Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Trouble at Derry vs. Rovers and Irish language debate!!

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London

Trouble at Derry vs. Rovers and Irish language debate!!

Seems to have been a bit of aggro at the Rovers end, hard to tell from the telly but I'm sure we will hear all about it in the morning, probably from the media making mountains out of mole-hills

Seems to have sparked off just after Derry went 1-0 up.
    Last edited by TheOwl; 24/09/2005 at 8:11 PM.

71 Posts
    The Rodster was sent out of the dugout just before half time. Not sure what it was over.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    The Rodster was sent out of the dugout just before half time. Not sure what it was over.
    Probably just for being himself.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Probably just for being himself.
    That's an offence which should have warranted a life banning from eL grounds.

Was Dublin, then Madrid, then Paris, now London
    FT 1-0 Derry

Whats that Roddy? Never been beaten in the Brandywell as manager?

final score?

Yep FT

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Whats that Roddy? Never been beaten in the Brandywell as manager?
    2nd time for everything.

89 Posts
    Reports from the Rovers fans we met after the game suggest that they were fighting amongst themselves.

The stewards tried to break it up and it escalated from there.

Roddy "I've reached a club final with every team I have managed" Collins, you truly are a clown
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor
    Reports from the Rovers fans we met after the game suggest that they were fighting amongst themselves.

The stewards tried to break it up and it escalated from there.

Roddy "I've reached a club final with every team I have managed" Collins, you truly are a clown
    Even the Rovers fans were given him stick!! Fair play the the vast majority of Rovers fans who sung most of the match.Apart from a few idiots who tried to start each other i think!!!

Formerly: wild rover
    he got sent off for his discussion with one of the officials.... mr paul deering

now i dont like roddrick very much but i will defend him on this one

that deering is the worst ref to have ever put on the tight black shorts of an eircom league offical...he is despised in our place and i hope roddy boxes him in the near future

Yeah, what actually happened at the Rovers end??? I saw stewards legging it up into the stand, but my Irish isn't that great so didn't really know if something was said or not!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

The commentators didn't know what was going on either.

I have to say fair play to the TG4 lads last night. When they heard the Derry fans singing "Roddy Collins, you're a ******" they just said that the Derry fans mustn't be too fond of him where as similar things have happened on RTÉ's live games and they've said it'd disgraceful and that particualr club's fans were known for that sort of thing.

At least it might let some of the Gaelgóir's who might've watched last night a chance of seeing real football in our country.

Also, I'm honestly surprised that Gareth Farrelly and Your man Eviston from Rovers (I don't know his first name) are the only people involved with the actual football to speak Irish in their interviews.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank
    Also, I'm honestly surprised that Gareth Farrelly and Your man Eviston from Rovers (I don't know his first name) are the only people involved with the actual football to speak Irish in their interviews.
    Why does that surprise ye, sure who the f**k speaks irish these days bar those from gaelteacht areas
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Still good to see the managers able to speak their native language.

Quote Originally Posted by harry crumb
    Still good to see the managers able to speak their native language.
    It is the job actually ... good to see it !!

its great to see. my irish is fairly bad I'm ashamed to say, but its great to see it spoken

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Why does that surprise ye, sure who the f**k speaks irish these days bar those from gaelteacht areas
    Duh!, In case you havent bothered to check, Irish is the first official language of this state. According to the last census some 7-8% of the population speak it daily or consider it as their first language. A further 30% are bilingual or have a good command of the language.

Its great to see TG4 cover the games as Gaeilge and no doubt the station has popularised and renewed interest in the language through the use of good programming and fine looking weather & news birds, something that RTE has strenously avoided.

Long may it continue.....TG4, suil eile.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    its great to see. my irish is fairly bad I'm ashamed to say, but its great to see it spoken
    I'm got going on my Irish again last year in college when I moved in with a chap from west Kerry and started practising. I have recently purchased the 'teach Yourself' Irish Language linguaphone and I'm thinking of enrolling in Irish classes in the local GAA centre...

I'm off to Dingle next weekend, but no matter what they say, you cant beat chinwagging with the locals.

N.B. are we getting off topic Eanna?

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast