Kerry must be close to 100 games and yet to win on grass, mental.
Great game in the Flansiro. Town were decent for the first 25 minutes and deservedly lead. Then Kerry equalised and ran rings around us for the last 20 minutes of the first half, we were a complete shambles and probably lucky to be only one down at HT, with the whistle coming at the right time for us.
We came flying out in the second half and had a stone wall pen turned down, Giurgi somehow booked for diving. Got the equaliser a few minutes later and kept pushing on, so credit to the players and manager for turning things around at HT. Then Kerry go down to 10 men with 10 minutes to go, and somehow it ends up with us looking like the team with a man disadvantage, getting needlessly pinned back. A stupid penalty giveaway in added time followed by the Kerry lad taking his point, thankfully.
Cracking entertainment and as mentioned already, credit to both clubs for their various promotions resulting in a very healthy attendance of just over 800.
Kerry must be close to 100 games and yet to win on grass, mental.
I have it at 31 games on grass without a Kerry win. 16 in 1st season (athlone were only away team with Astro), 14 last season (Cobh added Astro) and this was our first game of the season on grass (5 games in). Will only play 10 games on grass this year so not a lot of opportunities to correct that stat either.
Set pieces were Kerry’s downfall again last night conceding twice in the 2nd half. It might be different personnel over the last 2 seasons, but the same problem exists..
On a positive note, 17 year old Luke Palmer started up front and scored to put Kerry ahead. Looks a player of real promise.
Made my first Treaty game this season and delighted to report despite defeat was highly entertained by what both teams produced.Treaty can feel hard done by as though Wexford just about had more possession playing neat and tidy football they rarely threatened ,Treaty forced Martin into several saves and had far more chances.With ten men the winning goal was poorly defended tbf the chance fell to the right man Rowe.Good game ,healthy crowd with my new season optimism cruelly dampened by Tommy Barrett reverting to type in his post match interview.
It wasn't good, but that's maybe overstating it somewhat.
The pitch was in a poor state, and definitely didn't help much with the quality of the game.
Fairly forgettable overall, but absolutely delighted with the win. Last time we won in Sligo was four years ago, Ruaidhrí Higgins's first game in charge.
I couldn't find fault with the goal. Watching it back, there was no touch off Boyce. Unless the argument is that he was interfering with play, but that would be harsh.
What was Doyle-Hayes sent off for, do we know? Assume it was mouthing at Hennessy. Silly if so.
A side note, and because my eyes are crap, I like that Sligo have their screen now, but the waving tricolour background makes it harder to read the text.
Sligo supporters club releasing an official statement about the standard of officiating is pretty pompous but funny.
I'm heading into the parade in Galway now. There'll probably be a bitter red on a soapbox shouting about fan ownership when I get in there
Some serious self importance going on there, ridiculous
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Main gripe seems to be lino put flag up for derry goal but after consultation with ref goal was awarded. Looked like Hayden Cann may have been marginally offside and somewhat went up for the header but didn't touch it, Duffy's free went straight in so they deemed Cann wasn't interfering with play which is questionable but they had a 1 v 1 chance with 5 mins to go and it was blasted straight at McGinty, look closer to home lads. The constant crying about sugar daddies at other clubs and how Sligo are a comunity club is fairly trying too. Fair play for the work they do with fundraising etc but you've chosen to stick with that model so get on with it instead of moaning.
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Awful pity you wouldn’t stop moaning
Im being (easily) confused by mention of McGinty and which Rovers is doing all this moaning! I really wish people would leave these facebook groups and their comments where they belong. I might set one up in another clubs' fans name and release all sorts of official statements for some fun, or do the same with twitter - sure who'd know he difference. Dot fret about Sligo's ownership model or resources, they have tradition so they'll be safe and sound....
The young man that had his head stomped on wasn't even going to the game, I don't even think he was a Sligo Rovers fan. Just the wrong place and time. Hopefully he'll fully recover, I'd like to think that the one Derry fan arrested and charged will get a life time ban from Derry games and his photo shared with all the other clubs. It would be great if Derry also took the same action against his associates but I doubt they will somehow.
It never fails to shock me how often people will risk a manslaughter or muder charge with kicks targeting the head. There is only one person that really needs proper dealing with in that group, all, bar one, hang back and dont seem too confortable with whats going on. 2nd sheepthug trying to impress the first. Its a shame that the majority dont just show some backbone and tell the one or two a*£holes to cop on!!