick's Agletic

246 Posts
    I'm normally the first to criticise the club over their lack of action on stuff going on at the Brandy, and for a certain section of our support for their violence in the past, but in this case, on hearing the sequence of events, I've no issue with the handling of things.

The event in question happened outside the ground during the match. It didn't involve an away fan, as far as I know, either.
    Suppose we can't say much else at this stage, but I'd be interested to see how it plays out.

281 Posts
    I'm normally the first to criticise the club over their lack of action on stuff going on at the Brandy, and for a certain section of our support for their violence in the past, but in this case, on hearing the sequence of events, I've no issue with the handling of things.
    Fair enough, but here's an incident from last July, only come to Court and being reported now:

Derry City FC ban man from three matches following headbutting incident

Derry Magistrates' Court heard today that a man who headbutted another man in the Brandywell Stadium had been banned for three matches by Derry City football club.

Daniel McClintock (28), of Benvarden Avenue in Derry, admitted two charges of disorderly behaviour, one of them inside the Brandywell and one outside on July 18 last year.

The court heard that police on patrol saw a man being ejected from the football stadium by stewards and they said he had headbutted another man inside.

McClintock was told to leave the area but as he was going he started singing 'oh ah up the RA' in front of some tourists.

A short time later the defendant was observed outside the Brandywell and gave police the middle finger as they passed.

When police approached him he made 'offensive comments ' and called police 'black b******s'.

CCTV from inside the ground showed McClintock headbutting another man but the victim could not be identified.

(More here: https://www.derrynow.com/news/home/1...-incident.html

Three game ban? I'd have thought three years might have been more appropriate, if the club is to disassociate itself properly from tramps like that.

955 Posts
    Life time ban!!! Though sounds like this person is known and a 'character' 'round a club. Banjaxed drunk by the sound also. As for justifications made further above, I dont think there are any regardless of what the backstory is. Let police and club officials deal with whatever and if things are taken in to ones own hands and a crime is committed then you face the law also - a choice has been made and suffer the consequences. Im saying that knowing that there are people that deserve an arm or 2 broken.

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456