Thread: Michael Noonan F Shamrock Rovers b.2008

1,027 Posts

Michael Noonan F Shamrock Rovers b.2008

At 16 years and 197 days becomes the youngest goalscorer in European club competition history!

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    968 Posts
    Hes been excellent in this game.
    Its really not that complicated!!!

1,027 Posts
    Whatever he goes on to do in his career he'll always have that achievement to look back on - getting lots of media coverage from all corners of Europe tonight.

968 Posts
    In a far too early over reaction he looks better than Melia to me His pace in particular stood out.

1,154 Posts
    Rovers have scored some lucrative goals in Europe lately but that one has to be right up there. And it isn't prize money I'm referring to.

650 Posts
    remember seeing him playing for ireland u15 as a 14 year old. was an absolute unit at that age. touch was a bit heavy and movement was a bit clunky compared to his young teammates. but just a bully and a natural finisher, looked immediately like the next in the line of Ferguson, Melia... he's done well at 16s as well.

650 Posts
    interesting to consider his development. you'd have to think training with Rovers first team and playing matches at 16 would be more beneficial than being part of Man City u18s and playing that level but maybe not...

You look at that City youth team that Hodge won the youth cup with and it's got Cole Palmer, Morgan Rogers, Liam Delap, Taylor Harwood-Belis, James McAtee along with lesser lights like Oscar Bobb, Tommy Doyle, CJ Egan Reilly, Sam Edozie.

Not involved but eligible, you had Gavin Bazunu and James Trafford, presumably already with the 21s? You also had Jaden Sancho, Jeremie Frimpong just out the door, Eric Garcia and Iker Pozo just overage and Romeo Lavia and Rico Lewis an age group below...

968 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    interesting to consider his development. you'd have to think training with Rovers first team and playing matches at 16 would be more beneficial than being part of Man City u18s and playing that level but maybe not...

You look at that City youth team that Hodge won the youth cup with and it's got Cole Palmer, Morgan Rogers, Liam Delap, Taylor Harwood-Belis, James McAtee along with lesser lights like Oscar Bobb, Tommy Doyle, CJ Egan Reilly, Sam Edozie.

Not involved but eligible, you had Gavin Bazunu and James Trafford, presumably already with the 21s? You also had Jaden Sancho, Jeremie Frimpong just out the door, Eric Garcia and Iker Pozo just overage and Romeo Lavia and Rico Lewis an age group below...
    We dont have a big enough sample size yet to know which is the better route in the new Brexit era. None of the players that have left the LOI at 16 and gone to Italy have done anything of note yet. Razi, Zefi and Ferizaj were all in Shamrock Rovers 1st team squad before leaving I believe and havent had a sniff yet of 1st team football yet. I dont remember if Orazi played any 1st team for Rovers and he just made his debut in France last weekend. The big one is Ferguson who got around the rules, I dont know if anyone could argue that he would have been better suited staying with Bohs until he was 18.

Sam Curtis on the other hand is the most high profile failure of the Brexit rules so far I think. It'll be interesting to watch over the next few years whether Melia, Noonan and O'Sullivan were right to stay

1,027 Posts
    Yes, the sample size is still too small, though the early signs aren't great. Ferguson seems to have benefitted from getting out early, Curtis seems to have suffered from staying back.

As a strong, fast player at a young age the worry with Noonan is that he might miss out on the technical side of his development by staying in Ireland. He's fine now, and one full season playing League of Ireland is unlikely to be a major issue at his age. But, if you were mapping a path for a player at his age and ability you'd probably choose a season of first team football and a season of playing in a high technical level underage environment between now and 18, which he won't get if the plan is wait back to go to England at 18.

1,027 Posts
    On a separate note, the section of the media that have previously been digging into Troy Parrott's background and family links are going to have a field day on Noonan, aren't they...

3,468 Posts

274 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    On a separate note, the section of the media that have previously been digging into Troy Parrott's background and family links are going to have a field day on Noonan, aren't they...
    Have to say I’ve found it gas seeing the amount of people talk about him as having a 'great family'… err maybe read up on that one before bringing up his family lads
    Paaatrick's Agletic

I was wondering when the elephant in the room was going to be brought up. Hopefully it wont hamper his career or even put off some clubs in the future. Its hard on the lad.

104 Posts
    Fair play to him for the goal. Great achievement. I was playing DDSL at that age. Lost on the gossiping... What has his family done wrong and what difference does it make to the world of football?

3,444 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by texidub View Post
    Fair play to him for the goal. Great achievement. I was playing DDSL at that age. Lost on the gossiping... What has his family done wrong and what difference does it make to the world of football?
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-new.../36270303.html

Andy Noonan is Michael's dad.

1,027 Posts
    There's possibly some more recent stuff as well I believe.

I think though it's only fair to point out that none of this involves Michael Noonan himself, who is obviously still a kid and is at school today. No harm for people to be aware of it, it will no doubt come back out anyway if Michael continues to do well. But it should definitely be possible for there to be a clear distinction between the player and events involving his family, which are not within his control.

19. Thanks From:

274 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eirambler View Post
    There's possibly some more recent stuff as well I believe.

I think though it's only fair to point out that none of this involves Michael Noonan himself, who is obviously still a kid and is at school today. No harm for people to be aware of it, it will no doubt come back out anyway if Michael continues to do well. But it should definitely be possible for there to be a clear distinction between the player and events involving his family, which are not within his control.
    The more recent stuff mentioned: https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/...e-1042567.html

Theres also stuff even further in the past than the two stories linked here. Again as mentioned above, it’s not the player’s fault who his dad and granddad are at all. I just found it funny that coaches, pundits etc have all drawn attention to the ‘brilliant family’ he’s from, when in reality they should be doing everything possible to not mention his family at all in public and let the lad get on with his career
    Paaatrick's Agletic

21. Thanks From:

619 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2 Year Contract View Post
    The more recent stuff mentioned: https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/...e-1042567.html

Theres also stuff even further in the past than the two stories linked here. Again as mentioned above, it’s not the player’s fault who his dad and granddad are at all. I just found it funny that coaches, pundits etc have all drawn attention to the ‘brilliant family’ he’s from, when in reality they should be doing everything possible to not mention his family at all in public and let the lad get on with his career
    You'd wonder ~ ~ How a coach would go about dropping a child of these type of fellas ? !

2,747 Posts

Ah right. I'd been wondering the same when i saw some of the comments. Thought maybe it was Fine Gael connections probably a bit worse really.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

24. Thanks From:

110 Posts

Yeah, thought it must have been a different Andy Noonan when heard all the comments...Keith Quinn went down for 7 years for the story linked above but nothing on Andy Noonan since.

But yeah, its not on the kid, and hopefully his dad stays in the background, but be amazed if he does.