Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria v Ireland - Thursday 20.3.25 - Nations League

425 Posts
    Definite red card at the end,shocked VAR didn’t intervene,might be the worst second half of football I’ve seen,Bulgaria just gave up playing football and tried to kick lumps,any away win should be celebrated though,we needed it badly….
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

1,040 Posts
    That was grand, albeit it has to be taken in the context of how bad Bulgaria are. They would get eaten alive in League B if they did somehow manage to get promoted.

But having seen our pitiful efforts not so long ago against similarly awful opposition like Luxembourg, Azerbaijan and Armenia under the previous manager it was refreshing to see us look so comfortable away from home tonight, especially after losing the early goal.

The second half was just a scrap so the subs made sense in the context of the way the game was going. Vata doesn't look quite ready but good to get him capped.

Azaz and Parrott were great in the first half, there's one version of how the next few years could go where Azaz becomes a better Hoolihan. Probably won't happen but it's not beyond possibility. I'd like to see them both on the pitch with Ferguson at some point.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    992 Posts
    I dont think anyone could say that was a great performance tonight but good to get the win. I think we should be looking to beat them comfortably on Sunday.

Good to get Vata in, but also I think he showed he has a lot of development to go before he should be in regularly when other lads are fit.

The myth that Robbie Brady is good at set pieces was on full display tonight. Is it that hes left footed or something so people assume he must be good with a dead ball?
    Its really not that complicated!!!

948 Posts
    Bulgaria were awful! But we have been turned over by awful teams so to win away in a two leg affair is progress. The way we started, got back in to the game, an then won it is all progress. There were some moments that gve a good indication of where we are trying and want to be. Pitch was cat yet we did win relative comfortably. Capping players as we go too and as a Watford fan I enjoyed that.

54 Posts
    Yes they were terrible but we still beat them. We've not beaten a lot of terrible teams in the past 5 years. In an era where there's been very little good days I'm happy with that.

Think we could done more in the second half to get a bigger lead coming back to Dublin but the main thing is getting the win.

I think after that result there'll be a bit more of a positive spin in the media about the game on Sunday. Hopefully there'll be a few more thousand who are convinced to buy tickets for Sunday and there's a good buzz in the stadium to watch us win another game.

156 Posts
    We need to get to a place where we are better than teams like Finland and Bulgaria consistently and then try and get to a place where we can compete with and beat a Hungary.

Beating Finland and Bulgaria away is a solid improvement on the last few years. Yes, two poor teams, but a good start and a base to build on.

132 Posts
    Thank you on Brady.. I'm sick s**t of him taking every f***ing free, corner, throw, penalty etc.. he's like a child playing football who wants to take everything, and has been for years

I'm still raging over some of the balls he put in late on.. is there no one to tell him feck off

3,484 Posts
    It's three wins in three games against teams we had zero wins in four games under the previous manager. That's progress

132 Posts
    Hungary got well turned over tonight too, as did Armenia at home

If we could get one decent midfielder we'd actually have a chance in the WC group..

I'd really like to see Collins pushed into the middle Sunday night

81 Posts
    So Knight is suspended for the game on Sunday. I'd like to see him give Taylor the nod. I think Knight and Cullen are too similar and Knight in particular never seems to show for the ball enough.

Having Collins in instead of Knight would be the other interesting option. I'm really hoping whatever happens that at least 9 players come out of this window as our nucleus. We can't bring the experimentation to the qualifiers if we're to have a hope of grabbing the playoff spot

620 Posts
    No great, but the best chance we've had to build momentum in a while, a lot of individual players are in a good place, and definitely still plenty of room for growth. Hopefully it's a slightly stronger showing at home and we can start to feel good about where we're heading.

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    963 Posts
    A win, away, from behind, forward assisting forward to score, capping a young lad who has options late on. Some nice play on an awful surface early on. Dohertys run to get that goal. Lots of little bits ( not to belittle an away win ) to balance out some of the usual suspect faultlines, goal conceded from the edge again, some balls hit in Parrotts general direction, he's not the guy you pick if you're gonna hit those type balls, performance intensity drop off. Collins unforced errors.

But we kept at it & we won & hopefully we can keep digging out breathing space results like that to maybe finally exit crisis mode & our games stop being referendums all the time.

1,040 Posts
    I can't see any benefit at all in playing Collins in midfield against the likes of Bulgaria. There's a possibility it might work as an extra body stepping out from defence against top seeded teams. But there's no logic to it against weaker sides.

Molumby will get called in now and may well start. Personally I'd hold Taylor back for half an hour off the bench once Molumby's run himself into the ground and inevitably been booked.

I'd consider trying Doherty at left back to get O'Brien in at right back. But probably safer to leave the full backs as they are. I was frustrated with Brady's set pieces as well but I have no idea who would take them instead if you took him off them with Smallbone out injured.

963 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    I'd consider trying Doherty at left back to get O'Brien in at right back. But probably safer to leave the full backs as they are. I was frustrated with Brady's set pieces as well but I have no idea who would take them instead if you took him off them with Smallbone out injured.
    Can't see that happening when Manning goes from not in the squad to starter for balance, and to have left footers left side. Lesser players will probably start over guys we'd want crammed in if HH sticks to what he said about that balance & I think with a win or two starting to happen, he might.

1,040 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    Can't see that happening when Manning goes from not in the squad to starter for balance, and to have left footers left side. Lesser players will probably start over guys we'd want crammed in if HH sticks to what he said about that balance & I think with a win or two starting to happen, he might.
    Yeah that's fair, but he did switch Doherty across tonight when O'Brien came on which suggests it is on his radar to some degree.

Thankfully we're hopefully nearing the end of the constant manager referendums after every window. The poor standard of our previous two managers made them inevitable, but we're winning a few games now against teams we couldn't beat previously so it's very much time to move on and get behind Hallgrimsson. It's maybe a shame he doesn't have a contract to 2028 as that leaves the door open for another debate after the World Cup campaign which may not be helpful.

992 Posts
    I can't see any benefit at all in playing Collins in midfield against the likes of Bulgaria. There's a possibility it might work as an extra body stepping out from defence against top seeded teams. But there's no logic to it against weaker sides.

Molumby will get called in now and may well start. Personally I'd hold Taylor back for half an hour off the bench once Molumby's run himself into the ground and inevitably been booked.

There is no need to have 2 defensive midfielders against Bulgaria at home. It'd be nice to have someone like Taylor get on the ball deep and actually be progressive with the ball. If we have good footballers further forwards we need to have a midfielder who would actively look to get the ball to them. I thought Cullen was terrible in possession in general tonight, obviously aside from the ball to Doherty.

963 Posts
    It's maybe a shame he doesn't have a contract to 2028 as that leaves the door open for another debate after the World Cup campaign which may not be helpful.
    I'm sure MarCanham has us in safe hands if HH stock starts to really heat up. It's not like he's a massive proven self serving spoof merchant or anything.

992 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Insidetherock View Post
    Thank you on Brady.. I'm sick s**t of him taking every f***ing free, corner, throw, penalty etc.. he's like a child playing football who wants to take everything, and has been for years

I'm still raging over some of the balls he put in late on.. is there no one to tell him feck off

From Balls.ie player ratings......

Robbie Brady - 8
    His deliveries into the box were threatening as always and his cross for Azaz's goal was superb. Looked sharper than several Irish teammates in the opening stages.

Jesus Wept!

1,040 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    There is no need to have 2 defensive midfielders against Bulgaria at home. It'd be nice to have someone like Taylor get on the ball deep and actually be progressive with the ball. If we have good footballers further forwards we need to have a midfielder who would actively look to get the ball to them. I thought Cullen was terrible in possession in general tonight, obviously aside from the ball to Doherty.
    Conceded again tonight from a shot from outside the box - I'd absolutely be keeping two there given our tendency to offer too much time and space to opposition midfields. Molumby is well fit to push on up the field against this level of opposition when the option is there.

23. Thanks From:

607 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    From Balls.ie player ratings......

Robbie Brady - 8
    His deliveries into the box were threatening as always and his cross for Azaz's goal was superb. Looked sharper than several Irish teammates in the opening stages.

Jesus Wept!
    In the first half,yes
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast