Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Would Doyle be in Ireland squad if playing in eL?

Quote Originally Posted by Terry
    Has it anything to do with what league he is playing in, or is it that he has also being scoring for the u21's and with morrison missing was the obvious choice to bring up as a replacement, going on the advise of Given?
    Couldn't possibly be, has to be an anti eL conspiracy even when it's years since we've had an international manager who know's the league and is regularly seen at games...

Quote Originally Posted by rerun
    In fariness, how is it experience? I'm sure he's been on a plane before *and* sat on the bench before. He's been included because there was an empty space.
    There wasn't an empty space. Kerr usually picks a 23 man squad with 4 strikers. This squad has 24 players and 6 strikers. What are you on about btw? Getting to know and training your teammates is vital. Alex Ferguson brings a few kids to most CL matches.

theres an empty space as morrison is suspended for the cyprus match. if he was available, i very much doubt that doyle would be in the squad

To say that Brian Kerr is against the Eircom League in any way, shape or form is absolutely ridiculous, and typically, very paranoid.

Would Doyle be in the Ireland squad if he was still in the Eircom League? Probably not. The truth is that the standard of the Eircom league is well below the standard of the Championship. We can talk all day about how well Cork have been doing in Europe (by Irish standards) but that is not a reflection on the standard of the league.

I am sure that Kerr, a man who has been at more EL games than anyone here, has been aware of Doyle's talents for a long, long time. Now that he is doing well for a club doing so well in the Championship Kerr probably feels that he has proven himself enough to be in the squad as one of our last resort choices.

Kerr isn't anti-Eircom League, Givens isn't anti-Eircom League, get over your paranoia.

Quote Originally Posted by zinedineontour
    A lot of average strikers a la glen crowe look excellent at this level ...
    Eh ?? What league have you been watching this season....?

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    I am sure that Kerr, a man who has been at more EL games than anyone here, has been aware of Doyle's talents for a long, long time. Now that he is doing well for a club doing so well in the Championship Kerr probably feels that he has proven himself enough to be in the squad as one of our last resort choices.
    Oh for fcuks sake!

Doyle hasn't come on leaps and bounds in the couple of months he's been at reading. The opposition he faced in Europe last year was of a higher standard than the opposition he's faced in England so far.

If he's good enough now, he's certainly been good enough for the last year.

He would never have played for Ireland under Brian Kerr, the only players to EL players to be called up for Ireland squads in recent years have been Crowe, Hoolahan and Byrne. Givens called up the first two against Greece, Kerr called up Byrne and gave him four minutes from what I've heard only to screw over Shels who subsequently had to give Bray extra transfer cash.

Kerr has completely forgotten where he came from ffs.

Kerr has made it quite clear it's where you play, not how you play that gets you into the Irish Squad.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Clearly he hasn't!

Kerr called up Byrne and gave him four minutes from what I've heard only to screw over Shels who subsequently had to give Bray extra transfer cash.
    Once a Saint, Always a Saint!
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint
    Clearly he hasn't!
    Oh fine, he turns up at the odd Pat's match, what I mean is that he's unwilling to take the same chance on players that he himself was given.

Irish based, did the business at underage level........etc.etc.

probably a silly question, but did cork negotiate a fee if doyle gets capped?

Remember Lennox saying on Red Fm that that would get an extra fee for City but that it wasn't much.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    probably a silly question, but did cork negotiate a fee if doyle gets capped?
    Yeah. Fair play to Rico on that.
    Not sure if he has to play to receive the add-on though or if a squad call-up is enough.

rerun
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    There wasn't an empty space. Kerr usually picks a 23 man squad with 4 strikers. This squad has 24 players and 6 strikers. What are you on about btw? Getting to know and training your teammates is vital. Alex Ferguson brings a few kids to most CL matches.
    Irish international links ups are treated like holidays. Getting to know your team mates over 3 or 4 days? That doesn't happen, unless you're talking about over a few drinks. It takes a lot longer than that to build a team.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    I'll be stone cold in the grave before a C/\wkie lines out for Ireland.
    Eh, Roy Keane & Dennis Irwin to mention just two???

Oh for fcuks sake!
    Yes how ridiculous it is of me to suggest that Brian kerr, a man with such involvement in Irish football, doesn't have a grudge against the League of Ireland.

Doyle hasn't come on leaps and bounds in the couple of months he's been at reading. The opposition he faced in Europe last year was of a higher standard than the opposition he's faced in England so far.
    Well it is very debatable whether or not Cork's opposition in Europe is better than a lot of teams in the Championship. If Cork can beat them then these clubs probably are not better most championship clubs. And it goes without saying that each club that Doyle faces with Reading every week will be better than every club in the EL.[/quote]

If he's good enough now, he's certainly been good enough for the last year.
    Unfortunately you have to prove yourself in a better league than this one to have a credible claim to be in the Ireland squad. Although Glen Crowe and Jason Byrne have been in squads under Kerr

Nonsense!

Kerr has made it quite clear it's where you play, not how you play that gets you into the Irish Squad
    Well it depends on both factors, and I am sure that every international manager operates that way.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan
    I'll be stone cold in the grave before a C/\wkie lines out for Ireland.
    I hope Liam Miller doesn't play against Cyprus for your sake so

Well it is very debatable whether or not Cork's opposition in Europe is better than a lot of teams in the Championship. If Cork can beat them then these clubs probably are not better most championship clubs.
    Why?

Are you saying Brighton and Burnley etc are far superior than Malmo and Nantes? Maybe Cork City would take championship clubs to the cleaners? We don't know because they've never played each other.

Unfortunately you have to prove yourself in a better league than this one to have a credible claim to be in the Ireland squad.
    This is bull. If a player is good enough, he is good enough. Any football coach worth his salt can spot a player with talent. Regardless of where he plays. Brian Kerr has gone down an awful lot in my estimation now.

Having said all that, I am delighted for Kevin Doyle. Everyone at City who watched him play new he would get called up. Its just a shame he only gets called up when he leaves the LOI

Why, oh why, would Brian Kerr have anything against the Eircom League? Why? Kerr is the kind of guy you see on a wet night at an obscure UCD v Bohs game. Irish football is in his blood and I have no doubtthat he will be a regular at EL games long after his international managerial days are over, and probably until he dies.

He calls up a former EL player and immediately the usual suspects switch to paranoia mode. Absolutely ridiculous.

Answer this, do you think that whoever succeeds Kerr as manager will cap an Eircom league player, let alone two? Do you think that whoever succeeds Kerr as manager will even know the first thing about the league here, let alone attend games on a regular basis?

brian kerr would have to be some eejit to pick doyle entirely on da basis of a few championship games. i think his eircom league&u21 from played an equal part. some pplz have said dat doyle won't be up to it cos players like crowe look good in eL but can't cut it, doyle is twice da player crowe is, or was, in my opinion and perhaps could succeed in da premiersh1t. i think it's ridculous to say kerr doesn't respect da eL too.

The higher standard in the first division would perhaps* be a decent argument if he'd proved himself over the course of a season or something.

The galling thing is he's scored three goals against teams worse than the ones he faced in Europe. He hasn't become better in those few weeks at Reading, he hasn't proved anything at that level. The only thing that's changed is some scout at Reading said he's a good player, why is it Kerr couldn't have done the same thing? This is the same Doyle that was earlier this season playing for Cork, he has not improved much in a month or so ffs.

*I say perhaps, as I'd like to think our international manager had the brains to spot a player based on his ability not league.

I don't think Kerr would have had to the balls to pick an eL player for international squad at such crucial games. Its clear the validation of an english Championship club has made it easier for Doyle to be picked.

Ireland is short of forwards so its the only real position up for grabs. If Doyle was still in the eL he'd be the only players worthy of irish international team as was a class apart before he left.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123