Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Genesis eircom League Review on Monday

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Yeah ... makes complete sense .... Just on the marketing .... if the eL were to set up their own media company, it would be a great way of pooling resourses and would probably result in a much better marketing product !!
    Well if it was me deciding , I would split the marketing fund into two - one for local marketing and one for a general marketing thingy. For me proper local marketing would be a lot more effective
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Well if it was me deciding , I would split the marketing fund into two - one for local marketing and one for a general marketing thingy. For me proper local marketing would be a lot more effective
    Fair play Cosmo ... great idea ... didn't think you had it in you !!

Seriously ... good idea !!

We will be making ourselves uncompetitive by doing this .... There are loads of young Irish lads sitting on a bench rotting in England ... we need to attract them before they are journey men and has beens ... or better still attract them before they go (I know that will upset Dolan, Devlin and Givens but hey ..)

A wage cap could be a bad move and could be totally ineffective .... it is meant to stop clubs paying over what they can afford ... Clubs can pay players in other ways and who is to say this wont happen.

Wage cap .... stupid idea !!
    Proceeding on a sound financial footing, yeah brutal idea alright.... A wage cap based on a % turnover is an extremely sensible idea, and one that was due to come in with licencing anyway....

Ground shares should be up the clubs involved, and I really don't see how it's for the good of the league or why they should dictate this kind of policy. What would be Limericks reaction to being forced back into groundsharing Pike again for example?

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Proceeding on a sound financial footing, yeah brutal idea alright.... A wage cap based on a % turnover is an extremely sensible idea, and one that was due to come in with licencing anyway
    Hang on ... i never said proceeding on a good financial footing wasnt a good thing !! ..... When you are building a squad, you will generally spend more in year one than you will in year three (for example) with this % wage cap you would be restricted to spending the % sum in year one only and might miss out on some players. If the figures balance after three years, wheres the problem ... your investment paid off and all is sweet !!

When i was making my point, i should have stated the obvious ... and that is clubs should have enough cop on to budget and operate properly and not get into debt from over spending .... clubs should cut their cloth accordingly.

We will be making ourselves uncompetitive by doing this .... There are loads of young Irish lads sitting on a bench rotting in England ... we need to attract them before they are journey men and has beens ... or better still attract them before they go (I know that will upset Dolan, Devlin and Givens but hey ..)

A wage cap could be a bad move and could be totally ineffective .... it is meant to stop clubs paying over what they can afford ... Clubs can pay players in other ways and who is to say this wont happen.

Not if it's a percentage of the clubs turnover. Then all clubs would pay what they can afford to pay, while some clubs could offer more than others.

If the figures balance after three years, wheres the problem ... your investment paid off and all is sweet !!
    What happens when the investment does not pay off? Who funds the bill?

i would be in favour of a wage cap, however for it to be properly monitored i'd suggest that all clubs should have the same auditors for their annual audit. rules and stiff penaties should be in place for any breaches of rules in relation to inappropraite payments.

if all the clubs started to live within their means then each club could concentrate on other issues such as marketing and long term growth. too much time and energy is spent by clubs on living from week to week, and taking risks that require success to alieviate it.

if it is a case of a temporary dip in the european results then so be it. the pr benefit of our current extra success in europe is constantly being eroded by non-stop stories of clubs in serious financial difficulty (always two or three a season).

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Proceeding on a sound financial footing, yeah brutal idea alright.... A wage cap based on a % turnover is an extremely sensible idea, and one that was due to come in with licencing anyway....

In fairness Macy, while it might seem its a good idea at first, in practice is it really?

'Donations' would be considered in a clubs turnover (well your the accountant, so correct me if im wrong ) and if you had big 'donations' (like drogs have ) this season and therefor gave players a few years contract and then got no 'donations' the following year, how would that work?

Dont agree with wage caps at all anyway.
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Not if it's a percentage of the clubs turnover. Then all clubs would pay what they can afford to pay, while some clubs could offer more than others.
    I think my point is more along the lines of clubs should not be getting into a situation where they are having finacial trouble to a really bad degree, the wage cap is an ineffective cure where i am suggesting prevention is the best way to go. Balance the books and let the audit see what is happening and all should be fine.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    What happens when the investment does not pay off? Who funds the bill?
    % year one, two and three .... i am not suggesting ANY over spending .... i am saying the investment wont be the same every year .... We bought no one in the summer barr Bruton (free?) .... so what happens to that precentage ??

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    if it is a case of a temporary dip in the european results then so be it. the pr benefit of our current extra success in europe is constantly being eroded by non-stop stories of clubs in serious financial difficulty (always two or three a season).

Have to agree with that !!

I think wage caps if done properly are a good idea. Clubs here just dont have a big enough income to keep paying players huge amounts of money. Clubs are scraping from one season to the next, selling bits of their ground and running up debt just to pay players totally ignoring their stadium facilities and underage setups.

I'm not a fan of the "wage cap" idea.

In fairness, what is the point? If a club pays more than it can afford and gets itself into trouble then tough. Club's should pay what they can, and should not be restricted.

Is it even legal?

It would not be legal for example to say that no eL player can earn more than €50k. It is legal to say that clubs cannot spend moire than 80% of revenue on wages. This is common in non-Premiership leagues in england, UK Rugby League. Is becoming more popular.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    Is it even legal?
    Works in both codes of rugby in the UK and in the conference.

A Face, you've just outlined the gamble that has got clubs into trouble - if we assemble the team, the fans will come. They invariably don't come in big enough numbers and clubs end up fooked.

Cosmo, as for donations not being forthcoming, that's always a risk but if it's a percentage of turnover it's not going to be as drastic as if say, Drogs benefactors pull out now.

I'm actually surprised that people would be against something that would force clubs to live within their means. Far more sensible than bollóx groundshares that aren't needed...

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    In fairness, what is the point? If a club pays more than it can afford and gets itself into trouble then tough. Clubs should pay what they can, and should not be restricted.
    Problem is, most clubs in Ireland need to have sense beaten into them or they'll keep overspending. It's hard to improve the league's quality on a consistent basis with clubs going broke every couple of years. Wage cap is in the UEFA Licencing, though, so hardly new. Don't agree with the ten-team league or the ground-sharing though.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Don't agree with ......the ground-sharing though.
    But why not?
    Surely it would be better to have at least 2 properly flood-light, well appointed grounds with good facilites, (and maybe one other really good ground for UCD, Dublin City), in Dublin than a few grounds with only mediocre facilities?
    Decide on which grounds will be developed, sell the other grounds and put the money into developing the chosen 2 or 3.
    I realise that there would be some complications with that, Bohs owning Dalymount etc.) but all these problems could be ironed out if there was a will to do so, and we would have 2/3 top-class stadiums instead of the shabby dilapidated ones we have now.

I'd agree with the 10 team Premier, a wage cap and the regional first divisions.

The management committee sounds good, if the right people are brought on board.
    I can see certain clubs objecting to a lot of the recommendations though, and don't think SPA, Big Pub, $h€l$ and Rovers will go along with the groundsharing idea.
    spot on. I was worried about the wage cap being a blanket thing, but a wage cap which is a percentage of turnover is an excellent idea- it will put an end to clubs living beyond their means

I'd agree with the 10 team Premier, a wage cap and the regional first divisions.
    10 team premier!! I think that's a terrible idea! top 10 in the league at the moment would mean 5 Dublin teams, Bray and Drogs and 3 non-Dublin teams. You end up with the situation where Dublin teams are playing each other so often that it gets hugely repetitive. Hard to know what the solution is, but I'd prefer a larger premier rather than a smaller one.

The wage cap is a great idea - I've always been a fan of restricting wages to a % of turnover.

Regional first divisions could work if you split the first division into northern and southern conferences with some playoff system to decide the winners and promoted teams. There has to be a decent incentive for promotion though, not the restricted promotion to allow top teams develop to a stage where none of the other teams can compete. For all the crowd troubles in the League as a whole, who's going to go to watch first division football with no hope of getting promotion? Can you see a big crowd turning up in Buckley Park to watch a match against the Kerry league? you'd get bigger crowds at MSL games cos there's more of a local connection with the team.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Clubs can pay players in other ways and who is to say this wont happen.

Eh??? Paying wages in cash or from mysterious northern ireland bank accounts is the very kind of practice we need to stamp out. Not a Shels fan are you???

How is a wage cap going to make us uncompetitive if it simply stipulates that clubs do not spend more money on players wages than they have coming in according to their audited accounts? This is something some clubs do anyway (you would think it was a quite simple equation really!!) others splash out money they don't have and run themselves to the wall, all the while pushing up the wages demands of even average players.

The wages on offer at lower league English clubs, League 1, League 2 etc are dwarfed by some of the wages on offer here so attracting Irish players home is not a problem, what we have at present is players who can't get a contract in England because they are simply average players coming over here cause Irish clubs are more than willing to pay them 2 or 3 times what UK clubs are offering them.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast