Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Games weekend Feb 28th to Monday March 3rd

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    I predicted a few weeks ago on here that I felt Shels would win the league and Rovers will finish 4th.
    Nothing I saw last night in tolka made me change my view
    I initially picked Pats, then changed my mind, Rovers won't be too far off and have started slow as usual, but that's only due to euro hangover. I then went for Shels as just think they will have that bit of grit about them to grind out results, so did a pre season double, Shels and Dundalk, got 9/1, good odds, and should get a good run for my money out of it.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

397 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Pats were excellent first half I thought but we grew into it in the second half and Pats looked a bit rattled when it got to 3-3. For all of about 10 seconds while our defence just threw itself to the ground. 10 goals gone in in 3 games tells it all really.
    Granted only 3 games in, but I did think (and using very close to home experience) that any club with a bad start could be in trouble, wondering if Sligo fans are worried or it is just early days?

Next 2 won't be easy, home to 'Shams' then away to Cork C, if you don't pick up points there, could be looking at a big gap already, that said it is only 3 games in, plenty of time.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

129 Posts
    Daft game in Richmond last night, could have been any score. Pats started excellently, much improved from the first two games but once Sligo got their first goal things became terribly messy. Keena was obviously brilliant and - touch wood - looks like the first striker we've had since Fagan that isn't cursed, but a special mention to Forrester too who was exceptional again. Despite him getting a weird amount of stick at times Pats are still a completely different team when he's on the pitch.

Conversely the last couple of games where he's been missing have shown how reliant we are on Jamie Lennon. We just don't have another player that can do the job he does and in turn we're too easy to play through. Still early days but Barry Baggley has looked miles off it when filling in for Lennon.

Looking a bit light ahead of Derry on Monday. Lennon, Hoare and Leavy were already out and between injuries and suspensions we've now lost McLaughlin, Palmer and Baggley from last night.

I imagine Aidan Keena is top scorer now I imagine? Some first goal he scored last night too.
    Oh wots the story with Shels closed stand is anythin ever going to progress at all now?

296 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tomas View Post
    Must have been a cracker at Richmond Park. Was it packed and bouncing?
    The crowds have been fantastic but the atmosphere less so this season. It was a much needed win but raised concerns about where we are at this season. Its best not too read too much into anything at this point especially with all the injuries we currently have. We are looking thin in the midfield on Monday.

48 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    The crowds have been fantastic but the atmosphere less so this season. It was a much needed win but raised concerns about where we are at this season. Its best not too read too much into anything at this point especially with all the injuries we currently have. We are looking thin in the midfield on Monday.
    Thought the atmosphere last night was better than it was against Drogheda but I think the bigger crowds has actually diluted the atmosphere at times somewhat in Richmond.

Crazy game last night should have been three or four up at halftime but we let Sligo back into the match in the 2nd half. Keena and Forrester were excellent and Elbouzedi is always a threat with his pace for us. But our midfield is far too easy to get through atm and Redmond and Grivosti weren't great last night.

695 Posts
    Big game for rovers up in sligo now on Monday. A win and it's a not great but ok start anything less and we are giving up serious ground early. Big game for sligo to after an even worse start

292 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kksaints View Post
    Thought the atmosphere last night was better than it was against Drogheda but I think the bigger crowds has actually diluted the atmosphere at times somewhat in Richmond.

Crazy game last night should have been three or four up at halftime but we let Sligo back into the match in the 2nd half. Keena and Forrester were excellent and Elbouzedi is always a threat with his pace for us. But our midfield is far too easy to get through atm and Redmond and Grivosti weren't great last night.
    As always, Jamie Lennon's performances stand out most when he's not playing. Missing him big time at the moment and he won’t be back until after the international break either
    Paaatrick's Agletic

129 Posts
    I'm guessing it'll be a Forrester-McClelland-Kavnagh midfield vs Derry with basically no senior options off the bench. Not the most desirable situation.

246 Posts
    Feels very much like last season saying this, but we just didn't turn up in the first half last night.
    Seriously sloppy defending for the two goals we conceded, though Waterford did very well to exploit our weaknesses in defence. We were playing a central midfielder at right back, and it didn't work. Just confirms our worries about lack of defensive cover this year.

Second half it was all City. On another day we could have scored quite a few. Probably should have had another penalty as well.
    It's three goals in three game though, two of which were set pieces. No panic yet, but need to get going soon.

