Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Thread: Games weekend Friday 18th to Tuesday 22nd

146 Posts
    shocking stuff from rovers. gotta laugh at reynolds though, hes like a cat with 9 lives.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    I'll take a draw! Rovers have been dreadful for a large chunk of the second half. Just leaving a couple of players stranded up top and failing to move up the pitch at all.
    Even better, a Bohs win What a turnaround. Must admit I didn’t see a way back for Bohs. Sickening for Rovers
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Even better, a Bohs win What a turnaround. Must admit I didn’t see a way back for Bohs. Sickening for Rovers
    Brilliant by Bohs, Buckley, Brennan and Whelan made a huge difference, Buckley giving the orders to others and hitting Rovers players as hard as they hit us. Whelan holding the ball then running with it, Rovers didn't know what to do with him and Brennan was so direct in everything he did he was a relavation. Happy Easter Bohs fans
    I'd like to see the Virgin Media top half bottom half vote now!

112 Posts
    Dreadful second half from us allied to almost bizarre substitutions ( taking off both Byrne & Watts) we got what we deserved.

On the Virgin media coverage Byrne suggested that the fault was with the Rovers players rather than tactics. Not of that mind myself- seemed like Bradley's changes led to Rovers losing any shape.
    They also weren't all over us in the first half, I think those two goals flattered them.

Shout out for Colly Whelan, assist for Tierney and Brennan's goal. Would love to see Clarke (who did well) and himself on the pitch together more.

39 Posts
    Ah the resurrection!
    Get that right up you, lovely to watch all the rats running home at the whistle.
    Unfortunately you’ve kept Rennie in the hot seat but never mind, maybe it’s the upturn we need lol.

386 Posts
    What a comeback. Did not see that happening at all. Back to back wins and suddenly all is well in the world.

958 Posts
    A derby win is always great but it can be such a short term cover of failings. It may well be a turning point for Bohs but tbh it is more likely to be the inconsistent way that Rovers can be in the league - great one game and sloppy next. This game could have been a statement by Rovers but it was fluffed badly. I dont think it will make a huge difference to the endgame in November and the months inbetween but it certainly is one to remember for Bohs and it is reminiscent of the amusing Dublin Derby hoodoo days when an underpar Bohs can get at Rovers. If every league wa like LoI it would be a true bookies dream.

Waterford and Cork this is a must not lose kind of game. Waterford need to stop the rot. St Pats need to make a statement win in a difficult fixture as do Shels at home in the remaining half hour or so. Dundalk's good start slowly being eroded as feared with a big game against flying Brayall things staying as they are. Maybe some needed a reality check from early complacency when it was looking like we were cutting lose.

79 Posts
    I'm as critical of Reynolds as the next Bohs fan but that is now two wins in a row. If he was a manager in good standing they would be seen as hard fought wins and there would be a positive view of things to come. I think if he gets a good result on Friday he may have earned a stay of execution until at least the end of this series of games.

On the match today. Honohan was Rovers best player by a mile. How he's not being linked to the UK I'll never know(Maybe he is and I'm not seeing it). He has all the traits to make it there so it seems inevitable. On Bohs I thought they played pretty well until Rovers first goal and then they lost all confidence. The changes made by Reynolds changed the game and put a bit of a different shape on the team. I feel we're a bit too soft in defence at times. We're unwilling to pull a man down or commit a cynical tackle on a player who has dribbled by someone but the flip side is we seem to be getting yellows constantly for innocuous fouls so knowing our luck of late if we did start making those fouls we'd end up with record numbers of red cards. All in all a great win. I heard someone say it was our first win in Tallaght for 6 years! Not sure how true that is but either way it was well earned and well deserved in the end

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Another Bohemia View Post
    I'm as critical of Reynolds as the next Bohs fan but that is now two wins in a row. If he was a manager in good standing they would be seen as hard fought wins and there would be a positive view of things to come. I think if he gets a good result on Friday he may have earned a stay of execution until at least the end of this series of games.

On the match today. Honohan was Rovers best player by a mile. How he's not being linked to the UK I'll never know(Maybe he is and I'm not seeing it). He has all the traits to make it there so it seems inevitable. On Bohs I thought they played pretty well until Rovers first goal and then they lost all confidence. The changes made by Reynolds changed the game and put a bit of a different shape on the team. I feel we're a bit too soft in defence at times. We're unwilling to pull a man down or commit a cynical tackle on a player who has dribbled by someone but the flip side is we seem to be getting yellows constantly for innocuous fouls so knowing our luck of late if we did start making those fouls we'd end up with record numbers of red cards. All in all a great win. I heard someone say it was our first win in Tallaght for 6 years! Not sure how true that is but either way it was well earned and well deserved in the end
    With O'Donnell as assistant too? He was a master of the dark arts.

386 Posts
    Some finish done at the X. Waterford on an awful run of form.

292 Posts
    Drogs Pats was potentially one of the worst games of football ever played. A real eye gouger
    Paaatrick's Agletic

30 Posts
    and i was a runner meself Dermo, hard to stomach but fair play to Bohs, they simply wanted it more in the 2nd half aided by a team willing to give to them, we always struggle to contain Ross Tierney. at half time i said we need a 3rd as if we concede we will wobble. We played ended up playing 5 defenders today as the 3 at the back never said to Honohan and Cleary flock off and get up the pitch. Side ways balls to Cleary got us into a lot of trouble, as his distribution is more akin to .....ehhhhh a very poor distribution company. The subs in hindsight were not helpful in that all our creativity got taken off. Arraron Greene really struggled throughout sluggish and slow to respond although he did make a great challenge at the end to deny Bohs a scoring chance. Gaffney i think may be in the twilight of the twilight. Rovers are not clinical enough and seemed coached within in an inch of their lives and when the south stand stared the ole ole ****e i had a feeling that was not good. So a mini Santry, i am like a briar tonight but what really gets me tonight is mates mine following English teams when talking about "their" teams start slagging on whats app, ask me hoop. More respect for your lot Dermo if being honest.

448 Posts
    Cathal O'Sullivan pulled three points out of thin air for City. Won the penalty and then set up the winner after being fouled twice and refusing to go down.
    I think his attitude to being fouled is his biggest strength but also likely to lead to injuries.
    Great way to end today though!

429 Posts
    Harps snatch a draw in Oriel Park,definitely a game that should have had more goals,Dundalk created a few and it took some decent keeping to keep them at bay until the opener,Harps also had 2 excellent chances that really should have been goals,great to grab an equaliser though and keeps McHughs unbeaten record going since he took over..
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

129 Posts
    Pats seem to start feeling sorry for themselves if they play on a subpar pitch, a lot of misplaced touches/passes and then flailing of arms after. Not exactly conducive to a title-winning side, though in fairness you couldn't say that of any side thus far.

Dreadful game all the same. A speculative penalty shout or long range effort here and there but it was about as 0-0 a game as you're ever likely to see.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
    Pats seem to start feeling sorry for themselves if they play on a subpar pitch, a lot of misplaced touches/passes and then flailing of arms after. Not exactly conducive to a title-winning side, though in fairness you couldn't say that of any side thus far.

Dreadful game all the same. A speculative penalty shout or long range effort here and there but it was about as 0-0 a game as you're ever likely to see.
    Yeah, awful game. You might be right about the players feeling sorry for themselves on bad pitches, but it’s hard not to sympathise. Pats game is built on neat passing football, and when the pitch makes that so difficult you’re always going to be up against it. Roll on the summer, when hopefully some of the surfaces improve. No complaints about the result, btw, the pitch was of course the same for both sides. Drogheda might even have had a penalty and got the win on another day.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

39 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingswood Rover View Post
    and i was a runner meself Dermo, hard to stomach but fair play to Bohs, they simply wanted it more in the 2nd half aided by a team willing to give to them, we always struggle to contain Ross Tierney. at half time i said we need a 3rd as if we concede we will wobble. We played ended up playing 5 defenders today as the 3 at the back never said to Honohan and Cleary flock off and get up the pitch. Side ways balls to Cleary got us into a lot of trouble, as his distribution is more akin to .....ehhhhh a very poor distribution company. The subs in hindsight were not helpful in that all our creativity got taken off. Arraron Greene really struggled throughout sluggish and slow to respond although he did make a great challenge at the end to deny Bohs a scoring chance. Gaffney i think may be in the twilight of the twilight. Rovers are not clinical enough and seemed coached within in an inch of their lives and when the south stand stared the ole ole ****e i had a feeling that was not good. So a mini Santry, i am like a briar tonight but what really gets me tonight is mates mine following English teams when talking about "their" teams start slagging on whats app, ask me hoop. More respect for your lot Dermo if being honest.
    I’m more annoyed at your lot for keeping rennie on tbh.
    Yeah rovers never looked comfortable , never seemed to get a tempo going.
    I have a lot of time for Bradley he knows how to win things but feckin hell he’s a negative bugger, and it spreads to the players.
    We were good in patches and only that but it’s a win, we’ll take it.

958 Posts
    Bit mad that if Derry win their game in hand they are 3 points off with a percieved bad start, maybe a sneaky league title in there yet. Dundalk...well late consession of goals are getting a bit too common now, habitual stuff and 6 points dropped as a result. It makes the Bray game a big one or a very good start could become average in relative terms where momentum is everything with a bunch of young players.

185 Posts
    If only boez could play Rovers every week they might have some silverware to polish. As it is they haven't "troubled the judges" in a couple of popes stints.
    No doubt the remains of the boez fans Easter eggs taste sweet tonight and who am I to deny them that.
    Thankfully ( for me) I wasn't at the game in tallaght today ,but Rovers lack of that killer hunger and instinct for title success has been absent for nigh on 2 yrs now.
    Looking at the other results we remarkably haven't lost much ground so it's onto shels on Friday and another game for Bradley to pull some more excuses out of his hole.

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast