I wouldn't be so pessimistic. If the club is by and large run within its means then there is a model there to work from. The next stage will be adding the remaining other teams, I think we end up with 10 teams, and the off field staff to run an organisation that big and growing income to pay for that. Downside being no change on the 1st team front until that is in place and paying for itself.
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
And has happened numerous times before. Sligo, a bottom half Premier Club spending 2.4m, and unlikely any other prem club below that - Droga, Waterford maybe. But I dont see where they get 2.4m in an average year. Match day income still by far and away the most important source, but would they be getting 1m from that? Even if they are, 1.4m in other revenue, hard to see where you earn that.
Sligo do incredible fundraising, not sure where the others get it from. Probably covered by their owners in some way.
Let's get off the negative subjects for a minute. I'm looking for a video of *that Town fan*. If you've been going to Town matches for any length of time you just know who this person is. I don't wanna name him because I don't know if he'd like that. But if you've ever sat in the main stand, you know who I'm talking about, and you've certainly heard him too. He's the clubs greatest fan.
I'm looking for a clip of him that was doing the rounds a few years back. I'm fairly certain it was at this mad game against Galway where we'd a man sent off but won 3-2 https://youtu.be/Hu1rKHe-tyU?si=QzmEJjtoLnRvFXwr
There was a good clip of him going off waving his arms and giving the 2 fingers and everything lol. But I can't find it and I've looked through Twitter and everything I can think of but no luck. Does anyone know the vid I'm on about? I need to see it again and have it in my life
Ask and you shall receive https://x.com/AmirZaky11/status/1807...781637/video/1
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Fantastic. That man is an absolute gem. If he's at a match you get your money's worth from him alone
He's a hugely loyal supporter. Not so much a supporter of match officials usually though.
That was a a fully deserved 3 points. First half was poor, Wexford lightly beeter but second half I thought we were much the better team and created a number of good chances and great to get a late winner.
Cracking finish from young Manny. Love the effort these young lads put in, fair play to them and Wayne.
That first half was a pile of sh**e. From both teams
Fully deserved it on the 2nd half though. Was absolutely sick that we give away a poor goal but we didn't let the heads drop. Cracking finish from Manny. I still think he deserves a chance to start and show what he can do. Think it's nonsense that he hasn't played more than 30 mins in a game this season. I'll admit though that George and Murtagh linked up well together tonight.
While we're talking about him, the man himself was in the stand tonight and he was in flying form. I put the win down to him
Disappointing tonight. Just far too easy for UCD to play, made them look like prime Barca at some points. Not closing them down enough and not enough fight to get the ball back. They hit the bar 4 times as well. Blessed to even get a point
Absolutely woeful second half performance. Not the first time saying that this season. At least Dan Norris is back.