O'Dowd was the ref, son of the goalkeeper Tony, who played for us. Very whistle-happy, which didn't help the game. Also gave a free and yellow card against Maher for handling outside the box after he was pushed outside it by Amond. Poor game.

I know Pat's will be down bodies for Monday, but can't say I expect us to keep a clean sheet. A draw would be a great result for us.

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    Mother of jaysus that was a mad game at Richmond. Pats should’ve been absolutely out of sight but missed a catalogue of chances and Sergeant was excellent in goal for Sligo. Then Sligo would go up the other end and score with much better efficiency. Would’ve been an absolute disaster to have dropped points from that game the way it panned out so delighted with the win. Keena absolutely ran their defence ragged tonight, brilliant performance from him and Forrester who came on for the injured Palmer in the first half
    I can't agree with that. A lot of our fans calling for him to be dropped atm.
    Himself and Mahon aren't the same players since they came back from injury, although I have no doubt they will improve. In fairness to them and others we have brought in, you can see they have talent but they need time to get back up to match fitness, unfortunately time is not a luxury our squad has.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

292 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Himself and Mahon aren't the same players since they came back from injury, although I have no doubt they will improve. In fairness to them and others we have brought in, you can see they have talent but they need time to get back up to match fitness, unfortunately time is not a luxury our squad has.
    He made a brilliant save from a Mulraney volley in the first half, did well to tip a Keena rasper onto the underside of the bar in the first half also and then pulled off some other decent saves in the second half. Yes he could’ve done better for the winner which he was wrong footed for but if it wasn’t for him the game would’ve been out of sight by that stage
    Paaatrick's Agletic

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Its probably tiresome Dundalk fans giving their opinion on Kennyisms buutttt he sticks with players through bad patches even with good options on the bench, good man management in the longer term but can drop points or get a crowd on a players back. He wont change tack even if games not going to plan, change of players late on maybe. He might have evolved to having more fluid formations changing in transition of possession. For all his success, which means he knows a lot more than the average fan it can be frustrating if eg you are being bombarded and overrun by a direct Galway with little time to build slowly from the back and a few balls over the top to turn them would have a defence nervous about ushing up but nope its about possession an tiring opposition until late chances happen except a side like Galway are happy to sit in - Kennyball is getting dated although I stilll expect St Pats to come good.

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Really poor in the first half, robbery to be up at halftime, though the lead didn't last long.

Second half even enough, especially after the Treaty subs, and then a bit of a silly penalty to give away by the keeper for sure.
    Thought your commentator was good. On his own but had good knowledge of Harps players, was fairly impartial and quite humorous at times

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    He made a brilliant save from a Mulraney volley in the first half, did well to tip a Keena rasper onto the underside of the bar in the first half also and then pulled off some other decent saves in the second half. Yes he could’ve done better for the winner which he was wrong footed for but if it wasn’t for him the game would’ve been out of sight by that stage
    A couple of good saves, no doubt. But he has to do a lot lot better for the first and fourth goals. Overall his performances have not been great, distribution, kick outs, crosses has been a very mixed bag. So its no surprise a lot of our fans calling for a change. I dont want to sound too harsh, I think he will improve and hopefully be the player he was before the injury but like I said, we dont have the luxury of time.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thebronze14 View Post
    Thought your commentator was good. On his own but had good knowledge of Harps players, was fairly impartial and quite humorous at times
    Yeah have to agree, once they got past all the initial audio issues he done a fine job. It's a stupidly tough gig with a co-commentator, never mind when you're at it by yourself.

Thank you and kksaints for replyes. I was there in Richmond Park, about 8+ years ago when you destroyed Shamrock Rovers 5:0. They got designated stand behind the goal. Torrent rain, they were singing, or rather crying still even at 4 or 5 nill down so fair play to their fans.

Just came back from my local bookies. Find it incredible Pats at 5/4 to beat a seemingly very poor Derry side. Easy money I think.

Pats to win, Galway and Sligo getting draws at home, Waterford to beat Cork and Bohs unexpectedly losing at home to poor Drogheda. But this league is so unpredictable so better not putting serious money on it, just some spare change.

Quote Originally Posted by D24Saint View Post
    Cheers, are you going tonight? Enjoy the match.

429 Posts
    Excellent goal by Alex Nolan for Cork…
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast