Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: Bulgaria v Ireland - Thursday 20.3.25 - Nations League

2,765 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    O'Shea wasn't the issue there, the runner off the right wasn't picked up by either Brady or Manning.
    Yeah - fair. I just think O’Shea being closer to his man doesn’t allow the time for that lay off.

3,475 Posts
    That Bulgaria keeper is ****e

(McGrath's teammate at Aberdeen actually - SPL really ain't a great level outside the top two)

2,765 Posts
    We’re so much better than these. Lovely again.

Keeper is class.

2,765 Posts
    The forum tech gremlins are really acting up again tonight.

425 Posts
    Great response after the early setback,nothing to fear against these …
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

132 Posts
    They should clatter these lads in the 2nd half, and go at them hard again Sunday in front of the home fans.. it'll be criminal if we don't win this

Remember, winning this play off likely gives us about 80% chance of getting a spot in 2028 as a "home nation"

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    994 Posts
    Weird half. Still think we are set up wrong and I don't think right players were picked, but we are the better team and deserve to be ahead.

Troy is best footballer on the pitch, would love to see him on ball more, maybe in Manning position with Ferguson or Idah ahead.
    Its really not that complicated!!!

3,475 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    We’re so much better than these. Lovely again.
    Ironically that first half almost made me want to see us relegated, even just for one campaign. Not a brilliant game of ball, but still more enjoyable than most of the stuff we've seen in League B.

Sadly (?) don't see us going down now with another game and a half against this lot to go.

Greece 0-1 Scotland at halftime maybe gives a bit of perspective on where we are overall. But feck it. Another goal or two in this tonight touch wood

105 Posts
    Not a great game. Not a great pitch. They had me worried conceding so early. Fair play on coming back into it. Parrott's assist was very good. Azaz good. Johnston needs longer studs. Cullen a bit sloppy.

2,765 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Weird half. Still think we are set up wrong and I don't think right players were picked, but we are the better team and deserve to be ahead.

Troy is best footballer on the pitch, would love to see him on ball more, maybe in Manning position with Ferguson or Idah ahead.
    That triangle of MJ, Parrott and Azaz is working very well. Manning is playing hard and fast, stepping up in a new position - and I like it. Selection feels strange alright but it’s working well so far.

2,765 Posts
    Keeper off at h/t… jebus

425 Posts
    Didn’t realise how alike Azaz and Johnston look !
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

83 Posts
    I take it back, Manning has been excellent in the 2nd half. Maybe the occasion got to him in the first 10. Battling performance this half although very scrappy

1,024 Posts
    Did Vata just join what is probably a very select group of international footballers who picked up a booking before ever touching the football?

2,765 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rebelmusic View Post
    I take it back, Manning has been excellent in the 2nd half. Maybe the occasion got to him in the first 10. Battling performance this half although very scrappy
    I just said it was the type of performance that would be so fcking annoying to play against.

3,475 Posts
    Should have been a red for Minkov there. Can't go in studs up these days. Ref has been card happy throughout the second half, but not when it counts.

That second half was fairly poor stuff though; tempers the enthusiasm I had at half-time. Pitch didn't help with players slipping everywhere. We should still see this out comfortably enough on Sunday, but I think we have to take it we're really poor League B standard (or half-decent League C standard); don't think this result changes that view.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 20/03/2025 at 8:41 PM.

1,056 Posts
    Was there no VAR tonight? That was a clear straight red.

503 Posts
    Awful game of football. 2 poor teams, though we are clearly superior to Bulgaria.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

3,475 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    Was there no VAR tonight? That was a clear straight red.
    RTÉ said early on in the game that there was anyway.

1,024 Posts
    Missed the first 20 minutes or so, but finally did find a stream, and from what I saw, we were comfortably the better team for the rest of the game. Beautiful touch from Parrott for the equaliser, and many thanks to their diabolical keeper for the second.

Yeah, Bulgaria were woeful, but that's their problem. We've faced woeful teams over the past few years and looked just as woeful ourselves, if not worse.

Tonight we not just looked better, but like we felt like/knew like we were better.

They offered nothing, and we controlled the game all over the pitch. I literally cannot remember Kelleher even touching the ball in the second half, apart from goal kicks. I mean, he must have, but I cannot recall him even collecting a cross or something like that.
    Last edited by osarusan; 20/03/2025 at 8:54 PM.

25. Thanks From:

Page 5 of 9 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast