20 Posts
    Thanks! I was looking for that.

Interesting, he's included Connolly. That's a good thing in my mind because it'll give Keane a little kick up the arse competition wise. Doyle might be a bit premature but it can't hurt either.

Still three keepers though which surprises me.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

We have a lack of strikers yet there's 6 in this squad.

Quote Originally Posted by Fergie's Son
    Still three keepers though which surprises me.
    Almost every squad brings 3 keepers. If one gets injured at the last minute you need a replacement.

130 Posts
    Reid and Morrison will join up after the Cyprus game. All thats needed now is 6 points.

Fair play to soccer central as no one else has it on their websites.
    In Trap we trust

Interesting, he's included Connolly. That's a good thing in my mind because it'll give Keane a little kick up the arse competition wise. Doyle might be a bit premature but it can't hurt either.
    I fully agree

Lads there were 3 players missing so he needed to call up players. The only other players he could have called up were

Carsley
    Quinn
    Delap
    Macken
    Maybury
    or EL players which he does not seem to want to do.

I think he made the correct choices in this sqaud. I would have Delap in the Squad over Doherty as Delap is very versatile. Not sure if he is injured though
    In Trap we trust

Interesting, he's included Connolly. That's a good thing in my mind because it'll give Keane a little kick up the arse competition wise.
    He'll be handy cover for Doyle too.

2,710 Posts
    If I was Kerr I'd drop Miller with a clear message: play regular top flight first team football or you don't get into the Irish squad. Both would ultimately benefit from this stance.

Kerr is doing Miller no favours by keeping him in his comfort zone. Alan Quinn can feel very hard done by.

As for the third 'keeper, Colgan is a lucky man. In my opinion, the likelihood of a third 'keeper ever being needed is so remote that the job should go to a young guy being groomed for future international duty who'd gain from the experience.

I see Doherty got 90 minutes against Reading so hopefully he'll be match fit this time.

Connolly & Doyle are good decisions.

Starting XI in Cyprus will be interesting. All kinds of possibilities!

what about his good friend maybury?

2,710 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Fair play to soccer central as no one else has it on their websites.
    Hear Hear. Well done soccercentral.

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    If I was Kerr I'd drop Miller with a clear message: play regular top flight first team football or you don't get into the Irish squad. Both would ultimately benefit from this stance.

Kerr is doing Miller no favours by keeping him in his comfort zone. Alan Quinn can feel very hard done by.

As for the third 'keeper, Colgan is a lucky man. In my opinion, the likelihood of a third 'keeper ever being needed is so remote that the job should go to a young guy being groomed for future international duty who'd gain from the experience.

I see Doherty got 90 minutes against Reading so hopefully he'll be match fit this time.

Connolly & Doyle are good decisions.

Starting XI in Cyprus will be interesting. All kinds of possibilities!
    liam miller should not be in the squad while quinn should deffo be in as he is a regular first team player and miller is getting feck all ..

My starting xi from that squad would be:

1. Shea Given(GK)
    2. Steven Carr (right full)
    3. John O'Shea (left full)
    4. Andy O'Brien(centre half)
    5. Richard Dunne(centre half)
    6. Steven Reid (centre mid)
    7. Steven Finnan (right side)
    8.Graham Kavanagh (centre mid)
    9. Steven Elliott(centre forward)
    10.Robbie Keane(centre forward)
    11. Damien Duff (left side mid)

3,332 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    My starting xi from that squad would be:

1. Shea Given(GK)
    2. Steven Carr (right full)
    3. John O'Shea (left full)
    4. Andy O'Brien(centre half)
    5. Richard Dunne(centre half)
    6. Steven Reid (centre mid)
    7. Steven Finnan (right side)
    8.Graham Kavanagh (centre mid)
    9. Steven Elliott(centre forward)
    10.Robbie Keane(centre forward)
    11. Damien Duff (left side mid)
    No Cunningham - Ireland captain?
    No Andy Reid - in a game where we're going to have to push forward and create rather than hang back with Finnan?
    Kilbane or Steven Reid, I really can't pick right now
    Otherwise, I agree

Dont agree no Cunningham other than that it looks fine to me. Andy Reid and Clinton are suspended for the Cyprus game but back for the Swiss match.
    In Trap we trust

3,332 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Dont agree no Cunningham other than that it looks fine to me. Andy Reid and Clinton are suspended for the Cyprus game but back for the Swiss match.
    My mistake, I forgot Andy was suspended. In that case why not put Kilbane on the left and Duff on the right? Surely a more attacking option than Duff/Finnan? Do you really think we're going to need an extra defensively minded player in midfield against Cyprus?

tets andy reid is suspended.

i think he didnt pick cunningham incase he got another yellow, and also because he thinks a game against someone like cyprus is a good idea for experimenting with the future two centre partners as they are getting better experience than a friendly but not being greatly tested either ( well lets hope so )

3,332 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    i think he didnt pick cunningham incase he got another yellow, and also because he thinks a game against someone like cyprus is a good idea for experimenting with the future two centre partners as they are getting better experience than a friendly but not being greatly tested either ( well lets hope so )
    They played together towards the end of the second half against Portugal, not bad, but not great either. Cunningham's leadership/organisational skills were definately missing. Other than that I'm not sure if they've ever played together as a central defensive partnership.