Thats a disgraceful call by the Ref.
What is the point in VAR if you still get terrible calls like that.
Hard enough to see what it was that VAR called, jersey pull? Shields hardly reacted on the spot nor other Linfield lads. Busy injury time for him, one off the line earlier too. Ye get the feeling that Shels were crusing but almost in a lazy way. They are in a game now and especially after having the 2 goal cushion reduced twice in a way. I know VAR isnt everyones thing but it does get entertaining especially when fans are rubbing in scoring only for it to be right back at ye. If Shels dont beat this average Linfield side well they really did just over perform in a one season wonder.
Also watching without sound and don't know names, but Shels scorer was bunched beyond the backpost with another Shels player, who were each marked by two Linfield players. As scorer started his run towards the spot to pick up the pass and finish, his opposite man's shirt was being held (barely) by his team mate.
Absolutely a superb set-piece goal in LoI.
Absolutely not a goal with VAR involved in a UEFA competition.
Terrible decision. Shels will kick themselves if they mess this up.
if anyone sees it again, tell me that the shirt pull on McIroy isn't stronger and more obvious than the shirt pull on the defender
Absolutely correct call by VAR, Barrett grabbed the Linfield defenders shirt for a brief split second that would have made no difference in the defender shutting down McInroy but rules are rules and with VAR's eyes on everything crap like that you get away with 9 times of out of 10 every Friday in the LOI will be picked-up
Very frustrating end to the half that Wilson with his hands flying in the air and Barrett doing unnecessary shirt grabs it's like these guys totally forgot about VAR
This game is far from over, Linfield will have a spring in their step in this 2nd half, after a very shaky injury ridden start Shels have been coasting on that goal lead I hate when we go a goal up in any game when we are on top we never show a killer instinct to hunt for a two goal margin
The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians
Does anyone else find it strange that they have a referee from the UK doing this match?
Lorcan Healy copying Kearns in passing to a Linfield player and gifting an easy chance. Think it might be time for Ali Topcu. He may only be 5'5 but he's the best keeper with his feet that I've ever seen
It's a pity Shels didn't get a winner when they had the extra man (coefficient), but it's hard to be too critical. They kept the ball really will during that period and completely controlled things.
You'd have to imagine that sooner or later the Irish League will realise how much playing such critical European ties in their preseason is holding them back.
Seems Shels have done what was expected of them in Europe, and anything else is a bonus. You'd imagine Qarabag won't have many difficulties getting past them though. Still, three bites at the group stage cherry now.
Mad that no IL team has ever beaten an LoI side in Europe - not just in a tie, but then in an individual game.
Didn’t see any of the match but saw a clip on Twitter of the disallowed goal and then read this thread and am shocked to see how many of you think it was the incorrect call. Barrett quite clearly had a fist full of the jersey of the Linfield lad that was marking McInroy, which caused him to lose the run on McInroy for a free shot at goal. Barrett doing it with his hand behind his back was a clever way of cheating and that goal would’ve been awarded as a goal in any LOI ground but you don’t get away with those with VAR in play
https://x.com/bbcsportni/status/1945...267671625?s=46
Paaatrick's Agletic
The funniest part of the night was David Jeffery trying to lionise Linfield’s efforts over the 2 legs,I thought they were awful and the only way they was scored was when Shels literally handed them a goal! Shels were actually very frustrating I found when they were clearly miles better than them but refused to finish them off,luckily Linfield were so bad it didn’t matter…..
Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.
If that is a free kick, there is about 20 penalties a game and If that is the baseline for disallowing a goal, you can nearly give up ever scoring from a set-piece again.
You can zoom in on nearly any goal to find a small infraction if you want.
If the referee didnt insert himself into it , nobody would be complaining this morning about the goal.