Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Town 2025

21 Posts
    Less than month to the season now, bit of a p1ss take of a delay with those jerseys.

On the plus side, nice that Manny gets a goal in friendly win over shels

21 Posts
    According to Twitter, Gilly Priosti lined out for Sligo in their friendly against Athlone at the weekend. Barely got much of a chance last season despite having nothing to play for by summer. Bit disappointed as I thought he had something about him anytime I saw him, and Sligo clearly think so too.

The club also haven't said anything ( on Twitter at least) about the win against Shels or that there was even a match on, 2 days after the fact. This is basic stuff and it really irks me

552 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MoydowMonty View Post
    According to Twitter, Gilly Priosti lined out for Sligo in their friendly against Athlone at the weekend. Barely got much of a chance last season despite having nothing to play for by summer. Bit disappointed as I thought he had something about him anytime I saw him, and Sligo clearly think so too.

The club also haven't said anything ( on Twitter at least) about the win against Shels or that there was even a match on, 2 days after the fact. This is basic stuff and it really irks me
    What really irks me is the lack of communication from club over last while. Its as if they dont give a damn about the support base. Wait until the pyramid system fully runs. That will treat them some manners.

21 Posts
    It takes 30 seconds to write a post saying we had a friendly against Shels and local lad Manny got the goal. If this was a one-off I wouldn't mind but there's countless examples of these. I still think they should have said something about the Dylan Hand mess up too rather than pretending it never happened.

Looks like you were right about Andy Spain, he's down with us on FAI Connect. Good few CBs now

187 Posts
    Nice tribute on the Town website to Elworthy for the service he’s given over the years. Might keep the moaners quiet for a day or two.

220 Posts
    You would have to wonder if it wasn't mentioned here or elsewhere, would an Elworthy tribute have been put out!!!

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    Nice tribute on the Town website to Elworthy for the service he’s given over the years. Might keep the moaners quiet for a day or two.
    It's not moaning for the sake of moaning (for myself anyway).
    The club have had a recent history of just not giving updates on things they should be putting out or being very slow. And it's frustrating.

They never even mentioned Sam Verdon left the club. Presumably something happened there behind the scenes, but considering he was there for many seasons, scored several big goals, was the captain at the time etc etc they should have said the bare minimum which was that he was leaving and Elworthy was taking over captaincy. Instead they said nothing.
    That's just one example, there's plenty other examples I could rattle off.

I'm glad they gave a farewell to Elworthy, he's a Town legend and deserved it. And it's good they finally mentioned the shels friendly. Because this is basic stuff that every club should be doing. There's zero reason not to do it, and it keeps fans onside.

Bray have garnered a negative reputation since the Cabo takeover of not being transparent with fans (amongst other things granted) and I don't want Town to end up like that.

552 Posts
    Didnt realise Jamal Ibrahim has resigned for us from Athlone?

21 Posts
    Didnt realise Jamal Ibrahim has resigned for us from Athlone?
    He joined back last July, but was never featured in a single squad for the rest of the season. I thought maybe he had left again without saying anything. But apparently it was injury according to this https://ltfc.ie/2025/01/jamal-ibrahim-re-signs-for-2025/
    Only took them 6 months to mention that.

He has a bit of proving to do imo, thought he was underwhelming in his first spell under Hendo

21 Posts
    Well to offset the ****e news of the wall at Bishopsgate being destroyed by the storm, it looks like there's some signings according to FAI Connect.

Josh Giurgi is now down as a Town player, last seen in Hendo's first season before he went to Maynooth last year. Guess he's back for another crack. There's also Osaza Irhue from Drogheda who was playing regularly for their u-20s. Maybe he'll only be going to our own academy, not sure.

At this point I presume Topcu, Hand, McCarthy and Fay will be returning as their names are still under town and also appeared in the shels game last weekend. Still not sure what the craic with Chambers is

552 Posts
    First time I have posted since the storm on Fri as had no electricity or broadband for 4 days. Hadnt realised the damage to the wall is that bad. Hopefully it will get sorted. Thats great with additional new faces.

21 Posts
    I've no idea what the extent of the damage is, but I hope games can still go ahead while it gets worked on. I'd like to know if there's any fundraisers too, I'm sure they could do with the money.

To add to the bad news, Karl Chambers has gone to St Mochtas according to FAI Connect. The 2 longest serving players gone now.

Edit: if I'm not mistaken, him and Elworthy were the final players standing from the 2020 promotion Gonna be very strange not even having one of them knocking about
    Last edited by MoydowMonty; 28/01/2025 at 12:35 PM.

552 Posts
    I've no idea what the extent of the damage is, but I hope games can still go ahead while it gets worked on. I'd like to know if there's any fundraisers too, I'm sure they could do with the money.

To add to the bad news, Karl Chambers has gone to St Mochtas according to FAI Connect. The 2 longest serving players gone now.

Edit: if I'm not mistaken, him and Elworthy were the final players standing from the 2020 promotion Gonna be very strange not even having one of them knocking about
    Yeah that sounds right with the two lads. Gutted that KC is gone!

552 Posts
    Any info on the town subs that came on against Drogs in regards to new names as I have never heard of them before?

21 Posts
    Any info on the town subs that came on against Drogs in regards to new names as I have never heard of them before?
    https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/long...te/verein/4287 you can find them there, but to sum it up they're academy players from other teams so we can only expect so much from them.

That being said maybe they're intended for our own academy and they just got called up to make up the numbers against Drogs? That's only me best guessing though since the club aren't saying anything. Still haven't officially announced Spain or Giurgi either.

Is there any info whatsoever on a new jersey or merchandise? Cutting it fairly close to start of season now. And with the storm damage they could do with everything they'd get from those sales

552 Posts
    https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/long...te/verein/4287 you can find them there, but to sum it up they're academy players from other teams so we can only expect so much from them.

That being said maybe they're intended for our own academy and they just got called up to make up the numbers against Drogs? That's only me best guessing though since the club aren't saying anything. Still haven't officially announced Spain or Giurgi either.

Is there any info whatsoever on a new jersey or merchandise? Cutting it fairly close to start of season now. And with the storm damage they could do with everything they'd get from those sales
    Not a peep out of them tbh!

21 Posts
    Like they haven't announced anyone since the 15th of Jan. And it's obvious that we've signed a few lads since then so what is the holdup? Basic stuff and it takes 30 seconds to say someone has signed. I know that stuff with the storm damage happened but you can still let us know who has come in ( and Chambo leaving). You shouldn't assume everyone just knows from social media or whatever.

I seen they had an open training session on. Hope that went well. That was something Hendo kicked off when he came in so I'm glad that's being continued

25. Thanks From:

220 Posts
    Have we played any friendlies at all? I know we played Drogheda in Leinster Senior Cup and we have Shelbourne tonight, but I don't recall any friendly games being played. The league is starting Saturday week.....so if all we have played is a max of 3 games (St. Mochtas this weekend in LSC), then that's very bad preparation in my opinion.
    No jersey and no confirmation of a squad this close to the season is a bit ridiculous as well.

250 Posts
    So far Mochtas have beaten Shels and Drogheda in that competition although their opponents were not at full strength so it will be a good test,will they put Chambers out against Town?

Playing away to Bohs in a friendly Thursday and home to Galway Friday according to FAI connect.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 04/02/2025 at 9:26 PM.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Town Legend View Post
    Have we played any friendlies at all? I know we played Drogheda in Leinster Senior Cup and we have Shelbourne tonight, but I don't recall any friendly games being played. The league is starting Saturday week.....so if all we have played is a max of 3 games (St. Mochtas this weekend in LSC), then that's very bad preparation in my opinion.
    No jersey and no confirmation of a squad this close to the season is a bit ridiculous as well.
    Played a friendly against Shels a couple of weeks ago, Emmanuel James scored in a 1-0 win.

But I agree on your last sentence. I don't know how more people aren't giving out about the lack of word on the squad. There's no excuse for this in 2025. 3 weeks now since they've said about any signings even though we clearly have a few more lads from last season (Topcu, Fay etc) and those lads from other club's academies, plus Giurgi and Doran.

So is it just laziness? Or assuming people will just find out anyway through social media/FAI connect? No excuse either way. Getting really fed up of it.

29. Thanks From:

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast