Thread: Trigger to manage Ireland?

I'd love to see McAteer as Ireland manager - if anythig just to **** of those Keano heads! Go one Jayo!

who knows paddy i mean this is years down the line

In the meantime he can just use foot.ie and pretend like the rest of youse The lad was just answering a question, how would you expect him to answer it? 'The Ireland job, wha me? wouldn't be good enuff mate!"

Quote Originally Posted by Glapots
    I'd love to see McAteer as Ireland manager - if anythig just to **** of those Keano heads! Go one Jayo!
    Great to see you'd like to see the international team suffer to '**** off those keano heads!' - some people really are sad
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Has anyone read in the papers that Keano is being linked with the Ireland job. Kerr is such a sitting duck. One small slip up over the two weeks and he's out the door , maybe St Pats will take you back, bye bye kerrD

Trigger has as good a claim to the job as Roy -who's being peddled by some of the papers this week. He was very unprofessional not to tell MMcC he was carrying an injury in Japan but he gave his all in the Green shirt in his day -that's all I ask.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Personally i would rather have an irish born manager .. i think there are loads of options
    To quote the Duke of Wellington( born in Meath) " Being born in a stable does not make you a horse" or I would wager make you a good international football manager. I would have no objection to someone like Johann Cruyff,
    Ottmar Hitzfeld or Marcello Lippi personally taking over whenever Brian Kerr's comes to a reign be it next summer or in 4 years time!

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    To quote the Duke of Wellington( born in Meath) " Being born in a stable does not make you a horse" or I would wager make you a good international football manager. I would have no objection to someone like Johann Cruyff,
    Ottmar Hitzfeld or Marcello Lippi personally taking over whenever Brian Kerr's comes to a reign be it next summer or in 4 years time!
    Agreed -I can actually see many valid reasons why the Manager SHOULDN'T be Irish -for all the reasons Ian Wright thinks Englands manager should be English. Wright spoke a load of nonsense about SGE not having it in him to "reach into the hearts" of his players at half time in a WC Semi final and how the manager has to act on his passion and instinct at that stage.

All of that is utter bullsh1t of the highest order. if there was even a grain of truth to it you wouldn't need managers at all -or better you could pluck fans from the stands and make managers out of them for the day.

The fact is you want a highly skilled manager who will make astute tactical decisions based on experience and cold analysis of the situation -not some over romanticising pumped up nationalist who'll make emotionally charged but poorly informed decisions with his judgement clouded by some eroneous belief that his nation somehow deserves it more.

The manager is essentially a technician with a particular skill base.
    You don't hear anyone oppining that the team would be better if the team doctor was Irish or the bus driver who took them to training was Irish.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Although he did score against Holland he was terrible that day and the goal covered a multitude but fair play it was a great finish. He played much better out in Amsterdam. At the moment having heard him talking about football he does not appear to be the most intelligent of guys and you can get away with this as a footballer but not really as a manager.
    You should also consider that at that time Mc Ateer was probably getting his match practice in the Combinations league div.2. Do you not remember his first defining impact in that game, just after Duff got whacked by Neuman, Mc Ateer went up for a ball and managed to pull off a majestic innocent looking back hander which floored Neuman. The whole Dutch team stopped playing for a period while Neuman was getting stitches. Neuman after that lost a good bit of his bite.
    If Mc Ateer had a terrible game I did not notice it so much, I was too busy cursing Gary Kelly.
    As regards manager material I would rather wait for Kenny to hang up his boots (year 2010?) in the mean time we could see if Mickety Harte has some free time.

36 Posts
    I'm amazed ye all remember that game so well
    I remember the following

hazy running around in the first halk keane belting up the pitch with the ball

second half - the goal(triggers celebration), lots of belting the ball at our net

stauntons header, every available dutch striker on the pitch and general happiness and edginess

I think trigger should be involved in the irish set up for one reason at least - to explain how to celebrate

"ya see lads.. ya run a little bit but instead of hugging anyone, you speed up like mental - more than you would in the game, open your gob, roar and go to the fans for adulation."

perfect

Quote Originally Posted by dynamo kerry
    I'm amazed ye all remember that game so well
    I remember the following

hazy running around in the first halk keane belting up the pitch with the ball

second half - the goal(triggers celebration), lots of belting the ball at our net

stauntons header, every available dutch striker on the pitch and general happiness and edginess

I think trigger should be involved in the irish set up for one reason at least - to explain how to celebrate

"ya see lads.. ya run a little bit but instead of hugging anyone, you speed up like mental - more than you would in the game, open your gob, roar and go to the fans for adulation."

perfect
    Shouldn't that be "peh-fich"?