Page 13 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: Attendances 2025

445 Posts
    Something pretty wrong with our carbon emissions plan in that case!
    Welcome to Ireland! Where we'll make up for having awful roads, buses and trains by spaffing your money on heavily-subsidised internal flights for a tiny number of people, rather than invest in decent infrastructure so them flights aren't actually needed. But sure, aren't we a great bunch of lads altogether with our sky high GDP and expensive houses these days!

Ryanair Kerry flights are subsidised to the hilt and they don't pay duty on fuel...it stinks obviously...if they did Chinese style high speed rail you'd do the journey in an hour and clear the roads too

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    Ryanair Kerry flights are subsidised to the hilt and they don't pay duty on fuel...it stinks obviously...if they did Chinese style high speed rail you'd do the journey in an hour and clear the roads too
    You can't have Chinese-style high-speed rail with an Irish-style population and distances. Just a vaguely normal train service would do the job. Its less than 300km, so should be possible in 2hrs/2hrs 30mins with very ordinary technology.

860 Posts
    Aye some price gouging there. 160 brick for a seat on the flight this morning. I went in 2023 and it was 40 return

100 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Aye some price gouging there. 160 brick for a seat on the flight this morning. I went in 2023 and it was 40 return
    Isn't 'dynamic pricing' wonderful. It's €56 at the moment for the next Dundalk visit in July.

860 Posts
    Given it's subsidized that price today should be looked into by local reps, not good enough
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

3,487 Posts
    That's capitalism for you in fairness.

21 Posts
    Drogs 2161
    Pats 4829

UCD 224
    Wexford 848
    Last edited by LTFC; 28/02/2025 at 8:14 PM.

221 Posts
    Kerry 1195

76 Posts
    1,378 in Limerick.

958 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EatYerGreens View Post
    Welcome to Ireland! Where we'll make up for having awful roads, buses and trains by spaffing your money on heavily-subsidised internal flights for a tiny number of people, rather than invest in decent infrastructure so them flights aren't actually needed. But sure, aren't we a great bunch of lads altogether with our sky high GDP and expensive houses these days!
    Are houses not cheap as chips up North with GDP not inflated by FDI. Ain't we building the A5 for yiz to scoot south in quicker times? Generous bunch that we are....if the cost of the A5, Casement money and the bridge linking warrenpoint to carlingford, sure all those yoyos could subsidise €5 train fares to all over and run free buses to kerry while bypassing a bunch of villages in the process.....

397 Posts
    Am i the only one who thinks that people taking a domestic flight to an LOI game is peak Celtic Tiger behaviour?

I doubt the teams even fly, never mind the fans.
    Also not even the PD, this is FD, mental stuff, saw a few photos online, was a fairly decent size Ryanair plane too that most went on this am, at 09.05. The squad went by coach, but stayed over in Tralee on Thursday.

Def seems strange ok, flying to a LOI game.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nesta99 View Post
    Are houses not cheap as chips up North with GDP not inflated by FDI. Ain't we building the A5 for yiz to scoot south in quicker times? Generous bunch that we are....if the cost of the A5, Casement money and the bridge linking warrenpoint to carlingford, sure all those yoyos could subsidise €5 train fares to all over and run free buses to kerry while bypassing a bunch of villages in the process.....
    What are you on about?

Attendances

You can't have Chinese-style high-speed rail with an Irish-style population and distances. Just a vaguely normal train service would do the job. Its less than 300km, so should be possible in 2hrs/2hrs 30mins with very ordinary technology.
    You know they've one goes to Tibet...not known for its high population density. If you took a fraction off what's on the roads you'd easily fill those trains

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    You know they've one goes to Tibet...not known for its high population density. If you took a fraction off what's on the roads you'd easily fill those trains
    The train to Tibet is a political project though, to tie what is essentially stolen land into the Chinese state. The Chinese don't give a feck how few people live there, as that's not why they're doing it. These are the same people who are spending vast sums creating ridiculous new islands in the middle of the South China Sea, just so they can extend their territorial claims and put military planes on them. Surprise surprise - wealthy autocratic regimes don't operate by normal rules.

And it's not about filling the trains in Ireland. It's about the crazy cost of installing it in the first place. You'd have to build an entirely new train network from scratch. Plus the fact that the distances in Ireland are so short that it would barely run at top speed anyway (so why bother?).

Holland has almost 4 times the population of Ireland and about 6/7 times its population density, over a much smaller land base, yet scrapped almost all of its high speed plans on the basis of cost. The only routes they have are the ones that go outside Holland to Belgium and Germany. And the Dutch love feckin' trains! If the Dutch can't make it work in a country with such a high population density and high usage of public transport, there's zero chance the Irish would.

Go do a government business case for high-speed rail in Ireland and see how heavily it gets laughed out of court.
    Last edited by EatYerGreens; 01/03/2025 at 2:11 AM.

958 Posts
    What are you on about?
    Ah you know! You were talking about investment in infrastructure, te Irish Government is doing so in another jurisdiction ie te A5, a stadium and a very large bridge - that money spent on Irish infrasructure could go a long way toward decreasing travel times by road to the likes of Kerry or could increase rail capacity while reducing travel time. I really didnt think you'd need to have that cleared up EYG!

PREMIER

Cork City v Bohs - 5034
    Derry City v Waterford - 2994
    Drogs v Gamway United - 2161
    Shels v Shamrock ;-) - 5214
    Pats v Sligo - 4829

TOTAL - 20232
    AVERAGE - 4046

FIRST

Wexford v Bray - 848
    Kerry v Dundalk - 1195
    Treaty v Harps - 1378
    UCD v Cobh - 224

TOTAL - 3645
    AVERAGE - 911

21 Posts
    [QUOTE=ForeForeToo;2217140]PREMIER

Cork City v Bohs - 5034
    Derry City v Waterford - 2994
    Drogs v Gamway United - 2161
    Shels v Shamrock ;-) - 5214
    Pats v Sligo - 4829

TOTAL - 20232
    AVERAGE - 4046

I am around long enough to realise a 4k average is brilliant....but is the Cork and Derry crowds a bit disappointing?

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    Mad to think crowds that size are a bit disappointing to some, but our crowds would be even bigger if not for the saucy enough ticket prices.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patrickccfc View Post
    Mad to think crowds that size are a bit disappointing to some, but our crowds would be even bigger if not for the saucy enough ticket prices.
    I know, and feel a bit stupid saying it, but you may have answered it - if it was 20 rather than 25, and so on for other categories the cross would havesold out?

Page 13 of 25 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast